We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting; bird watching from the room”
Review of Tenorio Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tenorio Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Tenorio Lodge is not only located in a beautiful spot with a view of the volcano, it is also a very well run facility. The owners have paid attention to every detail - resulting in spacious rooms fronted by glass, a shower with a glass wall looking out onto plants, your own 'yard' in front where it's possible to see all kinds of exotic birds. The food is excellent, the staff friendly and the owners obliging. We plan to return!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
There are newer reviews for Tenorio Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

Nice big rooms, felt very private. The property also feels spacious and isolated.

The french couple were very nice and helpful. They booked us a tour of the rio celeste, and after we came back we relaxed in the jacuzzi before dinner, and spent a relaxing evening there. The next day, breakfast was fantastic, and since they recommended it, we went to Finca Verde for a tour, which was great!

Overall, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angeliquemari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The rooms were so pretty. The owner designed the rooms himself. The rooms had large windows that looked into the jungle.The rooms were like little houses. You felt like you were in paradise. It had to hot tubes.

Wanna read more about the hotel and Costa Rica go check out my blog.

http://vacationswithaaron.blogspot.com/

Room Tip: All the rooms are super nice. You have your own little house
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This was my favorite lodging during my 21 days in Costa Rica. The bungalows are absolutely beautifully designed with panoramic views of Volcan Tenorio. I was lucky enough to be there on the night of a full moon which turned out to be absolutely magical. The bungalows are extremely spacious with modern fixtures and nice lighting. For those with attention to detail, you will appreciate what they have done with the property.
Christy and Franck are very kind and hospitable. They served me a fresh juice upon arrival and gave me the down low on the local area. Tea and coffee was always available and lovely to enjoy on their deck where there is an abundance of bird visitors. This place is great if you're planning a visit to Rio Celeste or just want something more laid back and rural while in Costa Rica.
Additionally, the cedar hot tub was fabulous after a day of trekking through muddy Rio Celeste. Another perk. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consuela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Good location, close to town if you have a car and pleasant surroundings and views. The French couple who own the place are friendly and helpful and the terrace is a very nice location for a evening drink, read or or for using the wireless connection. The rooms were bright and airy however, with no tv, fridge, wireless or air con in the rooms, the hotel is expensive, at $140, for what it offers. My main complaint was that the large bed, although comfortable, had a large wooden frame which was incredibly noisy if you or your partner moved much during the night. It was hard not to wake each other. This plus the high cost meant we decided not to stay longer.

Room Tip: The pizza in Bijagua is good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice simple hotel. Location is not on the tourist path but that's what adds to the charm.

Rooms are large and clean. No A/C but breeze+fan was fine enough. Hot water! Some bugs but you are in the middle of a forest.

Breakfast is awesome. We didn't eat any other meals as we wanted to check out the local town nearby. We didn't have a car but they hotel staff was helpful in calling a taxi; they also setup our tours which was convenient. Rio Celeste is close and the hike is pretty simple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdizzle555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a secluded resort high up in the mountains between 2 volcanoes; the flowers, bird and monkeys are amazing. The rooms are simple but very nice and all have great view of Tenorio. Frank and his wife Christina are very kind and concerned innkeepers; and this is all just a short distance from Rio Celeste and rafting and canopy tours.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KipWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
6.3 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
808 reviews
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
697 reviews
2.1 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
538 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
B&B Hotel Sueno Celeste
#2 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenorio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenorio Lodge

Address: Camino del retiro, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenorio Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Tenorio and Miravalles volcanoes at an altitude of 1,640 ft, each one of our 12 bungalows has an exceptional view towards the Tenorio volcano. Rooms are spacious, elegant, and perfectly set out for your greatest comfort. Built on our 17 acres property, in the middle of Heliconias gardens, of fruit trees and tropical vegetation surrounding two natural ponds, the Lodge was designed to offer its guests quietness, relaxation, and serenity. In this peaceful environment, along our trails, you will observe hundreds of birds, learn about native trees or take a dip in one of our two red cedar hot tubs. Among the activities we suggest, you should visit the heart of the Tenorio Volcano's National Park, the "Rio Celeste", well known for its astonishing and enchanting turquoise-blue colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tenorio Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenorio Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing