We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rustic family atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa
Vaudreuil-Dorion, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice rustic family atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although very rustic this place is run by a wonderful family.
Vilma our host was most helpful and so kind. The food was excellent! Typical Costa rican food prepared with great care. We had the pleasure of having David as our guide to Rio Celeste and also to a local cacao plantation which was all set up by the Posada for us.
4x4 is a must and I have to say that the road was a real shocker for us but we managed.
You must meet Fransisco and Francini the two resident green parrots who enjoy sounding like a car alarm! They are hillarious!
Bring earplugs as there is zero soundproofing between rooms. But please don't let that stop you from coming.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    19
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

A charming place to stay and the family that runs this delightful Bed & Breakfast do an excellent job of not just sevice but making you feel right at home from the moment you arrive. Our guide for the hike to Rio Celeste was Elias, who was also our host at La Posada. The accommodations are rustic yet clean and you'll probably get to meet people from other parts of the planet while you're there. The food is excellent and truly Tico (Costa Rican) and there's plenty of great birds right on the property to see and even interact with(you'll see what I mean when you get there). You'll really enjoy your stay here, we did! Just a helpful bit of info especially for foreigners, keep yourself cover ed with insect repelent when you're out walking around. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

After a long day hiking to the Rio Celeste this was a perfect way to refuel and relax for lunch. This quaint family farm serves an excellent Costa Rican "typical" meal family style that is very filling and dirt cheap for all the rice & beans, beep tips in broth (some kind of light chili flavor), cheese, greens, mashed taro root, lemon cheesecake, coffee, lemonade. Did I mention all farm fresh? Even the lemonade was freshly squeezed on property.

Also don't forget to meet the resident green parrots. They are very friendly and appear to have a pretty good spanish vocabulary (although I didn't recognize some of the words, maybe some of the help taught them the spanish cuss words lol!).

PS - this was another excellent recommendation from Daniel at Sueno Celeste.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I recently visited Rio Celeste area. We already had reservations at another (pricier) hotel, but met the owners of Posada Rio Celeste in the park. They invited us back to their place for lunch and we were extremely pleased. The quantity of food they served us was more than we could eat, home-cooked, and absolutely delicious! The night before we had paid $30 per person for dinner at our hotel and the food was just so-so. The meal at Posada Rio Celeste costs us $8 per person and was much, much tastier. The family was very kind and took us on a tour of their property after lunch. The rooms are rustic but clean and a great affordable option in the area. I definitely recommend this property and would return again if in the area. A nice, authentic Costa Rican meal and experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulemar_chico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaRioCeleste, Propietario at Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, para nosotros a sido un verdadero placer haberles brindado nuestro servicio de Restaurante.

Siempre hacemos lo posible para que nuestros visitantes queden satisfechos con nuestros servicios.

Muchas gracias y esperamos que la próxima vez que visite costa rica vuelvan a visitarnos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helengeli
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been here in 2013 and had a really good time. The people are very nice and you feel like a part of the family! The room was in very good condition and in the garden we could swing on a liane that hung from a huge tree. We really felt like home here and can recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaRioCeleste, Propietario at Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por su comentario, esperamos la hayas pasado de lo mejor en nuestro hotel, para nosotros a sido un verdadero placer haber compartido con ustedes.

Esperamos tenerlos en nuestro hotel la próxima ves que visite río celeste.

Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We 3 adults and 4 children ( 8,10.13 and 16 years old ) stayed at this family run hotel for one night on July 21th 2013. All of us enjoyed the typical costarican cuisine for the 3 meals. We also
enjoyed our guide tour and hiking in Tenorio National Park along the Rio Celeste with David.
But it was even better to swim in the Rio Celeste at the family swimming hole.Overall we all
agreed that our day and night spend at the Posada Rio Celeste was one of the highlight of our
3 weeks long trip in Costa Rica because of the friendlyness of Elias, David and all the family.
We wish to be back one day and to stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonvon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PosadaRioCeleste, Owner at Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comment, we hope that you really enjoyed the stay with us, hopefully to see you again the next time that you visit Río Celeste.

Thank you so much again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

After our Rio Celeste hike, we had lunch at Posada Rio Celeste. It's down some bumpy, unpaved roads, but that just added to the adventure! We were thirsty from our hike, so the fresh and plentiful lemonade was perfect. Everything in our traditional Costa Rican lunch was delicious! Our hosts were gracious and saw to our every need, also giving us a tour of their grounds afterwards. All in all, a memorable afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
1.8 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
4.2 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.3 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
Catarata Rio Celeste Hotel
#1 of 39 in Alajuela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
7.1 mi away
Cataratas Bijagua Lodge
Cataratas Bijagua Lodge
#4 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa

Property: Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa
Address: Kilometer from Tenorio's National Park 1, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located one kilometer from Tenorio's National Park Entrance (Rio Celeste). We are a friendly Hotel Family of 6 members and we have 7 rooms and one rustic Restaurant where the same family prepare the local food with firewood. We also offer tours, Tenorio National Park and Rio Celeste Hike, Horse Back Riding, and others. Come and enjoy with us this Natural paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Rio Celeste Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing