We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful! Wish we could have stayed here longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenorio Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenorio Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Wonderful! Wish we could have stayed here longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed here for just one night on our tour through Costa Rica. There were 7 of us and we all agreed it was the best accommodation on the trip and wished we had another night here before moving on!

The lodge is perfectly located on a hillside in the heart of the rainforest. Very inviting -when we arrived we were met with a welcome drink and the lovely french owner Christine.

The rooms were beautiful, modern and clean - your own individual cabin with huge glass windows with amazing views and sounds of the rainforest surrounding you. Bathroom was very spacious too and i thought the private window in the shower was a nice touch!

The main lodge housed the restaurant and verandah, which was perfect for a relaxing drink, with a lovely cool breeze in the evening!

A good breakfast with a bit of a bird show as they have bird tables on the balcony which many beautiful birds visit.

A wonderful stay, would highly recommend to everyone!




  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AneesaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    92
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
183
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

Little did we realize what an international experience it would be at Tenoria Lodge. The owners are French so not only was I able to speak Spanish with the staff I was able to dust off a bit of French too.

The lodge is small and you get very personalized attention from Christine, the owner, as well as her staff. For primarily English speakers Carlos was a great help. The overall feeling of the place is low key and relaxed with service provided with a genuine smile.

We had the best homemade toasted bread for breakfast served with two delicious fruit butters: peach and banana. After being served bread with a fruit plate the staff then cooked us a breakfast of our choice. We are vegetarians and dinner was a collection of veggies, rice, potatoes, and cheese. One night we had a very tasty garbanzo bean dish. We had bought a bottle of wine in town and there was no problem asking Carlos to open it for us for dinner.

The grounds are gorgeous complete with a Jacuzzi. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. There is a great mountain breeze at night. This is important as there are no ceiling fans. Each room does come with a stand up tower fan.

The Tenoria Lodge is also at a great location. It is right off the main road through the area. To get to some of the other lodges area you need to drive on dirt/rocky roads that make for difficult traveling to and from.

Room Tip: Easy to find and right off the main road. All rooms are separate bungalows and easy to access. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

A non-fussy but very attractive lodging. Rooms have little in them save a comfortable bed and a great view of the volcano (plus your own private greenery) through huge windows.

The staff and owners are very warm and welcoming. Breakfast was fine. Dinner was okay but others had suggested we go into Bijagua to dine -- prices better and more variety. We were only there one night, so can't comment on the alternative.

It is about 3 Km to turn-off to the park, and then there's a rather rough road to negotiate to get to the walk. The staff at the Lodge arranged for us to be picked up by a shuttle that spared us the ordeal of driving a non 4-wheel drive and risking the tires/axel, undercarriage, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

This place is really great!

At check-in we were met with fresh fruit smoothies by Kimberly, who is the most fantastic, bubbly tri-lingual Costa Rican you could ever hope to meet. She was full of great information for our stay. (Thanks again Kimberly, you rock!)

The cabin (we were in #8) was absolutely GORGEOUS. Floor to ceiling windows & a great view! Felt very secluded. All linens, etc, were very nice and cabin was VERY clean.

The included breakfast was DELICIOUS. Really enjoyed the fruit. We were slightly confused about what was included and what wasn't (we ordered eggs everyday & were expecting to be charged for them at the end, but never were - I guess they too are complimentary?). We ate at the restaurant twice. The first night we had filet mignon and it was DELICIOUS. The second night the food wasn't as good, but definitely palatable.

The hot tubs were nice after a day running through the jungle, although my party agreed that they weren't close to hot enough (95-97 degrees). A pool would have been AMAZING!

The owners are fantastic and were very accomodating, they were able to bake a cake somewhat last minute to surprise my boyfriend for his birthday. Be warned however that they are French & their English, while good, is slightly lacking so some things were lost in communication.

My only complaint was the water temperature in the room. Out of the 3 days, I never once got a hot shower. Not even a WARM shower. Cold, cold cold! Which was VERY uncomfortable on cool evenings. I understand that it is an eco lodge, etc, but I don't feel that a 10 minute hot shower is unreasonable. Maybe something that could be looked in to...?

I highly recommend cabin #8, as it is in the back in the corner, so you don't have people walking by your cabin. Beautiful place!

Room Tip: Cabin #8 or any of the ones in the back, so no one can look in your big windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

My boyfriend and I began a 9 day vacation with a two night stay at Tenorio Lodge and it was the perfect way to start. The lodge was easy to get to from the airport in Liberia, paved roads all the way to the lodges' driveway. Once there we were greeted with fruit smoothies and a lovely tri-lingual front desk employee who gave us a quick tour of the grounds and showed us our room. It was a beautiful bungalow with large shower and comfortable bed. It was also very close to the Tenorio volcano national park including Rio Celeste waterfall as well as the bank and market. The view of the clouds over the volcano were spectacular as well. You're smack dab in the rainforest so remember your poncho (though our room had a lodge umbrella right inside the door).

Room Tip: They are in the process of building more bungalows so you may want to request a room away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFentner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We loved the Lodge. We only stayed one night in order to visit the nearby Rio Celeste, but the lodge ended up being the highlight. The staff was incredibly warm, informative, and friendly. Dinner (by reservation) in the lodge was great as was the included breakfast. Our cabin (#1) was beautiful, clean, large, and very comfortable. We loved the natural wood and king-sized bed. The umbrella to walk around the grounds was a nice touch in the rainforest, and we loved the privacy of soaking in the jacuzzis.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Very beautiful Bungalows, nice view, good breakfast- we love it!!! Furthermore it's easy to find the lodge and to visit the area. During our stay we visit the national parks Rincon de la vieja (very great!!!), Palo Verde and Tenorio. If you decide to visit the vulcan Tenorio, you need a 4wheel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
2.9 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
22.0 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenorio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenorio Lodge

Property: Tenorio Lodge
Address: Camino del retiro, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenorio Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Tenorio and Miravalles volcanoes at an altitude of 1,640 ft, each one of our 12 bungalows has an exceptional view towards the Tenorio volcano. Rooms are spacious, elegant, and perfectly set out for your greatest comfort. Built on our 17 acres property, in the middle of Heliconias gardens, of fruit trees and tropical vegetation surrounding two natural ponds, the Lodge was designed to offer its guests quietness, relaxation, and serenity. In this peaceful environment, along our trails, you will observe hundreds of birds, learn about native trees or take a dip in one of our two red cedar hot tubs. Among the activities we suggest, you should visit the heart of the Tenorio Volcano's National Park, the "Rio Celeste", well known for its astonishing and enchanting turquoise-blue colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tenorio Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenorio Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing