We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no reason to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“no reason to stay here”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I admit that there are worse hotels. This place wasn't dirty (apart from some mold stains on the bathroom tile), and it didn't feel unsafe. That said, there aren't worse hotels that I would actually stay at, hence the single star rating.

This place appears to be primarily a restaurant, a bar, and some gambling. The hotel part appears to be an afterthought, and it shows. If you're looking for the entrance to the hotel, don't bother - you have go through the bar to get in and to access the stairs to the rooms (no elevator). You'll also likely need to check in at the bar. The room hallway smelled strongly of cigarette smoke, and the room occasionally did as well despite the door and window being closed. The bathroom light and the main light in the room both didn't work. The window blind was broken. The laundry room down the hallway was very loud, and noise from the bar comes through into the rooms. The pillows were so thin I had to put two on top of each other (and there were only two in the room, so if you're not alone, good luck).

What makes this especially ridiculous is that there's no reason to stay here. Just across the bridge in Hobart is a fabulous four-star hotel that cost me $5 more per night (the Fountainside Hotel). Why did I not stay there again on my circuit around Tassie? Because I was stupidly trying to get closer to the airport (stupidly because the Beltana hotel isn't really even closer, despite being on the east side of the bridge).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank G6p6742m11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
9
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Dined at the Beltana last night after hearing many good reviews. Bookings are advised, it was full by the time I left. The Beltana has undergone an extensive makeover and it shows. The restaurant is clean, classy and comfortable, with great views. Wait staff were professional, friendly and provided great service, something that tends to be lacking in some places these days.

Entree was a simple warmed turkish bread with truffled butter and garlic butter. The bread had been half cut through which made the job of slicing piping hot bread much easier. Mains were Flinders Island Lamb Belly Noisette, served with roast vegetables. This was the winner for me, the lamb was falling apart. I think it might have been cooked sous vide, but its hard to say. A wonderful dish that i really enjoyed.

Despite being quite full, decided I must try a desert, went for Peanut butter ice cream bombe. Another classy, incredibly tasty dish.

Overall could not fault the location, food or service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Superb meals and great value! Service of staff, superb views from dining room and clean facilities. Both occasions we have dined there have been excellent. Whilst we have not stayed there if the rooms are up to the restaurant standard then it would be highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TelNin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

First time back since the Beltana was renovated and what a positive difference that has made. I highly recommend, for any past patrons or visitors to Hobart that enjoy quality food, to give it a go. We were very satisfied with the service and the quality of the food. Good presentation and ample servings. Prices are justified.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossnAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Our hosts recommended the Beltana hotel's restaurant. We walked down late on a Saturday afternoon to see if we could get a table. They were fully booked but made the effort to fit us in. This was our last dinner in Tassie and we had had some really good meals. Dinner here was among the best we had, fresh interesting and well cooked. The service was great and we thought dinner was good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Ontheroadagain2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tasmania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We are locals that can walk to the Beltana so were very pleased to hear that their newly renovated restaurant was very good. We have now been once with friends a few months back and twice in the last 3 weeks as a couple for a meals. Each time has been excellent. Service is prompt, we've now sampled a variety of meals, no complaints on any of them. Prices are all reasonable. Yes it's a different way of presenting a menu but it's not that hard to work out. I like that you also have some options if you want to call in and have a light lunch. It's been full every time we've gone and they've all been week nights. Keep this standard up and it will never be empty.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netteTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Great budget accommodation old but clean,good dinning room & bar food, great & friendly staff excellent location if your activities are in the Lindifarne area, good & quick acess to the airport & many, many tourist locations.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water, bridge & Mountain a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micheal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindisfarne
0.1 mi away
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
2.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Shoreline Hotel
Shoreline Hotel
#1 of 1 in Howrah
58 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#34 of 48 in Hobart
124 reviews
4.0 mi away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 48 in Hobart
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beltana Hotel-Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beltana Hotel-Motel

Property: Beltana Hotel-Motel
Address: 160 East Derwent Hwy, Lindisfarne, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Lindisfarne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beltana Hotel-Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Beltana Hotel-Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing