We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break with Thomson's Alfresco”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Cast le Guildo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Chateau de Galinee
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent break with Thomson's Alfresco”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here at the end of August/early Sept and loved the whole place.

Very safe feeling site, minimal traffic and fairly small. Our kids (3&5) loved the play areas ( opposite the Vivaldi caravans for alfresco visitors), pools, goats, bouncy castles and zip wires.

Great location for visiting St Malo, St Cast etc, we would go back and visit more places, we drove from Cherbourg so we could get the 3 hour ferry.

Takeaway/shop and restaurant were clearly closing down before we left, so there was no entertainment and they were barely open, this didn't bother us really though, except the last night when we fancied getting something to eat but the restaurant and takeaway both appeared to be closed when we got there about 8.15pm, but the site was so quiet I couldn't blame them.

Only issues we had were noise from other visitors waking the kids a couple if nights, and finding the place as the signposts are not that great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hells82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping Chateau de Galinee, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Fantastic to see - really pleased you enjoyed your holiday!

During low season some campsites do run reduced opening times however I'm pleased this didn't affect your holiday too much.

We hope to welcome you again next summer - thank you for your feedback.
the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    60
    24
    16
    5
See reviews for
96
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Our 3rd visit to a Castels en Plein Air campsite. We choose them as they seem to ensure a good standard with clean well kept facilities. This one also has the advantage of indoor and outdoor pools, although we were lucky with the Brittany weather so we didn't really need the indoor pool :-)

We book direct via the Castels website which makes it much cheaper than using the various camping holiday companies found here. Good variety of accommodation to choose from. We booked a 3 bed roomed static with wooden terrace and were pleased with the result.

Only a short drive to numerous villages and a vast array of beaches from big long stretches of open sand to gorgeous little sandy coves and beautiful clear waters. Great area for rock-pooling.

Recommend Indian Forest near Lamballe at Marieux for high ropes and zip wiring.

Room Tip: Ask for an emplacement with an open aspect...ours was directly behind a stack of 4 homes which meant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieGalinee, Public Relations Manager at Camping Chateau de Galinee, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello CCIF !

I'm glad you had a nice time and that you also had the chance to visit Brittany with a nice weather ! You can now tell everybody that it is not always raining in here ! But as it sometimes happens, we have to have an indoor pool !

Thak you for your comment and we would be glad to see you again in Galinée !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We found the site very clean and tidy, the pool area was very clean. The Eurocamp part of the holiday was less impressive. The reps were unenthusiastic, not particularly friendly and just looked bored. We were told on our second day that we should have had a "welcome" visit from someone at our chalet and that someone would come and see us but this never happened. The day we left i dropped the keys off with a rep and he just walked past me as he grabbed the keys and said have a good journey home! he didn't stop to talk or ask if we had had a nice time or if there had been any problems. The chalet was not particularly clean. The washing up bowl had sand in it and the toilet door was in need of a good clean! There was quite a strong smell of damp and the mattresses were not particularly nice or clean. The website made it look as if the area around the chalets was quite spacious but
They were really crammed in and it felt quite claustrophobic. The area and facilities for campers looked good and clean but this was all part of the actual site and not eurocamp.
St Cast was lovely and the beach beautiful. St Malo was also nice with lots of patisseries. It's a beautiful part of the world which we will visit again but not through Eurocamp. The campsite itself is probably better for younger kids where as we have teenagers so not a lot for them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieGalinee, Public Relations Manager at Camping Chateau de Galinee, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello Jo M !

I only have two things to say : Thank your for your comments about our campsite and if you wish to come back to Galinee, book directly from our website !

We hope to see you again in Galinee !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Having spent a week on Oleron we decided that we'd have a couple of nights not far from St Malo before returning on the ferry. We weren't dissapointed by this campsite. We have a trailer tent and the pitch was spacious and flat (unlike Oleron). The shower block was fantastic, particularly the facility for families to shower and bath the little ones, plus plenty of hot water for washing dishes etc (again unlike the site where we stayed on Oleron).

The outdoor pool was a highlight with the children with plenty to satisfy all ages (3, 10 and 14 year old), plus there's the bonus of a warm indoor pool. The bar and restaurant area was lovely and the shop handy for bread, milk etc. I'd quite happily spend longer on this site in the future as the surrounding area looked very interesting and you couldn't wish for a better campsite (other than the cockerel that kept waking me up - but that was just me - the rest of the family slept through). Equally, if you are looking for somewhere to spend a few days at the end of your holiday before catching the ferry from St Malo, it's ideally situated and would have took us only 30 minutes to get to the port had the bridge between Dinard and St Malo not been up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieGalinee, Public Relations Manager at Camping Chateau de Galinee, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Owain L,

Thank you so much for your contribution ! We try our best for you to have a nice time in Galinee !
I bet your children loved the slides of our outdoor aquatic park ! Here is a tip for next time you will come : The bridge from Dinard to Saint Malo is going up every hour at sharp time (ie 9:00 am, noon on the dot, 2:00 pm, 3:00 pm....). It stays up from 10 to 20 minutes (depending on the number of boats that have to come through).
It's ok when when you have just arrived and that you begin your holiday but you will have to be carefult if you have a boat to catch !

We hope to see you again in Galinee !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Recently returned from a weeks caravanning holiday here and have to say we had a great time. The site was clean, tidy, spacious and with a lovely country feel. We booked an Extra large pitch and there was more than enough room, we even managed to create our own badminton court on the pitch!!
The staff were always helpful and accommodating. The bar and restaurant were good and reasonably priced. The pools were clean and well attended to, albeit it does get a little busy when the sun comes out!! The area is great for exploring with plenty of places to visit.
We would definitely re-visit, but would get a closer ferry crossing ( we did Dover to Calais) and it was just too far to travel unless you are going for longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieGalinee, Public Relations Manager at Camping Chateau de Galinee, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello Karen P.

You are right ! It takes around 6 hours to go from Calais to Saint Cast le Guildo whereas it only takes half an hour or so to get to Saint Cast from Saint Malo ! The time you spend on the boat may be longer but you can sleep in it (night crossings available). And Portsmouth does not seem to be so far from Nottingham compared to Dover.
We hope to see you again in Galinee and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our campsite !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just come home from a 5 night short break with Thompson Al Fresco on this site. We stayed in a Thompson Rossini chalet ( the budget 3 bed), and I have to say, with good weather the accommodation wasn't bad. Beds comfy, kitchen although awkward to get to some things was well equipped. Shower was very powerful for the type of accommodation. We had a good pitch on the site, but our only complaint was that a tent pitch was right next to us and for the first couple of nights a family with a small baby was staying there and we were woken very early by the crying. We did speak to both the Thomson rep and the site reception and we have to say that both didn't really care considering how much we had paid compared to a camper.

Anyway back to the site itself. Fab is what we would say .... we have a 15, 14 and two 12 year olds to please and they loved the site, especially the pools. We walked up to the bar area in an evening although didn't eat or drink there. Bouncy castles etc were good, our children enjoyed them. The shop and Crepe/Takeaway were excellent and prices were good too considering they were on a camping site.

Would we go back ???? Yes .... absolutely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieGalinee, Public Relations Manager at Camping Chateau de Galinee, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Mandy L,

We are so happy that you and your family loved our campsite ! And we hope to see you again soon in Saint Cast as Brittany is a lovely place to visit and there are many beautiful places that you should see if you haven't already (Saint Malo, Dinan, Cap Fréhel, Dinard, ...) !

See you soon (fro your next holidays maybe !)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Returned from a 10 day stay and would recommend camping at this site. The camping pitch was spacious and the facilities (toilet, washing up areas) were all well maintained. The bouncy castles, pools (indoor and outdoor) were all popular with the children as were the croissants that we bought daily from the shop. The location is good and you can easily get to some lovely market towns/beaches in the surrounding areas. I recommend you ask for a map of the area from reception as this wasn't given to me initially. Super U and Lidl in nearby Matignon are ideal for all your food shopping as the on site shop is expensive.

Overall, the site is good for families and has a good mix of nationaities.

When I booked the site, I was under the impression that barbecues were not allowed but when we arrived, lots of people were having barbecues so I wished that I had taken ours. I think you are allowed ones that are off the ground. We did hire one in the end but that cost 3 euros per day plus a 20 euro deposit so I would recommend taking one.

A few other niggles about our visit. We visited end of July and start of August but the restaurant seemed to be only open from 6 pm onwards each day. It is a shame because if the restaurant had been open earlier, I would have gone there for a coffee at breakfast or mid morning or even lunch. Similarly the shop and takeaway are open early morning and then close at midday opening again at 5 pm. There is nowhere from 12 to 5 where you can get a drink and sit or even buy an ice cream and I felt that was a missed opportunity. The site was generally quiet after about 11 pm but when we visited (we were based near to the toilet block) there were some people who were quite noisy. One night there was loud music between 12 and 4 but I understand this was an nearby disco (not on the campsite).

I would recommend this site and would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AurelieGalinee, Public Relations Manager at Camping Chateau de Galinee, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello SarahH H.

I'm glad you want to come back to our campsite and get a chance to taste those delicious croissants again !
And you are right, people come from everywhere to have a nice holiday at Galinee !
Concerning barbecues, the ones off the ground are allowed on site and if you forget yours, you can easily hire one from the reception.

We wish to see you again in Saint Cast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cast le Guildo
24.6 mi away
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
#1 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
739 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
#1 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
274 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel de Diane
Hotel de Diane
#2 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Camping Le Chatelet
Camping Le Chatelet
#1 of 9 in Saint-Cast le Guildo
62 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Crique
La Crique
#5 of 9 in Saint-Cast le Guildo
5 reviews
13.5 mi away
Spa Marin du Val Andre
Spa Marin du Val Andre
#1 of 5 in Pleneuf-Val-Andre
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Chateau de Galinee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Chateau de Galinee

Property: Camping Chateau de Galinee
Address: Rue de Galinee, 22380 Saint-Cast le Guildo, France
Region: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Saint-Cast le Guildo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Cast le Guildo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Chateau de Galinee 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Saint Malo and to the Cap Frehel's lighthouse, 3 kms away from the beaches and golf course of Saint Cast le Guildo, come and enjoy a peaceful life on our 14 hectares of wooden parkland. The Galinee campsite combines a quiet rural setting and the liveliness of a seaside resort.Many types of accomodations are waiting to welcome you and your family : pitches for tents, caravans and camper vans, chalet tents, cottages and mobile homes...Come and taste french traditional food cooked with fresh and local products at our restaurant and have a nice evening at our bar! You will also have access to our indoor and outdoor pools, to our sauna, whirlpool baths, and water slides, tennis court... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau De Galinee Hotel Saint-Cast Le Guildo
Camping Chateau De Galinee Saint-Cast Le Guildo, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing