We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A pearl in the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isle of Wight Pearl

Isle of Wight Pearl
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: 'Providing a superior shopping experience' The Isle of Wight Pearl houses the UK's Largest collection of pearl jewellery under one roof. Offering excellence in service and knowledge. To provide a superior shopping experience, we have a large showroom housing an array of pearls. From Freshwater pearls on sterling silver through to Oyster pearls on 9 carat gold. Not forgetting the creme de la creme of South Sea and Tahitian pearls set on yellow and white gold.We also have Pick a Pearl where you can fish out your own oyster from our pool and have it opened before you to reveal your own oyster pearl. Its then valued depending on size and colour and presented to you with a valuation certificate. You can even have it mounted into your own piece of gold or silver jewellery with our selection of jewellery mounts. Our Pearl Cafe is very well equipped with tea, coffee, cakes and light bites. Our Chef Philippe welcomes groups of any size. Booking for lunch groups is essential so we can provide the best service possible.
Freckleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A pearl in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2015

An extravagant dream brought to reality in the middle of nowhere. Wonderful displays of pearls from around the world that you can drool over and dream of owning, or splash out and buy along with watches, jewellery and chocolate. Afterwards enjoy coffee and homemade cake which is cheap by comparison and enjoy the views.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    93
    62
    26
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you like pearls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2015

Went here purposefully to replace one I lost. Picked a pearl for £18. It was valued at £46. Had a coffee in the cafe. Lovely views. I would say this was more of a retail place than an attraction. Pearls are not cheap so don't be surprised at the prices! But worth a visit nonetheless.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Carole_Mercer_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“got to like pearls”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2015

got to like pearls . Nobody showing how jewellery made. Its just a showroom.The café is expensive and coffee out of machine

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank htrif1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff UK
Level Contributor
612 reviews
392 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Worst Pearl Factory we have been to”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2015

Its the first factory we have been to, normally we have seen the whole process. Here was just a sales room, nobody in the design or assembly areas. We did expect the Pearls to be from the Isle of White, not imports.

Not worth a visit. Coffee is expensive for out of a machine and looking at the food menu it was overpriced

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslePearl, Manager at Isle of Wight Pearl, responded to this review, 17 April 2015
Isle of Wight Pearl is a retail destination, we are not a factory. We specialise in selling the highest quality Akoya and Freshwater pearls. On site we also have a design workshop for re-stringing and bespoke designs can be made. The showroom host the largest collection of pearl in the UK. The seas around the Isle of Wight are not warm enough to culture the pearls. All the food in the pearl café is homemade, we have a Lavazza machine for fresh coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2015

Visited here as part of an excursion. Would not of otherwise gone here. To be perfectly honest you can walk round the whole place within 5 minutes. Yes, there is some extremely beautiful jewellery on sale here, but it is very pricey. I'm glad I didn't have to pay to enter The Pearl because I would of been gutted. If you have children I really wouldn't bother visiting this "attraction" as they would probably very bored.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank LindaandPaulW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Isle of Wight Pearl also viewed

East Cowes, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Sandown, Isle of Wight
Wootton Bridge, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Isle of Wight Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing