We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day of three weeks in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best day of three weeks in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We 3 adults and 4 children ( 8,10.13 and 16 years old ) stayed at this family run hotel for one night on July 21th 2013. All of us enjoyed the typical costarican cuisine for the 3 meals. We also
enjoyed our guide tour and hiking in Tenorio National Park along the Rio Celeste with David.
But it was even better to swim in the Rio Celeste at the family swimming hole.Overall we all
agreed that our day and night spend at the Posada Rio Celeste was one of the highlight of our
3 weeks long trip in Costa Rica because of the friendlyness of Elias, David and all the family.
We wish to be back one day and to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonvon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaRioCeleste, Owner at Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comment, we hope that you really enjoyed the stay with us, hopefully to see you again the next time that you visit Río Celeste.

Thank you so much again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    22
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
34
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

After our Rio Celeste hike, we had lunch at Posada Rio Celeste. It's down some bumpy, unpaved roads, but that just added to the adventure! We were thirsty from our hike, so the fresh and plentiful lemonade was perfect. Everything in our traditional Costa Rican lunch was delicious! Our hosts were gracious and saw to our every need, also giving us a tour of their grounds afterwards. All in all, a memorable afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

this is a very rustic place close to the entrance of the Rio Celeste,this family is fantastic,Dona Socorro is a incredible person and all the family is very friendly when i'm in the area is always a pleasure to visit them,the food is amazing and you can swim in the rio celeste in a natural pool than not so many people know about it,ask them

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeros625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaRioCeleste, Gerente at Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks very much to visiting us, for us it was a pleasure to share with you a unique experience, We hope that you really enjoyed the stay with us in our humble Posada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at the very opulent property down the road from Amistad, but lucked into this property when we took a guided tour of Tenorio. Our guide lived and worked on his family's property, If you make it to Tenorio you must stop by Amistad, it's a hidden jewel of the area! The homecooked lunch we had was the best meal of our whole week in Costa Rica. A mother's home cooking cannot be beat! The dining tables sit in a beautiful garden with birds everywhere. There is a vine swing, parrots, a trio of loving dogs, a farm full of animals and pinapples. The hostel is perfect for spending time immersed in the family culture and has the best views of the entire mountainside. Rustic but Pura Vida! When we return to Costa Rica we will be spending our mountain time at Amistad!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We took lunch here after visiting Rio Celeste and it turned into the most memorable, heart-warming experience of our whole trip. The family was so friendly and made us a home cooked meal that topped everything else we had eaten in Costa Rica. Then the toured us through their farm and we played on there huge swing with a group of children for an hour. When the bill came for the three of us we were so shocked at the cheap price that we more then doubled it. We left teary-eyed having just experienced the wonderful hospitality of this local family.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a room, just ate lunch and toured the farm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joro7886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

The family was very inviting and friendly. I felt like a part of their household. They were extremely accommodating. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strobelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
0.7 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
#1 of 39 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.3 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad

Property: Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad
Address: Kilometer from Tenorio's National Park 1 | 1 km northeast of the Tenorio´s National Park Entrance., Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located one kilometer from Tenorio's National Park Entrance (Rio Celeste). We are a friendly Hotel Family of 6 members and we have 7 rooms and one rustic Restaurant where the same family prepare the local food with firewood. We also offer tours, Tenorio National Park and Rio Celeste Hike, Horse Back Riding, and others. Come and enjoy with us this Natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing