We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Owens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burgess Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. Owens
Ranked #2 of 3 Burgess Hill B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

This was booked by a company in working for

What an amazing place,for once I'm flash I didn't have an ensuite room

The roll top bath was a welcome pleasure after a long cold day working on site

Single room that is immaculate ,with everything a person needs (sans wc)

Superb through out

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank malcolm g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We found this gem of a B and B on the Burgess Hill tourist information site. What a find. Having read the other reviews I can only confirm what has already been said. The accommodation is immaculately clean. Beautiful bedding, and tastefully decorated. Cooked breakfast was excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend to anyone. Beautiful !
Kate and George - Sunderland

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryb1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here with Neville and Jennifer twice last year on my own. Their rooms are lovely. Place is spotless. Neville does the cooking and is the only place I've stayed at that has ever offered me two eggs for breakfast! Breakfasts are lovely. They are both VERY helpful and friendly. Never mind Brighton stop HERE! Only 3 mins walk to station and buses that will take you to Brighton and other places. You could not do better than St. Owens. (Also has a very good fish and chip shop in the town!) Neville and Jennifer are the best hosts you could want.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JollyJaneSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for 2 nights last Friday and Saturday having decided to visit the area for the last weekend of the "Brighton and Hove Artists Open Houses" - an annual event which can also be highly recommended. We decided to stay outside of Brighton due to the traffic/parking problems that can arise at Bank Holidays and chose St. Owens having read previous Tripadvisor reviews and also noted its handy location for Burgess Hill railway station. It really surpassed our expectations. The house itself is a delight, beautifully furnished and maintained with every requirement taken care of including fresh milk and complimentary bottled water in a personal fridge. All the techy stuff worked fine (including WiFi) and the bed could not have been more comfortable. We had the double ensuite room (shower only) but the separate bathroom available for the other rooms looked splendid. Neville was an excellent host and his freshly cooked breakfasts a delight. With its location on a very pleasant tree lined road and with good off road parking (we parked up on Friday and used the train from then on) we really don't have any negative comments to make about this quality B&B .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville B, Owner at St. Owens, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your review and in particular for emphasising the advantages of staying in our B&B, whilst attending Brighton Festival events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nontron, France
Level Contributor
226 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed one night on our way back to France.
This B&B is situated on a quiet road just off the town centre.
Neville our host was very welcoming.
The house is a beautifully restored Victorian? house with original features.
Everything had been thought of. WiFi (didn't really reach our room well but in the guests lounge was perfect.) Wireless headphones available if one of the couple didn't want to listen to the TV.
A torch, lots of reading lights and a selection of books, even an electric under-blanket for those cold nights! There was a folder with info about the local area and restaurants which was very helpful.
We had the twin room which was not en-suite but as we were the only guests this certainly wasn't a problem. Plenty of off road parking.
The locally sourced breakfast was cooked and served by Neville and was excellent. A sparkling white damask cloth on the table.
We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville B, Owner at St. Owens, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and for identifying the problem with the weakness of the WI-FI. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oeiras, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

I don't have a single "don't" to report. This B&B is great value for money, being very close from Gatwick Airport by train (about 20 mins) followed by a short walk (5 mins) is perfect for those that arrive or will be using public transportation during the stay, but also provides parking if you arrive by car.

It will be easy to travel to London is just about (45 min, by train) or to the Brighton (30 mins, by train) or just use the nearby motorway. If your purpose is traveling to any equestrian event at Hickstead it will be also great using the bus that runs every hour from the train station (takes about 15 mins to Hickstead).

Stayed in the double en-suite room which is absolutely lovely. Well furbished, very clean and very comfy, and also with a good working space, TV, DVD. I also took a look at double (shared bathroom) and it really looked very nice and clean.

There is a small fridge that all rooms can use, and also a coffee/tea machine and delicious cookies available in every room.
The breakfast is very tasty, and we can choose between the typical English full breakfast and a lighter one (my option) with tasty fresh fruit, cereals and yogurt.

If you have some free time you can take a look on the beautiful kitchen garden in the backyard, take a look at all the beautiful flowers and well cared plants.
The owners are really nice and are available to help. I really hope to have the chance to stay there in the future.

Being a small village Burgess Hill presents some nice restaurants that will do it for a short stay. There’s a good choice of pubs, Indian and Italian restaurants and also a very good supermarket where we can find tasty food to take away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank photo-rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgess Hill
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Burgess Hill Hotel
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haywards Heath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
7.5 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Owens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Owens

Property: St. Owens
Address: 11 Silverdale Road, Burgess Hill RH15 0ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Burgess Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Burgess Hill
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
St. Owens Burgess Hill, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing