We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning views”
Review of Sol Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Banyuls-sur-mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sol Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banyuls-sur-mer
Reviewed 31 July 2013

good hotel, high above the town, but good access down steps to harbour. Tougher on way back up! Hotel room is very clean, maybe a little tired in places, but they are working on it. We stay there when visiting family in the town.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Pitball2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Sol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We only stayed one night and did not spend a lot time in the room which worked out good. Per other suggestions we booked a room with a view which was on the second floor. We arrived early afternoon and the hallway and staircase was absolutely too dark to find your way. We finally found light switches as we walked up to our room. Overall room is in desperate need of an update. The bathroom sink had no counter so no place to put toiletries. Toilet sat so close to bidet that when sitting my knees hit it (I'm 5'3"). Towel was so rough that when I first used it I thought I had accidentally grabbed the floor mat. The view was great and we weren't bothered by road noise. For one night it is ok but the price was a bit high for such a dated facility,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pima41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My girlfriend and I were a bit astonished by the many negative reviews of this modest but clean family hotel. True, the rooms lack a bit of human technology (there are exactly zero electricity sockets in the bathroom) but the air conditioning was among the best I have ever seen (and not heard) in a hotel room. The in other reviews often cited sound pollution from the road in front of the hotel was completely absent, thanks to the double windows. The staff was friendly, the breakfast ok (albeit not really inspired). Price/quality of this hotel is excellent, especially given the outrageous rates of other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kurtzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had to stay in Banuyls for business, this is a place a very pretty mediterranean port but with no descent hotels ! This one is very mediocre and does not merit it's 3*** the rooms are very basic, the bathroom even worst... Bad taste and no hot water... The bed is covered with a plastic sheet, luckily it was not too hot outside, but in the middle ofthe summer this cover would feel like a sauna... Breakfast very basic and serve in the hall dining area with no style at all... We do not recommend this hotel... He receptionist was nice though...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermeireF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotel was simple, clean and had a beautiful view of the sea with the morning sun rising above the ocean. It lies just a 5 min. walk from the centre of Banyuls. A main road in front of the hotel can make it noisy in the summer, though. The bed was too hard for us, there were small things not working or partly falling apart which can be irritating. The breakfast was good. All in all, not a bad experience but not excellent either.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragnhild A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel. It was clean and simple and have no real complaints, I believe the owners are slowly upgrading the place. The staff were friendly and helpful if a little pushy about using the resaurant next door, this we declined as it appeared over-priced, however not having tested it we could be doing it a disservice. I had read some criticisms about the breakfasts but we found these to be fine, on a par with most you would get in France. A note of caution you are given a card with the hotel code for coming in late at night, remember to take it with you, we forgot about this and went out one night to find ourselves locked out, fortunately the adjoining restaurant was still open so we managed to get the code or would have had to spend an uncomfortable night in the car.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank catnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Emeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyuls-sur-mer
1.9 mi away
Cote Thalasso Banyuls sur Mer
Cote Thalasso Banyuls sur Mer
#2 of 3 in Banyuls-sur-mer
406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Catalan
Hotel le Catalan
#1 of 3 in Banyuls-sur-mer
216 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Collioure Port Vendres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
564 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Madeloc
Hotel Madeloc
#1 of 16 in Collioure
570 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Le Cottage
Hotel Le Cottage
#2 of 21 in Argeles-sur-Mer
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Hotel

Address: 114 Lieu Dit le Cap Doune, 66650 Banyuls-sur-mer, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Pyrenees-Orientales > Banyuls-sur-mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Banyuls-sur-mer
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing