We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe del Nord

Cafe del Nord
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Fornells
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats, View, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Finding good restaurants in Menorca is never easy - many are overpriced and disappointing. We were excited to read the reviews of this restaurant, which is quite close to our villa, but it failed to live up to expectations. Paella was nowhere up to the standard we expect, a piece of hake was small and undercooked, starters of gazpacho, croquettes and gambas were ok but not great. The restaurant does have a seemingly good value set lunch of 3 courses for under 15 euros but with food this disappointing we won't be going back. Service started friendly enough but tailed off to non-existent.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolynEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    111
    41
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Very Very Good, we ate her several times and were blown away by the food and service on all ocasions. i would recommend this to anybody that goes. Excellent.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crichton85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

This is an excellent restaurant and I would certainly recommend it. Very spacious and clean with stunning views of sunset over the nearby beach. The menu is has a great variety - being meat eaters we did not try the fish although I'm sure it would be excellent. The chateaubriand was delicious, and menu del dia proved to be really good value with generous portions. The staff are extremely accommodating and friendly - my daughter did not like her starter so they offered her another choice. Having tried some of the other restaurants in Fornells I would say that this is much better - definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank screen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a nice restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Cafe del Nord offers an excellent a la carte and menu del dia (14.95 euros) with great fish and meat dishes. The views are excellent from the elevated terrace position above Playas Fornells. Portions are generous, even on the menu del dia, there is a good wine list, and the coffee is great (Americano is a double espresso with an additional small jug of hot water for you to dilute to taste). The place is spotless, food is served piping hot and our experience of the service (on two occasions) was first class. Even when the restaurant filled up rapidly, they seemed to cope well, although one or two tables had a little more time to admire the sunset than they needed.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the owner was really helpful and attentive without being intrusive.. All the ingredients used in their dishes seemed first class and the quality of the cooking and presentation matched anything we had in the nearby Fornells (whose restaurants tend to have a bigger reputation). Great food, nice setting and easy roadside parking.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UJMBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot plates, fresh vegetables and superb cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

Elevated situation in Playas de Fornells with view over Cala Tirant beach and countryside beyond, and with problem-free parking within 50 metres, this restaurant provides a comprehensive menu to suit most tastes. One can dine in the open air (with or without roof over) or inside should you wish, and there is always a warm welcome from Paco, the owner, who speaks excellent english. The 'a la carte' menu offers a good range of starters and main courses (including fresh fish and lobster), all excellently cooked, plus a good choice of their own sweets. The menu of the day at 14.95 euros (2010) for 3 courses is good value. The service at busy times may not be brisk but the quality of food makes up for this. With piping hot plates, fresh vegetables and superb cooking, this restaurant is a must.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe del Nord also viewed

Fornells, Minorca
Fornells, Minorca
 
Fornells, Minorca
Fornells, Minorca
 
Fornells, Minorca
Fornells, Minorca
 

Been to Cafe del Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing