We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal Picardie
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having previously stayed in a Best Western hotel near Newmarket that can only be described as the "worst western" we were a bit apprehensive staying at another, however we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel was very clean, the rooms were comfortable, the service was helpful and friendly. We stayed one night and were in a party of 6, after a full day visiting the battlefields and museums we enjoyed a very good evening meal, the portions were substantial, really well cooked and presented. Breakfast was also tasty and fresh. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

This 3 star hotel has no pretensions except for the facade at the front entrance. Don't expect a mini bar, fridge or kettle. Our room was small but clean and in fact had been freshly painted. Its about a kilometre from the centre of Albert, has its own restaurant that was fine for a nights meal. Breakfast was average. Plenty of free off street parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights last month when we toured The Somme battlefields. Although a quiet town, we found Albert very convenient for our purpose. Expecting the usual impersonal chain hotel service, we were impressed the moment we walked through the front door and just felt it was going to be a good experience. The owner was extremely polite and helpful from the start, our room was beautiful and the service excellent. We ate in the dining room each night simply because the food was excellent (her husband the chef). We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great hotel when you are traveling the battlefields of the Great War. Nice rooms with comfortable bed and a sofa. Great breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Big parking. Quiet neighborhood which is nice during the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordRoad1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I've stayed at this hotel before and decided to make a small diversion on a long trip to use it as a rest stop this time. As before, the service was excellent and very friendly. They really do go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, although sound deadening between rooms is not 100%. But if you have a nightcap in the bar, the generous measures help you sleep well!! A lovely little town with several good places to eat. Well worth a stopover.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed one night at the Best Western in Albert, about 20 mins walk into town to get evening meal, which was a bit of a problem finding somewhere but the room was very comfortable. Dogs barking over the road when we went to bed, but earplugs soon sorted that out, beds very comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Breakfast at 8am was the best, with everything you could think of without cooked breakfast, there was fresh fruit, yoghurt, pancakes, different breads, boiled eggs, meats cheese etc everything was very fresh and very good quality. Eggs were as though came from my hens at home, no uk supermarket rubbish type. Top marks for breakfast!

Room Tip: We had room 11, which apparently was much better than brothers, who had room 23, tiny beds, and smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninnyGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just returned from an enjoyable two night stay at hotel. The staff could not be friendlier and made us very welcome. The meals were very enjoyable excellent quality French cuisine. The location is out of town with no restaurants within walking distance but the hotel bar and restaurant compensated. My only criticism is more staff needed as one poor soul trying to cover bar and restaurant and a British sky channel would have been appreciated in the bedroom as CNN news Chanel dire!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Vickytrainer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
11.9 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
121 reviews
16.5 mi away
Grand Hotel De L'Univers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Picardie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Picardie

Address: Avenue du General Leclerc, 80300 Albert, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Picardie 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal Picardie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Picardie
Best Western Albert
Best Western Amiens
Amiens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing