We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base to visit the Somme battlefield sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Albert

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Albert
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A good base to visit the Somme battlefield sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We spent a night here whilst visiting key sites of the Somme and we were not disappointed. The hotel is easy to find on the main road into Albert from the east, about a mile from the centre. Therfe is plenty of parking space available. We found he staff to be very friendly and helpful, with no language barrier. The hotel is very clean and ths bed was very comfortable. The air conditioning worked well. For our evening meal we drove into Albert and had an enjoyable meal at the Corner Pub. We did have the buffet breafast next morning which was enjoyable. We would happily stay here again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    227
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
107
161
41
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is central to the battlefields, a little on the expensive side for what it is, but it is clean and air conditioned. Drinks are expensive and the menu is not inspiring. I drove into Albert and ate there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ww1guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

When touring the Somme region we find getting a reasonable priced hotel in a good location not always easy. We stayed at the Ibis on the ring road at Albert and found it was ideally situated for most of the local historic sites of WW1. The only difficulty is that it is about a mile or so from the town and is OK if you take the car and drive to the restaurants in the town centre - it is just that too far to walk after a relaxing meal and drinks. There is a restaurant and bar at the hotel with a good menu and moderately priced but we did not want always to eat there. That having been said we had an excellent stay, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all spoke English. The rooms were very clean and tidy and functional although as you expect at a budget hotel just basic fittings. The room size was very good and a nice large shower. All the furniture was spotless and the beds very comfortable with crisp white sheets. Strangely though, there was no hand towel supplied but only two bath towels (one each). The hotel and surroundings were very quiet giving an excellent nights sleep although we stayed over a three day public holiday period. We were very pleased to have discovered the IBIS Albert and definitely would stay again, room rates are excellent for the area.

Room Tip: Take a travel kettle and makings as one is not supplied. All rooms appeared to be quiet as it was so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony504146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

A friend and I stayed here for our tour of the Somme battlefields. Very conviently located with access to the town of Albert itself as well as the sites. Clean and comfortable rooms and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJC67A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night on our way back from a family holiday. Booked a three bed room to accommodate our toddler. Room was spacious, clean and beds very comfy. Service was very welcoming and fluent English spoken. Enjoyed the continental breakfast.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My son, aged 13 and I stayed for three nights at the Ibis Hotel at Albert, 20th, 21st and 22nd July, 2014.

The hotel was easy to find, clean, functional and quiet. The food was good and the breakfast in particular was very good value.

What particularly impressed us however, was the friendliness, good humour and helpful attitude of the staff. They made our stay particularly pleasant!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Picardie
Hotel Royal Picardie
#3 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
19.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Albert

Property: Ibis Albert
Address: Parc d'Activite Henri Potez, 80300 Albert, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Albert 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing