We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, good food, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel ARA
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwijndrecht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We bought a last minute deal for 110 euro, breakfast and dinner incl. the 3 course dinner was really good, not too much not too little just right. In the morning one can go for a run - it is really nice surroundings next to the channels.
2 minor details: the spa area is really only a sauna and a swimming pool, nothing more. Fitness area very modern tough. 'Garden view' room is more 'parking view', especially in the first floor.
Occasion to have some quality time for 2. Would go again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Liliute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

I stayed there one week for business (a training to be more specific). It's probably the most peaceful place I have seen. Bright light rooms with view of a canal hosting long cargo ships and small boats as well. All surroundings are green grass which is very beautiful and quiet. You can hire a bike and go to the closest town in 15-20minutes ride. I must say it was not the most appropriate place for me if the training was not in that hotel. Because I would like to see the country since this was my first visit. I have seen almost nowhere because it's far from the city. On the other hand, it may be a good option for a romantic gateway or if you need some space to clear your mind. Room are very large having balcony and a nice and large bath tub. Hotel may have 4*s but it's restaurant deserves 5*. The food was fantastic. I never did eat outside. I tried to have as much as I can there.

Room Tip: You can pick this for a romantic gateway or to have some space to clear your mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is located off the beaten path for sure, but in a beautiful location right along the river "Oude Maas" in Zwijndrecht, Netherlands. I stayed there for 4 nights late May 2013.
I arrived at the Amsterdam Airport very early (6 AM local time) in the morning from the US and was afraid that I would have to wait until about 2 or 3 PM before I could check-in.
I decided to give it a try and drove from Amsterdam to this hotel in Zwijndrecht, arriving at about 10 AM. I asked if I could perhaps check-in early since I was very tired after my overnight flight from the US to Amsterdam.
I was amazed by the fact that the answer was "of course"! They asked if I could wait for about 1/2 hour so that they could get the cleaning crew in the room to clean it up and indeed, within an half an hour, I was given the key to my room.
And all with a smile and very friendly and professional! And at no additional charge whatsoever! In addition, the ambiance, the food, the great coffee and breakfast served daily, are really very, very good. Overall; a GREAT stay! Could not have asked for more or better.
Thanks to all the staff at Van Der Valk ARA Hotel in making my stay there as good as it gets!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed at Hotel Ara this weekend on a break with my partner. I loved the decor of the place- modern and stylish...the rooms were spacious and big with large open plan bathrooms that were lovely! The wet room-style shower and bath area was a great touch.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much to ask- our waiter at dinner was lovely and very attentive.

The hotel had a mini-gym on the bottom floor which was great! Good equipment and perfect for a Saturday morning work out. The swimming pool was lovely, with sun loungers dotted around. There was a sauna and a sun-bed which made the experience a little more luxurious!!

We ate in the restaurant for dinner. Food was lovely, the large restaurant felt very modern and stylish which I liked. There was decking outside which gave views of the river which was also lovely.

All in all a fantastic trip, great hotel, amazing value for money. LOVED it- would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

In a rural location, but great value for money, excellent restaurant, and full leisure centre with Gym, Sauna and huge heated Pool.close to the main motorway, but rural enough just to sit by the river and watch the ships going by all day long. also lots of nice walks in the area too.

Hotel staff could not be more friendly, and nothing too much trouble for them to ensure you have a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Van der Valk Hotel Ara is quite isolated with nothing but nice walks and a local ferry to take you across the water to a small village, but we loved it!

Our room was large and minimalistic, but with a lovely bathroom fitted with a Shower (as well as a Bath) and comfortable beds, it all helped make our stay a memorable one. Away from the room, the hotel features a first class leisure centre with a large Pool, Gym and a Sauna with the only strange thing being the showers, which overlooked the pool and prevented you from having a proper clean up when you finished.

The Restaurant was a little expensive but extremely good quality and the bar meals were equally tasty (and unfortunately equally expensive). However, we would not have missed the experience for anything as the service was brilliant and the outlook fascinating (even better in Summer we would expect).

This was a great Hotel with the only drawback being that you really need a car to get anywhere, and it could have been even better if they had found a pianist to serenade us in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Would be hard to locate without a sat nav on arrival total tranquility room view over water was great extensive menu very clean excellent staff highly recommended would definately stay here again clean large bedroom with all facility's nice area to walk around after dinner excellent overall

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelinaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zwijndrecht
Stadsdriehoek
Mainport Hotel
Mainport Hotel
#3 of 55 in Rotterdam
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadshotel Woerden
#1 of 2 in Woerden
265 reviews
Apollo Hotel Papendrecht
#1 of 1 in Papendrecht
896 reviews
Carlton Beach
#1 of 24 in Scheveningen
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel ARA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel ARA

Address: Veerweg 10, 3336 LM Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Zwijndrecht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zwijndrecht
Price Range: £93 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel ARA 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ARA is a hidden treasure along the Oude Maas. It's a surprising location with a unique and fantastic aspect in a green environment and still only a 10 minutes trip from Dordrecht and Rotterdam. In all its diversity ARA offers you the perfect accommodation. Hotel ARA has more than 80 spacious hotel rooms available, of which 6 are splendid suites, all arranged very comfortably. 29 rooms have a magnificent view of the Oude Maas. For relaxation we offer you a large indoor swimming pool, sauna, sun bed and fitness area. You can make excellent trips close by on one of our rental bikes or jog kilometres along the many paths following the river or through the countryside. Next to the hotel there is a large parking lot with 240 free parking spaces. With its cosy appearance Hotel ARA's restaurant is the sparkling centre of the hotel. Our menu offers a large selection of dishes. We work according to traditional methods with each day fresh products. For groups of up to 35 people we have a 3 course menu with 5 selections of entrees and main courses. For the warmer months of the year we have available a very spacious patio with a stunning view of the Oude Maas. During good weather, lunch is always on the patio! Hotel ARA is located very centrally in nature at only 7 minutes from the A16. It is very accessible form Rotterdam (14 km), the Rotterdam-Den Haag airport (28 km), Dordrecht (9 km), and Breda (33 km). Hotel ARA is the ideal location for meetings, company events, parties, dinners, teambuilding sessions and trainings. No matter what your goal is, you can set it up in one of our 8 meeting spaces varying from 40 m2 up to 340 m2. Our largest hall has its own patio and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel ARA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Zwijndrecht
Van Der Valk Hotel ARA Zwijndrecht, South Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing