We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good 3 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Picardie
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Certificate of Excellence
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good 3 Star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Called in on the off chance having been let down by the standard and sight of the chateau we had booked during the week of the Somme ceremonies. To my surprise and much relief they had a vacancy which Deborah on reception volunteered to show me. To be frank after what we had experienced earlier I think I would have taken almost anything. However I was more than pleased at the room. The room was of a 3 star standard and could probably do with a little updating but was clean and as well appointed as you could wish for. The bed and bedding was of a good standard and we felt we could pad around in bare feet without any concern. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and very helpful. Their English was good especially Deborah who spoke excellent English. We ate 2 evening meals in the restaurant from the menu which was the same each evening but was sufficient to be able to vary for ourselves and could easily have taken the starter for a main course if we had thought about it before. Breakfast was the usual buffet style and provided a wide variety to suit all tastes. Although our room was at the front of the hotel there was no problem with noise. We would not hesitate in booking this hotel again which despite the rather odd exterior is excellent in every other way.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    83
    25
    4
    3
See reviews for
35
74
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed overnight as a stop over to Germany, from the outside the hotel looks like something out of Beirut, inside its a different story. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar is well stocked with a good selection of wine and beer, we where planning on eating out, but ate at the hotel, food was excellent. Breakfast next morning was also very good. All in a great location if you're visiting the WWI sights or just passing through.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTFSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very clean and well presented. The only down side was that I specifically chose twin beds as we were a group of motorcyclists on our way back from Italy. The rooms had one double bed and one sofa type bed so be aware if you book twin bedded rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dij260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were four blokes on motorcycles visiting the Somme battlefields. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly lady receptionist, who immediately provided our group with helpful information and guides for the battlefields. We were also allowed to park up under a shelter at the side of the hotel ,which although not secure, did provide some shelter from the elements (and we did have Somme rain).
Our two twin rooms were placed opposite each other and although not large, were well appointed, nicely and comfortably furnished and en suite (with separate toilet), with television and tea making. They were also spotlessly clean.
My room was to the front of the building and was air conditioned, presumably as the main road ran outside (ie. road noise - open window?). Do not be put off as I did not notice any traffic noise, even with the window open (and I live in a quiet cul-de-sac at home).
The Hotel is 1000 metres from the centre of Albert and it is an easy walk into the town.
Although we did not eat at the hotel the menu looked good and maybe we should have given it a go. We preferred a beer in town and a bistro meal! Might have been different with the wife in tow!
The breakfasts are very good and well worth the price with a great selection of fruit, cereal, breads, boiled eggs, cold meats, cheese, etc and as much fresh coffee as you like.
I would highly recommend this hotel for our purpose (battlefield tour) or couples, etc.
The only down side is that I am not aware of any out door seating arrangements, which in nice weather it would have been pleasant to sit out with a cold beer!

Room Tip: The rooms on the road side appeared to be air-conditioned (which was effective) and opened onto a fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polo-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really excellent staff, rooms variable quality. I shared a room with my sister, recently refurbished, excellent, but my father's room was rather tired and a little small. That being said, they were so helpful, good breakfast and a great location for the Somme Battlefields. I do recommend Olivier Dirson from Chemins d'histoire for a personal tour, he is really very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Working_Mum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
346 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I would like to meet whoever designed and built this building and try to understand what he thought he was trying achieve, did he know he was in Northern France? That aside it is perfectly fine. Some of the rooms have been refurbished, they are good, some are a bit tired.

Huge restaurant with a good menu and perfectly good food for dinner and breakfast.

Owners are keen, helpful and enthusiastic you could not ask for more.

Possibly a but pricey but it is in top tourist area.

We would have no hesitation in returning.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here like so many to tour the battle fields round about. The check in was quick and welcoming with quirky key fobs - cuddly owls. The room was small but clean and there was a good bath and separate toilet - handy for three people.

The people running the establishment were very helpful, we asked for extra towels and milk and they were handed over with a smile.

The food on offer is not cheap, but the quality is amazing. I had duck and my wife had lamb stew which we both polished off. The revelation however was my fussy teen daughter who polished off salmon in a pepper sauce, something she has never done before. The puddings were all wonderful and it was a meal to remember.

This is not mini bar land, but if you want a place to stay away from the 'chains' then I would recommend that you give this hotel a go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huxleypiguik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Albert
1.8 mi away
Ibis Albert
Ibis Albert
#1 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#4 of 4 in Albert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Basilique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#1 of 1 in Bapaume
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Prieure
16.6 mi away
Hotel Marotte
Hotel Marotte
#6 of 20 in Amiens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Picardie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Picardie

Property: Hotel Royal Picardie
Address: Avenue du General Leclerc, 80300 Albert, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Royal Picardie)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Somme > Albert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Albert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Picardie 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal Picardie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Royal Picardie
Best Western Albert
Best Western Amiens
Amiens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing