We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is a fine dividing line between "restored" and "tired"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“There is a fine dividing line between "restored" and "tired"”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Things did not look good as we arrived and parked. The parking area is beginning to be encroached by weeds and piles of dead leaves from last autumn, the grass has been left uncut for weeds and was a foot high, with the best weeds even higher. Later the view from the breakfast room was spoilt by weeds.

Our reception was fine, the room was fine, but everywhere I felt that maintenance was failing.

We saw no sign of any afternoon tea mentioned by another review, and there was no fire in the small lounge.

I booked it as it was near the airport, which indeed it is. There are a limited number of places to have dinner within walking distance - two

On balance, if we were in the area again , I would look further afield for accommodation. I rated it at 4 because most other reviewers liked it, and perhaps you would too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
78
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for four nights as part of our Tasmania holiday and what a very nice spot it was. Our hostess was very welcoming and showed us around before taking us to our room. Like the rest of the house, it was beautifully decorated and matched the theme and style of the property. The room was spotless.

The breakfasts are very nice, and can set you up for the day! Cereals, fruit, cheeses, muffins and bread, and then cooked bacon, sausages, beans and eggs as well. You wont go hungry in this place! Also there is a cookie jar next to the sitting room (a nice spot to chill out and has a computer that guests can use) that guests can help themselves to at any time. We were also told that afternoon gets put out around 1430, but we were never around to enjoy it.

I would suggest having a car for this property to make getting around easier as you are a little way from the city. No laundry services on site, but there is one about 5 minutes drive away (map in the room). Being in the suburbs, its a very quiet location, yet close enough to a main road that its not a hassle to get anywhere. The hostess can also recommend restaurants in the area or in the city, which can take the guess work out of finding a good eating place.

A very short walk leads you to a waterfront park so the kids can let off some steam, and there is also exercise gear in the park so the big kids can too.

All in all, very nice.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Linda Pearce Spa Suite, and after a hard day exploring it was very nice to slip int...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan_and_Ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a really nice B&B in a terrific location with very good service. I stayed for one night and will happily stay again. There are many of the extra little touches that you get in this kind of accommodation, like biscuits to have with a cup of tea or cofee and lollies in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked at last minute on the last night of our Tassie holiday. We were offered a choice of great rooms and were left to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet that this elegant house offers. We had a relaxing stay and would stay again. Thanks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MoiandMyls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had a beautiful night at this gracious B&B just 8 minutes away from the Hobart CBD.
Ours was a period room, very warm, comfortable and nice. Ensuite was tiny but suited our needs for one night. Breakfast was great and plentiful and I would highly recommend staying here away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Hobart.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiat957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights in this lovely old home. Our room was spacious, the staff attentive and we really loved the view across to Hobart and Mount Wellington. The breakfast was freshly cooked and a great way to start a day of exploring.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pricest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this beautiful old house, the family that run it couldn't have been more pleasant or accommodating.Very clean, welcoming establishment and the breakfasts would satisfy the heartiest of appetites. We thoroughly recommend a stay in this "olde world" guest house.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rsfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lindisfarne
0.1 mi away
Beltana Hotel-Motel
Beltana Hotel-Motel
#2 of 2 in Lindisfarne
45 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 48 in Hobart
1,226 reviews
3.0 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.6 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 20 Lowelly Rd, Lindisfarne, Clarence, Tasmania 7015, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Lindisfarne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lindisfarne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Orana House Heritage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orana Hotel Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing