We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Celeste Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This place was just purely amazing. $15 and we got breakfast, VERY clean accommodation, nice hosts, beautiful house, BEST shower I ever took in Costa Rica, tea and coffee and a GREAT location. The hosts who run the place are very honest, they didn't press me to buy their services. So honest, he told me that the river would be brown that day and that it would be better to go south to the Pacific until it cleared up, instead of taking our money and bringing us up there anyway. When I go back to Costa Rica I will be going back there FOR SURE!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
29
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I stayed with a group of friends when we visited Río Celeste. The staff was friendly, picked us up where the bus dropped us off, and showed us around. The kitchen is big and has everything one could need to cook, the shower / toilet facilities are clean (but there's only one inside, one outside toilet)...the only negative aspect was that it was freezing cold and we didn't have thick blankets, only thin linen.
They also organized the transport to the river!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
many places
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed one night and loved it! Stayed in the double room which was spotlessly clean with nicer furniture and sheets than many hotel rooms. Jorge, the owner, was very helpful and friendly, and really made you feel like his guest. He put a lot of love into the place, nice little patio with hammocks and yummy free breakfast. Thanks, we would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacla2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Rio Celeste backpackers was such a great hostel- very comfortable, homey atmosphere which was a great change of pace and provided some much needed r&r. The rooms were great, with comfortable enough beds and Jorge was an excellent host. The hostel is in a beautiful setting as well, I spent several hours just lounging in the hammocks and appreciating the amazing scenery.
We got off the public bus in the middle of town so had a bit of a walk, maybe half mile to the hostel, which is right on the edge of the town. At first I thought we weren't gonna find it but then someone finally gave us good directions.
We stayed for 2 nights in the double room, which was very comfortable. The breakfasts were DELICIOUS, and we really enjoyed making dinner in the spacious kitchen. Jorge also offered a shuttle ride to the park for us as we didn't have our own transportation.
We loved our stay here and I would definitely return. Wish we had a car and more nights here to explore the other sights in the area besides the magnificent rio celeste.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsei J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

If you want to visit Costa Rica north zone, and Rio Celeste, let me recomend you Rio Celeste Backpackers and Heliconias Lodge and raintforest, there you can find the one of the most biodiversity bird watching tour and also friendly people ever.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosacm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had planned to spend two nights at the Backpackers, but because of the great surroundings and the great hosts we have spend 4 nights. You can do so many great things, for instance a day to the Rio Celeste National park and another day to nearby Rincon de la Vieja national park.Rio Celeste Backpackers is best place to base your self. The owner, Jorge, and his friend Kim can give you various tips and will help you all your questions. A part from that their place is also great. Rooms are very spacious and clean, you are also able to use the kitchen. Breakfast is included and is very delicious!
Don't spend you money on a fancy place, but be spart and spend some time a the Rio Celeste Backpackers. We had the best time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bloem17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
6.0 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
777 reviews
2.9 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
642 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tenorio Lodge
Tenorio Lodge
#3 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
309 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
513 reviews
6.0 mi away
Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad
Posada Rio Celeste La Amistad
#4 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Celeste Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Celeste Backpackers

Property: Rio Celeste Backpackers
Address: On Main Road Between Upala And Canas | 200 meters Southwest from National Bank, Bijagua de Upala 21304, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging located 200 meters southwest from National Bank of Bijagua, Upala, Alajuela, Costa Rica. Just 9 kilometers from Rio Celeste. We offer a total of 4 rooms. Four private rooms with king bed, nightstand, shared bathroom, closet and ceiling fam. Also we have one shared room with 4 stateroom with capacity for 8 people, this room has ceiling fam and lockers. Besides we have a full kitchen with refrigerator. A little living room with TV and full Wi-Fi and comfortable sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rio Celeste Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Celeste Backpackers Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing