We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More Cake Please.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Way2go4 Walking Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Welcombe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Way2go4 Walking Holidays
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More Cake Please.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited here for 4 days and really wanted to stay longer,Home farm felt like our home away from home.The walks were catered to everyone's needs and even though there were different age groups,we all did our best and the thing that kept me going was Cake and Tea at 4ish.
Well i thought i could make a good cake but Ali's were to walk as fast as you can to get back and have cake.
Really didn't know what the Breakfast and Evening meal,oh and the sandwiches were going to be like but everything was above and beyond anything i had expected it to be.5 star+.
Devon is so lovely and the walks around the farm and beyond were fantastic,everyday was a great day to be alive.
Wanted to drive the Land Rover down that country lane,perhaps next year.
If you are thinking about booking this holiday do it now,you will not regret it.
Can't wait to return next year.Or maybe sooner.Deb and Mavis.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
37
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was sold immediately at the mention of a walking holiday by my friend Kerry. She couldn't paint an accurate enough picture, though, of how beautiful and restful this area of England was. I felt far removed from the frenetic pace of life back home. Lovely hosts, accommodation, 5-star+ food. And the company/new friends were a barrel of laughs! My legs ached after long walks and my ribs hurt from laughing, but it was all good aching! The scenery during the walks was spectacular and ever-changing, from rocky coastline to pastoral fields to shaded laneways with wildflowers everywhere. Just go!!

Room Tip: No bad rooms here :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cardersan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is my 3rd visit to Home Farm and one of the other guests was on her 6th visit so I think that says it all! However, I will say more .... I can only agree with everyone's comments, Alison & Michael and their lovely assistant Sue and of course Ellie the dog make your stay with them so memorable. The first time I visited, I felt comfortable straight away and enjoyed every minute (even some of those hills I encountered on our walks!). Their home is so tastefully decorated and the rooms are very comfortable and cozy. I think Michael, who guides you on the walks, is very good at assessing his group and making the walks enjoyable yet challenging enough to make you feel you deserve the delicious home made cakes that await your return! The food really is wonderful - from the breakfast that starts your day (Michael's scrambled eggs are cooked to perfection - not too dry just the right consistency and the sausages are meaty and so tasty). Of course there is cereals of very good quality and toast if you prefer not to have the cooked option (or both if you want!) Even the bread they use is far superior to just ordinary supermarket loaves. That is just the breakfast! Lunch is provided on your walk and Sue will cheerfully take your order of either a tasty freshly made sandwhich or Cornish pasty (along with other goodies) the day before your walk. As for the evening meal, the food is always freshly prepared, delicious and even healthy as well - what more could a person want!! What I love too is that the 3 course menu is prepared for you so there are no decisions to be made. Every evening something delicious is served at the dininig table and I enjoy the anticipation of not knowing what I'm going to be enjoying that night as it is always different! You bring your own drinks (i.e. wine etc) with you which is also a great idea but water, teas (of all sorts) and coffee are provided with your breakfast and evening meals. After a delicious 3 course meal, it is down to the living room for teas and coffees (or more drinks if preferred) along with a chat and relaxation time. There is a nice country pub close by if you have the energy! One more thing regarding the food, Alison is passionate about food and cooking delicious healthy meals - she is a fountain of knowledge regarding this subject - just ask!

I'm trying to think of anything different that I can add to other people's comments, and one thing I think is worth a mention is that there are absolutely no hidden costs with this holiday which I really appreciated as sometimes you can end up spending twice as much as originally planned. The only time you may spend any money is when you happen to sit next to a country pub while eating your packed lunch on your walk and a pint just may hit the spot! Other than that, there is nothing else to pay for. I also love the fact that there are no tv's in the bedrooms or the living room area and on all 3 visits, a television has not been missed! It is so refreshing to get away from the goggle box and actually talk to people or even sit and read or soak in a bath. However there is internet access.

The walks are so enjoyable and even though I may have repeated some of the walks over my 3 visits they are still refreshing every time. Going in May rather than September this time, showed a whole different landscape - woods bursting with bluebells! There are loads of routes Michael can take you on that you would never see if you went on your own.

Michael and Alison are a great team and you really feel they are enjoying what they do. I cannot recommend this enough and I'm looking forward to my next visit in August!

Room Tip: You have the choice of a room with a shower or one with a bath (and a hand held shower). Both have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a lovely place and fantastic tranquil accommodation, with great hosts where nothing is too much trouble. Alison is a fantastic gourmet cook and attentive to needs. Everything is fresh and locally produced and of the highest quality. Michael is very friendly and knowledgeable giving information/history of the various locations visited on the beautiful scenic walks, which your invited as a group to choose from the various walks on offer. You can do as little or as much as you require and also can be adapted to needs. This was my first guided walking holiday and had a fantastic time with like minded people…..

Room Tip: No pool, ticked this by accident :-( - All rooms perfect, if you want to be away from the main gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

This is an absolutely first class operation....It truly includes everything....accommodation , transportation , meals guided hikes and terrific guide/ hosts in Michael and Allison Home Farm is provides charming accommodation....the the dinners were at gourmet level .....and Michael and Allison were very attentive and eager to make one's stay memorable.. the afternoon teas ( served on the terrace ) after returning from the day 's hike ,and the after supper coffee/tea ( served in the charming living room ) were also a delight , and were a great way for the guests to socialize
The hikes were well chosen and the scenery was spectacular......and Michael provided all sorts of interesting information......the lunch time stops at pubs each day also added to the enjoyment and camaraderie
You won't regret spending time here.........just read the reviews !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryAtric2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great House, Great food, friendly and welcoming. The walks were fantastic. Scenery breathtaking and the host informative,chatty and friendly. If you want good hospitality, good guided walking tours in a relaxed environment with good food...look no further. What more can I say? It was my first guided walking holiday and i'm glad i went. I wuldn't hesitate to go again and recommend it to others. Sharon, East Anglia.

Room Tip: My room was lovely, very clean. Bed was great and comfortable. i would choose a room with a bath n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This is the most lovely place to have a walking holiday. The setting is bucolic and restful, Michael is an excellent guide, and if you are homesick for your dog, Ellie is good company. Allison is an amazing cook, host, and seems completely relaxed tending every detail for the comfort of guests. The food is beautiful, tasty, fresh, and locally procured. The walking is spectacular, encompassing ocean cliffs, beach, paddocks, fields bordered by hedgerows full of blackberries, an old canal path, ancient churches and the site of an iron age fort. I would come here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Welcombe
4.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sandymouth Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Way2go4 Walking Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Way2go4 Walking Holidays

Property: Way2go4 Walking Holidays
Address: Mead, Welcombe EX39 6HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Welcombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Welcombe
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Way2go4 Walking Holidays Welcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing