We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive”
Review of Tenorio Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenorio Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Good location, close to town if you have a car and pleasant surroundings and views. The French couple who own the place are friendly and helpful and the terrace is a very nice location for a evening drink, read or or for using the wireless connection. The rooms were bright and airy however, with no tv, fridge, wireless or air con in the rooms, the hotel is expensive, at $140, for what it offers. My main complaint was that the large bed, although comfortable, had a large wooden frame which was incredibly noisy if you or your partner moved much during the night. It was hard not to wake each other. This plus the high cost meant we decided not to stay longer.

Room Tip: The pizza in Bijagua is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice simple hotel. Location is not on the tourist path but that's what adds to the charm.

Rooms are large and clean. No A/C but breeze+fan was fine enough. Hot water! Some bugs but you are in the middle of a forest.

Breakfast is awesome. We didn't eat any other meals as we wanted to check out the local town nearby. We didn't have a car but they hotel staff was helpful in calling a taxi; they also setup our tours which was convenient. Rio Celeste is close and the hike is pretty simple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdizzle555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a secluded resort high up in the mountains between 2 volcanoes; the flowers, bird and monkeys are amazing. The rooms are simple but very nice and all have great view of Tenorio. Frank and his wife Christina are very kind and concerned innkeepers; and this is all just a short distance from Rio Celeste and rafting and canopy tours.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KipWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The hotel is just awesome, the architecture is beatiful. We were greeted by a pleasant young man who showed us around, then one of the owners welcomed us with delicious drinks. The bungalows are design with a perfect view of the volcano, the rooms are clean and very french, everything here breaths peace and rest. I would love to spend more time but we could not, I highly recommend this place and is close to the aguas celestes which if you come to Costa Rica and do not see that you missed the best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VICKI0869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had stayed at Tenorio Lodge two and a half years ago, and decided to return for a couple of nights as part of our three week trip this summer. It can sometimes be a mistake to go back to somewhere you really liked, but we found Tenorio Lodge to be as wonderful as it had been the first time. The bungalows are beautiful, very well designed with lots of light and space,and very clean and comfortable. Franck and Christine made us very welcome and took time to point out some of the many birds that are attracted to the lovely gardens and feeding station on the deck outside the restaurant The little town of Biajua is just a five minute drive away, and Tenorio and Miravalles Volcanoes are easily accessible from the lodge. The recently formed Tenorio National Park is the place to go to see the amazing Rio Celeste, but there are lots of other attractions locally..

Room Tip: Our room was on the lwer level with great views of Tenorio Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robnalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Beautifully situated for views of the Tenorio volcano from our room this Lodge is under the very watchful eye and personal supervision of the French owner. It is also well situated for excursions to the many local attractions as well as having its own self-guided trails from which we gained excellent views of a Sloth and a troupe of Howler Monkeys together with many birds. Our own excursion was to El Cagno Negro and this boat trip takes you through the most amazing natural reserve, with Boat Billed Herons; Cayman; Emerald Basilisks and too much wild life to name.

Room Tip: Choose a 'chalet' on the front row
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Spent three nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room could have been a
little cooler and had better cross ventilation, although it was spacious and very nicely kept. The owners and staff were very nice. The grounds are delightful. Food was average. Location is good for hiking, etc. in the Tenorio Volcano area.

Room Tip: We were in room 8. I understand that the recently built rooms (Numbers greater than 8) have better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
6.3 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
813 reviews
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
697 reviews
2.1 mi away
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
Heliconias Rainforest Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,352 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
541 reviews
12.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenorio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenorio Lodge

Address: Camino del retiro, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range: £99 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenorio Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Tenorio and Miravalles volcanoes at an altitude of 1,640 ft, each one of our 12 bungalows has an exceptional view towards the Tenorio volcano. Rooms are spacious, elegant, and perfectly set out for your greatest comfort. Built on our 17 acres property, in the middle of Heliconias gardens, of fruit trees and tropical vegetation surrounding two natural ponds, the Lodge was designed to offer its guests quietness, relaxation, and serenity. In this peaceful environment, along our trails, you will observe hundreds of birds, learn about native trees or take a dip in one of our two red cedar hot tubs. Among the activities we suggest, you should visit the heart of the Tenorio Volcano's National Park, the "Rio Celeste", well known for its astonishing and enchanting turquoise-blue colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tenorio Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenorio Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing