We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Somme Tour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Albert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Albert
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Somme Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived last Friday with a group of 15 mates to tour the battlefields...Spotlessly clean, great staff..really made a fuss of us...even when we did get a tiny bit loud and no arguments about using the breakfast supplies to make up rolls for the rest of the day...bonus :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    223
    59
    17
    10
See reviews for
106
159
41
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel doesn't look great from the outside, very utilitarian and uninteresting, but has all that one would want from a hotel base for a visit to the Battlefields of the Somme. The reception staff were very welcoming and as we were a little early and our room was not quite ready they supplied us with complementary drinks. The room was of adequate size. It didn't have a desk, dressing table, minibar or wardrobe with door but it had hanging space and shelves, a TV and very comfortable bed, in other words it had all that we needed.The ensuite was excellent with all we needed. There was no fancy shampoo, body lotion or shower gel in tiny bottles that are never replaced but soap in dispensers by the sink and in the shower - how sensible. The shower itself was as good as any we have experienced. Everything worked!
The restaurant meals were very good and the breakfasts were more than adequate. The coffee tasted like coffee and the fruit juices tasted of fruit and not reconstituted powder. The best thing was the staff. They were keen to speak in English -not always the case in French hotels. I wanted to use my schoolboy French and they were happy to help me out when grammar or vocabulary let me down. I have never stayed in an Ibis before. If they all are as good as this I will use them again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyDSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooball Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We only stayed 1 night and thought the location might be a little unattractive but its not bad at all. It is great to have the parking so convenient and after a long day touring very pleasant to have the beautifully comfortable bed and clean and simple interior. The shower and toilet felt a little like getting into the Tardis but all worked well - great shower - TV etc was find too but not much English. We ate dinner and breakfast there and thought they were good pub meals. It was possible to have a pre-dinner drink outside in the sun. The staff were helpful and obviously well set up for people doing WWI type tours. The height of the dining tables was quite low compared to the chairs provided but we would be very happy to come back here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CowTails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my eldest son. Our rooms were fine, beds comfortable, bathroom very nice as well. Very clean and dust free
I must admit that the food although very nice. There wasn't a great choice. And I would say that the breakfast is overpriced. But at the end of the day this is my 2nd stay and I'm going back to stay later this year. But there are other eateries around the area. We ate at the hotel so that my son could have a alcoholic drink plus it's in an excellent location. O and the staf are very nice as well

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West London/Surrey
Level Contributor
287 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A great base for visiting the battlefields and memorials in the area. The hotel is outside the centre of Albert, but that is not necesarily a negative, the large and free car park is a huge bonus, especially because parking in the centre of Albert seemed to be extremely difficult, lots of narrow little roads with a large amount of traffic driving around. The walk to and from the centre is not ideal, it takes about 30 minutes, and the initial part close to the hotel is not really pedestrian friendly.

The negative comments about the evening meals seem a little unfair, sure, it is not gourmet dining, but the food you get is absolutely fine. We did find the restaurant and the hotel in general, quite understaffed during the evening, two girls working the reception and the bar/restaurant between them, plus one guy in the kitchen. And one of the girls speaking virtually zero English, not ideal with the majority of visitors seeming to be English. Also the menu was only in French. Having said that, all of the staff here are hard working, friendly and helpful, so top marks for that.

The guestroom is standard Ibis, modern and functional, very clean, but no frills. Absolutely fine for a couple of nights. One disappointing omission was a room safe.

Overall I made a very good choice picking this hotel, and I recommend it 100%, you will be fine staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Better than expected accommodation,unfairly, negative reviews ref bathroom and room size had worried me but we were all pleasantly surprised. Perfect location for battlefield trip, evening meals were good, although breakfast was perhaps over priced....a good excuse to go and buy extra provisions for the day's picnic!! Clean. Comfortable beds. Plenty of hot water, I have known hotels where hot water runs out if more than 6 rooms take a shower, no problem here!
The staff were very pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our small group of four ate at the same time as group of 40 youngsters and we did not feel at all neglected. We will be back, although I may take a travel kettle for tea in the room to keep the de-hydrated driver happy!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macfio34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic accommodation and meals exceeded expectations. Large comfortable rooms and the beds allowed us a great nights sleep required on a busy itinerary. Quiet hotel, friendly service and perfect for our select small group tour accommodation requirements for Australians. Pleasant walk to restaurants, mini art and central shopping. We will be back soon. Thank you for such wonderful service.

Room Tip: Upper floors- 3 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise6403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
1.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#3 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
19.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Albert

Property: Ibis Albert
Address: Parc d'Activite Henri Potez, 80300 Albert, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Albert 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing