We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, stylish little independent resturant”

Sussex Steak HouseSussex Steak House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sussex Steak House is the locally-owned steak house restaurant which aims to serve delicious food with great service in a warm and comfortable setting If you're on the lookout for a place that serves large portions of great traditional food, you'll surely find it here! Our Main Menu features steak & ribs, extends to chicken, fresh fish and vegetarian dishes, with a great range of starters, dessert Menu and Kids Menu. The restaurant is also available for private functions seven days a week, please contact us for details.
Bighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, stylish little independent resturant”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I'd been meaning to visit this place since I moved to the town almost a year before.

From the outside it seems to be one of the few restaurants in Burgess hill that cares about how it presents itself and looks like the type of place I'd be happy going for any occasion be it Family birthday, A Date or just a average meal out.

It looks both stylish and relaxed at the same time.

While they had run out of the particular steak i wanted to order I won't hold this against them and was more than happy with their suggestion of an alternative which was juicy, succulent and not at all tough.

potentially the service could have been a bit quicker as i had to go up to the front desk to ask to pay because they were taking too long to come over but the staff were friendly and cheerful overall.

I'll defiantly go back again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phil_haw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    23
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Another visit tonight as I fancied something different tasty and at a reasonable price
All three came in starter was not on the menu but I fancied a Caesar salad and a Chicken Kiev to follow both were great along with a lovely glass of red life feels pretty good right now
Service is good to so I look forward to another visit soon

Helpful?
Thank TonyHilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A decent private owned Steak House”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

There should be more of these as opposed to chain restaurants. Really nice place, great food good sizes and friendly staff.
Clean place and well cooked food.
Price average for UK. Felt like being in America.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very tasty Steaks!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Dropped in for a meal last week after work, went for a simple starter Prawn Cocktail and then a medium rare rib eye steak which was excellent, plenty of flavour well presented and the sides were beautiful.
Tasty desert to finish and all went down with a fine glass of Spanish Rioja.

One of the benefits of working away on your own does mean these treats are affordable so I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyHilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“could do better”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It was our first time here, 7.30 booking, took about 15 minutes for someone to take our order for drinks, then we had a starter, garlic bread with cheese which we waited quite a while for other tables who ordered after us where getting their starters first which seemed a bit odd as it was just Garlic bread for the two of us. I ordered a combo, 4oz steak and prawns, the steak was great but the prawns were over done on one side and chewy. We had to ask for my coleslaw that the menu stated came with the combo and it was in the tiniest dish ever seen, such a disappointing portion!!
We ordered strawberry sundae's but they did not charge us for them as they had run out of meringue. Left there at 10.10pm, over 2.5 hours for a three course meal. Staff were friendly but they should be aware that other people are waiting to be served before they have lots of chit chat. We are going back to the beafeater better portions and not much difference in price!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susiew1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sussex Steak HouseSussex Steak House also viewed

Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Burgess Hill, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing