We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palace of the Golden Horses
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Rowlin National Cricket Academy team were privilleged to stay at this hotel while on tour in Malaysia. Making contact and arranging our accommedation was easy on the net. Sixteen cricketers can be a handfull but the front manager, Winnie Leong was professional and precise in her actions in arranging our room allocation.The rooms were far more than we anticipated when comparing our earlier accommedation in Singapore.Rooms were receintly refurbished, clean and most comfortable.We made use of the swimming pool and found the gardens and surrounding area well kept. I do wish to note , the small coffee shop in the passage was an absulate winner for us. The cake was fresh and the choice limited but enough.The gentleman responsible for this coffee shop was efficient and has a personality to suit . Question, would I go back. Answer, Yes, See you next year Winnie.

Room Tip: Due to the size of the hotel, ask for the best available rooms, they are most helpfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    163
    140
    90
    83
See reviews for
217
185
36
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Its a nice big hotel with golden horses strewn everywhere. Eventhough my room was free of charge (complimentary from a health package) check-in time took 1 hour (and this was 4.00 pm on a Weekday). The room was spacious & comfortable, and huge bathroom with separate bathtub & shower. The buffet dinner spread at the Carousel restaurant was good,had a BBQ grill. But be sure to reserve a table or you would get a surly hostess,like in my case, who tried to turn us away by arguing I have to make reservation, pointing at my coupon, which to her embarrassment does not state "pls reserve",then blaming it on the reception who checked us in. She could've handled it better.But the hotel's overall service was courteous with greetings & thank you's. Closest place to shop is Mine's shopping centre. Other than that you need a car to get to Midvalley 15 mins away and KL city centre (20 mins). Rates start from RM300 and I wouldn't go if I had to pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurl_coyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stayed there last year. The place is amazing....super peaceful. The hotel must have been gorgeous a few years ago...but not it requires some serious maintenance. The buildings exterior is messed up....needs a paint job and the interiors also like the corridors. The rooms were decent but again everything requires attention and maintenance. The service was fluctuating....sometimes room service showed up on time....sometimes took forever.

I think if they redo the place and get more staff and advertise....it could be an excellent place!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penang
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

2nd trip to this place since april 11. The lobby is nice but the reception has only 1 pax working and the Q is long. Was served only after 30 minutes. Splawing place, full of greenery, and great place to relax.Passage way to the pool is inpassable when raining. The building looks run down and needed a fresh paint. Room is big and clean. Location overlook the main entrance of the hotel and ball room. For hotel guest,, they should allow us to take the short cut to Mines shopping mall instead of asking us to drive 1 big round to the hotel or visa versa. If security is the issue, the VVIP should employ personnal guard instead of closing the road and turn into gated communities.

Room Tip: request for a room near the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolcatPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel was beautiful but somehow i felt i was in a turf club surrounded by jockeys and horse owners & trainer. The hotel is very beautiful designed with many horse artifacts.

Our room was facing the Mines water park. Its a little inconvenient to go to KL centre from this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepitt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Good room size very spacious with private balcony and nice view overseeing the lake. Can tell that the room is newly refurbished. And I love the separate standing shower and bathtub.

Staff was very friendly. My request and check-in check-out was handled very promptly. Breakfast spread at Carousel Restaurant was fantastic, but I notice there were some guests lining-up for seats when the hotel was running high occupancy. Perhaps opening for more outlets during high occupancy for breakfast would be a great idea.

Overall, I had a good stay and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had a one night stay at this hotel and it was a magnificent experience except for the fact that the room we were given didnt have any running water. Whilst I asked management a few times to rectify this it just didn't happen so eventually I had to go down to reception and and complain in person, we were then moved to a much better room. All I wanted was running water and while the upgrade was appreciated if they had looked at the problem straight away I would not have had a problem. Having said that we would go back its like being in another era with the size and elegance of the place.
Getting a water taxi over the lake o the shopping precint was good fun, the breakfast was also reasonable but more aimed at the Aisian market (understandable considering the location ). There is a free shuttle bus that takes you into the heart of KL and is about 40 mins fom the airport. Also reasonably priced

Room Tip: Get a room looking over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sri Kembangan
1.3 mi away
Philea Mines Beach Resort
Philea Mines Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
18 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Cyberjaya
548 reviews
5.3 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#2 of 9 in Putrajaya
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mangga Hotel
Mangga Hotel
#2 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
14 reviews
7.2 mi away
Putrajaya Shangri-La
Putrajaya Shangri-La
#3 of 9 in Putrajaya
607 reviews
5.4 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Property: Palace of the Golden Horses
Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses
Palace Of The Golden Horses Malaysia/Sri Kembangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing