We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Tenorio Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tenorio Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Tenorio Lodge nestles on the flanks of Tenorio Volcano, surrounded by nature but within easy reach of the small Tico town of Bijagua, the recently formed Tenorio National Park, and not too far from Canas and the Pan-American highway. The bungalows are gorgeous, wiith huge picture windows overlooking the forest. They have been thoughtfully designed and beautifully decorated. We were made very welcome by the lodge's owners who are extremely knowledgeable and doing all they can to encourage a variety of birds into the gardens. The hotel is small and peaceful, offering a perfect opportunity to observe local wildlife, or use as a base to explore further afield.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robnalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    92
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
185
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I stayed here during the summer time (Juen or July) with my husband, sister, brother, sis-in-law, mother and neice (6). Had a wonderful time visiting and hiking the area of Rio Celeste.
Staying at the lodge was fantastic. Christine and Franck made our stay very comfortable. They were very flexible about meals and had some very interesting conversations with us. My mother was able to include dinner every night (2-3 nights) at the lodge as part of our rate after negotiating with Christine.
The food was delicious and the accomodations were very comfortable. I loved the views from the casitas and the bathrooms were great!
Also a surprise plus was the jacuzzi that we took advantage of at night.
I would recommend this place hands down!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phivestarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Stayed at the Tenorio Lodge for 2 nights in early December 2010. The chalets are spectacular (recent 4-year old construction). Very large, super clean and beautifully decorated with panoramic windows from floor to ceiling. The dressing room/bathroom area is huge and modern. Given that there are only 8 chalets altogether, the dinner menu is limited to one choice but it was excellent both times. Breakfast is OK with fresh fruit and home made bread. The trip to Rio Celeste is long and bumpy but well worth it. The lunch that is included with the tour is also very nice, served at the end of the tour in a small restaurant at the entrance of the park. Like all meals in Costa Rica, simple but always well prepared with fresh ingredients. Overall, the Tenorio Lodge was the best surprise of our trip to CR. The grounds are impeccable and you can watch all sorts of colourful birds from Christine's bird feeders.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadstariders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF, CA
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

Christine is great! Friendly and happy to help. The Rooms are great. The basic breakfast is yumm - she makes her own jelly. Don't recommend the dinner.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Policy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Segundo, California
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Stayed with my husband at the Tenario Lodge for 2 nights. Clean, modern rooms with great views. I could have stayed in bed and enjoyed the view all day if I could. There are lots of birds - we even saw 4 toucans in a tree. Breakfast was nice and also had dinner which was delicious.
This hotel was MUCH nicer than the Helconia Hotel. We stayed there for one night as I wanted to check it out after all my research. I will add my review for that hotel on TA as well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toptan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This is a lovely site facing the cloud covered mountain and volcano Tenorio. The grounds are meticuliously designed for visual pleasure. The accomodations are spacious and admit the views of mountains. Breakfast os a wonderful fruit bowl and homemade bread. Dinners are reflective of cosmopolitan menues utilizing local recipes and produce.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My wife and I extended our Costa Rica trip in January 2010 so we could visit this lodge and hike the Rio Celeste trail. I don’t understand why more people aren’t reviewing this great place! We only had time to stay one night, but we are so glad we were able to visit Tenorio Lodge! The pictures, while pretty, do not do this place justice!! The lodge is only about 2-3 years old. The room had a spa-like smell and feel. The grounds (and the views) were absolutely gorgeous! The owners were very nice and made us feel like we were at home. We used the hot tub that evening (we wish we would have gone in the hot tubs while it was still light to enjoy the views). The weather was probably low 80’s during the day, and maybe high 60’s at night - which was perfect! The whole experience was so relaxing, I just wish we had the time to stay another night or two. The price was beyond reasonable for what you get!

The Lodge was about an hour and a half drive (or less) from Liberia Airport. However, it felt like we were a world away! We were able to get drinks and snacks in town (less than 5 minutes down the road). The drive to Rio Celeste was a little challenging since we did not have a 4WD vehicle (the last 11km is unpaved, and that section took us 45 minutes!). But the hike was well worth the challenge of getting there (and the drive was an experience in itself…we managed to escape with zero flat tires!). However, if you can, I would recommend a 4WD (again - not necessary, but it would cut your trip to Rio Celeste in half…at least), or perhaps book a guided tour with the Lodge and they will drive you there (note that you definitely do not need a 4WD to get to Tenorio Lodge - the entire route from Liberia is paved…you just need to watch out for potholes along the way).

I could not believe how blue the Rio Celeste water actually was. I thought some of the pictures online had to have been enhanced, but it looked even more amazing in person! Also keep in mind - even though we visited during Costa Rica’s dry season, it was raining a little during the rainforest hike (not too hard or too much - off and on followed by sun) - but bring appropriate clothing and shoes. The hike was very muddy, even in dry season. We didn’t get any rain at Tenorio Lodge, the clouds seemed to just linger over the volcanoes (which seems typical in Costa Rica).

I would without a doubt recommend Tenorio Lodge to anyone wanting to have a relaxing getaway with one of the most beautiful hikes nearby!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jddutk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijagua de Upala
6.3 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
785 reviews
3.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
648 reviews
2.1 mi away
Heliconias Lodge
Heliconias Lodge
#4 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,308 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casitas Tenorio B&B
Casitas Tenorio B&B
#1 of 8 in Bijagua de Upala
519 reviews
12.1 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenorio Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenorio Lodge

Property: Tenorio Lodge
Address: Camino del retiro, Bijagua de Upala 21301, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bijagua de Upala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bijagua de Upala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenorio Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the Tenorio and Miravalles volcanoes at an altitude of 1,640 ft, each one of our 12 bungalows has an exceptional view towards the Tenorio volcano. Rooms are spacious, elegant, and perfectly set out for your greatest comfort. Built on our 17 acres property, in the middle of Heliconias gardens, of fruit trees and tropical vegetation surrounding two natural ponds, the Lodge was designed to offer its guests quietness, relaxation, and serenity. In this peaceful environment, along our trails, you will observe hundreds of birds, learn about native trees or take a dip in one of our two red cedar hot tubs. Among the activities we suggest, you should visit the heart of the Tenorio Volcano's National Park, the "Rio Celeste", well known for its astonishing and enchanting turquoise-blue colour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tenorio Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenorio Lodge Costa Rica/Bijagua De Upala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing