We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strange facade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal Picardie
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“strange facade”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we stayed for one night in this strange looking hotel, you certainly can't miss it from the road. The interior is welcoming and the staff are pleasant, although there only seemed to one person on duty on the Sunday evening when we arrived. She quickly informed us that the restaurant was closed and reception would close at 23.00. We also found out on our return from an evening visit to Albert, that the bar closed at 23.00 too! Slightly annoying when you fancy a coffee and nightcap. The room was small and I would not recommend more than two to a room, even though there is a sofa bed in most rooms. The bathroom and toilet facilities are adequate but need updating as does some of the decor. Air conditioning was effective and welcome.
Breakfast next morning, in the rather grand restaurant setting, was a continental buffet. Plenty to eat, good coffee, ham, cheese and boil your own eggs. Obviously Baguettes and pastries are excellent!
There were more staff around, on the Monday and a very pleasant, helpful Dutch receptionist on duty.
This hotel is a good base to explore all the local WW1 sites and memorials.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DANNY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    89
    28
    4
    3
See reviews for
38
80
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we only spent one night here during our tour of France, with hindsight we would have liked more time to spend exploring the beautiful countryside and poignant landscape. Cannot fault the hotel, we liked the rather unusual exterior & the large lobby and bar area, the room was not big and a little old-fashioned in decor but the beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning welcome! The rooms could do with a little bit of redecoration though. The staff are extremely friendly & helpful and their spoken English is top-notch - a lot better than my French!! We fell in love with the surrounding area, were overwhelmed after visiting the Great War memorial sites such as Beaumont-Hamel and the Lochnagar Crater, we loved the little town of Albert and it's brilliant Museum of The Somme 1916. We will definitely return as soon as we can to see more of Picardy, and would definitely stay at the BW again, next time we will partake of their amazing-looking breakfast!! Do stay here, it really is great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keriza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed here for a week and still have mixed feelings about the hotel; especially when I received back from them a response after submitting feedback on the best western site: that response was in fact rude.
why the mixed feelings: the location is ok, food (dinner and breakfast) ok, staff ok, plenty of parking (even though not really guarded or secured), bathroom ok
but the room (even while having a room for three according to them) was only just satisfying, I think the walls were made of cardboard and could hear the anoying reception Phone in my room.
as others stated over here: on sunday I could not get any dinner (first time for me in a hotel !)
furthermore on sunday when I went to town, I discovered there had been some kind of carnival, would have been nice if the hotel guests knew about this?
on saturday evening I still pity the guy who was serving dinner, serving the lounge bar and handling the Phone all at the same time: good job man!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB3304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

When all other local BW hotels are full, this is a reasonable alternative, like in our case. Since it is a one storey hotel there is no elevator. The rooms are small but clean. The extra bed in our room was of poor quality composed of two matresses only. The restaurant area is huge and not cosy. The staff is very helpful indeed, but during our short stay they were few to keep up a BW standard.

Given the sober outlook of Albert as a blue collar city the hotel fits in this picture quite well. The new hotel owner plans to overhaul this place soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornelis n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ampleforth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a perfectly adequate base in which to explore the WWI battlefields. We arrived on a Sunday and were dissapointed to find that no food was being served that evening. We embarked to the town and so met up with every other hotel guest!
Breakfast was adequate without being exciting. No porridge. Not one of the best examples of best Western and more expensive than the majority of hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitbag49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

A really pleasant surprise. The hotel is in a great location, out of town but in easy walking distance (approx 0.5 miles) of the centre. We just had the basic room which was immaculately clean and had everything we needed for our two night stay. On the first night we ate in restaurant. We had two very good main courses and fortunately chose to share a starter (a proscuitto salad) which was massive and then a cheese board which was equally large. Before dinner we had a couple of drinks, as the sun was out we took these outside. We were shortly followed by the ever attentive staff who brought us out a small table and some olives and tapanade. Would definately recommend this hotel, in fact we are going back later this year

Room Tip: W just had a 'basic' room which was more than adequate for our two night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliottofhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here for a WW1 visit, a good location with easy access. The staff were extremely helpful, the food was excellent, nicely presented and tasting wonderful. The rooms were clean, great shower, and very comfortable if a little tired. I would have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ac840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.8 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
106 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
16.5 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Picardie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Picardie

Property: Hotel Royal Picardie
Address: Avenue du General Leclerc, 80300 Albert, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Picardie 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Picardie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Picardie
Best Western Albert
Best Western Amiens
Amiens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing