We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and genuine staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Picardie
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really excellent staff, rooms variable quality. I shared a room with my sister, recently refurbished, excellent, but my father's room was rather tired and a little small. That being said, they were so helpful, good breakfast and a great location for the Somme Battlefields. I do recommend Olivier Dirson from Chemins d'histoire for a personal tour, he is really very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Working_Mum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

I would like to meet whoever designed and built this building and try to understand what he thought he was trying achieve, did he know he was in Northern France? That aside it is perfectly fine. Some of the rooms have been refurbished, they are good, some are a bit tired.

Huge restaurant with a good menu and perfectly good food for dinner and breakfast.

Owners are keen, helpful and enthusiastic you could not ask for more.

Possibly a but pricey but it is in top tourist area.

We would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here like so many to tour the battle fields round about. The check in was quick and welcoming with quirky key fobs - cuddly owls. The room was small but clean and there was a good bath and separate toilet - handy for three people.

The people running the establishment were very helpful, we asked for extra towels and milk and they were handed over with a smile.

The food on offer is not cheap, but the quality is amazing. I had duck and my wife had lamb stew which we both polished off. The revelation however was my fussy teen daughter who polished off salmon in a pepper sauce, something she has never done before. The puddings were all wonderful and it was a meal to remember.

This is not mini bar land, but if you want a place to stay away from the 'chains' then I would recommend that you give this hotel a go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huxleypiguik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Having previously stayed in a Best Western hotel near Newmarket that can only be described as the "worst western" we were a bit apprehensive staying at another, however we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel was very clean, the rooms were comfortable, the service was helpful and friendly. We stayed one night and were in a party of 6, after a full day visiting the battlefields and museums we enjoyed a very good evening meal, the portions were substantial, really well cooked and presented. Breakfast was also tasty and fresh. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This 3 star hotel has no pretensions except for the facade at the front entrance. Don't expect a mini bar, fridge or kettle. Our room was small but clean and in fact had been freshly painted. Its about a kilometre from the centre of Albert, has its own restaurant that was fine for a nights meal. Breakfast was average. Plenty of free off street parking.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francophilestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights last month when we toured The Somme battlefields. Although a quiet town, we found Albert very convenient for our purpose. Expecting the usual impersonal chain hotel service, we were impressed the moment we walked through the front door and just felt it was going to be a good experience. The owner was extremely polite and helpful from the start, our room was beautiful and the service excellent. We ate in the dining room each night simply because the food was excellent (her husband the chef). We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great hotel when you are traveling the battlefields of the Great War. Nice rooms with comfortable bed and a sofa. Great breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Big parking. Quiet neighborhood which is nice during the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordRoad1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.8 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
124 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel le Prieure
Hotel le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Rancourt
79 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mercure Amiens Cathedrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Picardie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Picardie

Address: Avenue du General Leclerc, 80300 Albert, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range: £67 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Picardie 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal Picardie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Picardie
Best Western Albert
Best Western Amiens
Amiens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing