We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up-market change of pace” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palace of the Golden Horses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palace of the Golden Horses
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Adelaide
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Up-market change of pace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Palace of the Golden Horses is an opulent, luxury hotel, situated about 20 minutes from Kuala Lumpur city. We stayed there as part of a vacation club to which we belong. It has nearly 500 rooms, and is part of a 1000-acre campus. The extensive buffet breakfast was not included in our tariff. Meals are a little pricey by Asian standards, but not by western standards. Pool and gym are available. The building and fittings are grand, but some maintenance was lacking, and some public areas were not always cleaned well. Staff were always courteous and helpful. Biggest downside was that guests can only leave the premises by hotel shuttle (free, several times a day to the local (huge) Mines shopping centre and to KL city) or by taxi. Walking out is impossible: the only three exits are through a golf course (prohibited lest you be hit by a ball); through 'Mansion Park' (no exaggeration) for security reasons; or across an impossible-to-cross highway. Tariff was not high by western standards. 'Palace' is no exaggeration, either.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay here with us. We believe that it is only through guest feedback that we are able to continue to improve on our services and facilities.

Nevertheless, we would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you have experienced. Nevertheless, we have taken immediate actions from your comments and rest assures the comments on cleanliness of the public area and maintenance work would be our main focus for improving.

Once again, our apologies for the inconvenience caused and we thank you for your support and patronage. At the same time we look forward to welcoming you to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    156
    132
    84
    75
See reviews for
197
177
36
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka Division, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

A super hotel to stay. Just wow view. Rooms are Eligence. Lobby is too big to explore. Food is owe some. I liked the boat trip. Service staff is excellent. I like the golden horses idols around. Surround view is cool.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jyotiagarwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palace of the Golden Horses. We appreciate your positive comment about overall stay experience and thanks for sharing your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I write this from the perspective of a non-Asian Time Share user, making the distinction as during the week I stayed there, I only saw 5 other non Asians. Time Share evidently always pretty well full, but hotel low occupancy. frankly, I don't know how they can maintain 6 restaurants.
This property is simply magnificent. It has 472 rooms/suites of which just under 100 are Time Share. The rooms are spacious, clean & well appointed. from a Kiwi point of view, and I suspect most Westerners, the balcony, although small needs a little table and two chairs. Sitting outside with a drink etc. I used an upturned rubbish bin.
Brilliant pool, only really utilised in the weekend.
For myself, there is no 'Bar' as such, a place where you can just go chill out with a drink and maybe watch some TV sport.
On the Interval International website and even in the in-room compendium, we are told the hotel has a convenience store. Not true as it has closed permanently!!! However, free shuttle takes you to Mines Shopping Mall just 6 minutes away and here is an excellent supermarket.
Staff are all extremely respectful, polite and wonderfully helpful.
If sight seeing, avoid the city centre between 7 & 10am and 3.30 & 7pm - the traffic is awful and it took me an hour to travel 4km after a full day tour.
So, a very fine place to stay, but not a tourist spot.

Room Tip: All good, but overlooking the pool is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MervRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Palace Of The Golden Horses had lived up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt thanks for your feedback.

In another note, the convenience store has not closed permanently and we are planning to reopen again. For your info, we have lobby lounge namely Grand Salon for guests to enjoy the beverages.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses sometime in the near future.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the grounds manicured. From the moment you are greeted by the gentlemen opening the enormous front doors for you to enter, you feel like you are in the lap of luxury. I think the most outstanding asset of this hotel over others is the customer service that is provided. I have seen one negative review of this hotel related to one of the staff members of the hotel. My experience over my 10 day stay was the complete opposite. I found that any request was addressed IMMEDIATELY and resolved to my satisfaction. I have not found such a level of service from all hotel employees at even more expensive hotels.
If you do not have your own car, the hotel also provides transportation to a trendy shopping area that is nearby. There are several dining options for dinner and the daily breakfast buffet is outstanding, with food options available for a wide variety of ethnicities.
If you have driven to the hotel, there is ample parking available on the grounds.
This is definitely a hotel that I would choose to stay in again.

Room Tip: One side is considered "water view" , which many choose. However, we enjoyed the view ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Palace of the Golden Horses. We appreciate your positive comment about overall stay experience and thanks for sharing your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Rude and unhelpful receptionist first of all...problem with reservation... Instead of helping to rectified the situation by a simple phone call to the office.. She insisted I walk there and get it sorted out myself. She threw tantrum right infront of me. I told her off and I demanded to see the manager. She ignored me without apologising and another staff came to serve me. Was later then told by the manager that she was new.
When we finally checked in to the room, the room is old and smelly...and worse were used shampoo bottle was left in our bathroom and TV was not working. Unfinished paint jobs were spotted every where. We checked out on the spot. Very disappointed experience. And they claimed themselves a 5 star hotel. What a customer service!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kensliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience when you stayed with us in January 2014. I appreciate, you had taken the time to share your experiences and am very sorry that the services rendered and our facilities were not up to the expectation.

Rest assured that this is not standard of service that the hotel is renowned for and I have personally taken the time to discuss the issues highlighted with my team members. For your information, during your visit the hotel is undergoing external building painting and upgrading works and has completed in the month of May 2014, where guest can experience the fresh and new of the external. In a another note, we will look into improvising the customer service and working with our Training Department to providing memorable experiences for all guests in the Palace of the Golden Horses.

Once again, our sincerest apologies and we hope that despite your disappointment, the hotel will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the near future.

Redards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sri Kembangan hotels

Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

To me it's a legendary place by itself. Standing gigantically outstanding in the Mines Resort City with it's Malaysian-Moorish architecture, Palace of the Golden Horses is just a few minutes drive from the Malaysia Capital City of Kuala Lumpur. Spending my vacation here gives me the air of superiority. Excellent reception and excellent services from the staff was important to me to start the holiday. Basement parking rather spacious and is not far from the lobby area. Rooms are clean and bedding comfortable. Bathrooms are to my expectation - clean and spacious.

Looking from the balcony you will see nice green around. Man-made lakes with water taxis are available for your Mines Cruise within the Mines Resort City and you can even go shopping to the nearest shopping mall by cruising.

Traditional Healthcare Services at the Mines Wellness Hotel across the lake is available too. This include packages such as Body Herbal, Aromatherapy, Herbal Facial Therapy, and Revitalizing therapies.

For golf enthusiasts, the Mines Resort and Golf Club is located nearby and has been played by Tiger Woods.

Dining experience at the Carousel Cafe and a cup of tea at the Grand Salon, was something worth to remember.

It's a World Class Award winning Luxury Hotel!

Room Tip: The ones facing the lakes are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puteriandalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Warmest greeting from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for the compliments about our services and overall hotel facilities. Your positive encouragement would definitely spur our team onto greater heights.

I personally thank you for your recommendation of the hotel and our offerings. We greatly appreciate your support and look forward to your return hopefully sometime soon.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dago on holidays
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

had one of the best Cantonese meals ever, we were not sure what to order but ,the staff especially Benjamin the manager suggested may be one of the best scallop meals we have ever tasted.
I could not recommend this restaurant ,without thanking them for one of our best experiences .
the restaurant has only been recently renovated, has the surrounding to match the staff talents.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ffilia45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGHMines, Manager at Palace of the Golden Horses, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Warmest Greetings from Palace of the Golden Horses!

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay here with us.

We are delighted that your dining experience here with us at the Palace Of The Golden Horses had lived up to your expectations and we would like to take this opportunity to express our heartfelt thanks for your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your support and patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Palace Of The Golden Horses.

Best regards,
Francis Alberto
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sri Kembangan
1.2 mi away
Philea Mines Beach Resort
Philea Mines Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
10.4 mi away
Pullman Putrajaya Lakeside
9.0 mi away
Cyberview Resort & Spa
Cyberview Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Cyberjaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
Putrajaya Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Putrajaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Bangi-Putrajaya
0.9 mi away
Mangga Hotel
Mangga Hotel
#2 of 11 in Sri Kembangan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace of the Golden Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace of the Golden Horses

Property: Palace of the Golden Horses
Address: Jalan Kuda Emas | Mines Resort City, Sri Kembangan 43300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Selangor > Petaling District > Sri Kembangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sri Kembangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace of the Golden Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TravelUp so you can book your Palace of the Golden Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Of The Golden Horses Hotel Sri Kembangan
Palace Golden Horses
Palace Of The Golden Horses Malaysia/Sri Kembangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing