We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Theresa P”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carema Garden Village
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Theresa P”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Family of 5, children aged 13 and 12. We have just returned from a two week holiday at this complex which was enjoyed by all. We were based on the Aldea complex which suited our family much better as our children are a little older. The pool was within easy access from our apartment and the kids had hours of fun playing in it. it was never overcrowded and sun loungers were often available. Over the two week period the cleaners came in every day and were more than helpful even if there was a language barrier. Fresh towels were left almost daily and when asked to change the beds the cleaners didn't hesitate, they were extremely pleasant. The apartment facilities were very basic and we did have to buy a few utensils such as a bread knife and bottle opener, only to be expected with such a high turnover of people during the main holiday season. An improvement in the Aldea complex would be to install Air Conditioning. Beds were really comfortable, even the pull out bed. Beach within a 5 minute walk was nice, a short walk over the steps you will find the nicer part of the beach. We were self catering and we ventured out to a couple of the restaurants which are off the complex set at the top of the hill which were all nice.

Room Tip: Air conditioning a must in July and August. Corner suites are large and sunny Take note of recent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxWeinbinder, Director General at Carema Garden Village, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Theresa P,

Sunny greetings from Carema Aldea Resort.

We feel really satisfied when our guests are happy of being here with us, especially if they want to share their opinion. Our complex is composed of two parts, Carema Club and Carema Aldea; actually Aldea is the more peaceful area and it is really appreciate by family with children. The main difference is the air conditioning; Aldea is equipped with fans as described on our website. Regarding some missing utensils in the kitchenette, we are sorry you did not refer it to our reception in order to provide them as soon as possible. If our guests have any problems, they can feel free to pass by the reception to fix the situation.

We are glad you are pleased with our cleaning service, facilities and our location.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you once again.

Best Regards

Max Weinbinder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    95
    45
    10
    4
See reviews for
137
70
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I don't normally write reviews but felt this was needed. I booked this hotel at the beginning if the year and started reading reviews after having already booked. I have to say I was concerned before I arrived but I needn't have been. Yes the apartment was basic and could maybe do with updating but that was it. The staff were excellent at all times and so very helpful. The room was cleaned everyday which I wasn't expecting. The entertainment team worked very hard and have helped to make sure that my three children had the best holiday ever. I will definitely be returning and would happily recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Read all of the reviews before deciding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxWeinbinder, Director General at Carema Garden Village, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tracy R,
Thank you very much to complete this kind review about Carema Aldea Playa.
We are happy you decided to suggest our resort, despite of some negative reviews that are affecting our Resort. Sometimes we suffer from some bad reviews and it is very hard to read so many differences by guests who stayed here at the same time; for one hand we have somebody deeply satisfied but for the other hand we have somebody else totally discouraged.
Unfortunately guest can have a lack of information about our resort, or guest can have higher expectation although we provide a detailed description on our web page.

I will share your lovely impression with all our staff members, especially with our housekeeping department and entertainment team.

Hope to see you soon,

Best Regards
Max Weinbinder,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I don't usually write reviews but we did a last minute booking for a family holiday here and after reading the reviews I was confused by the mixed reception this place got.
I went all inclusive for a week and have a 3 year old and a 5 year old and have to say it's the best overall holiday we have had in Europe as a family.
The downs - all inclusive really isn't. You are allowed as many little plastic beakers of anything local between 10am and 10 PM. The beer is good but no pints or even halves so if you want a boozy one this is not the place.
The food is excellent quality, very tasty and if you like Italian or Spanish food then the variety is good, also lots of other basic food tastes like chips and chicken nuggets etc for the kids but these tend to be the same every day.
Also to me all inclusive means eating pretty much when you like but actually the restaurant times are specific and a little late if you have younger kids but certainly manageable.
The pros - they are so cantered on the family environment and making sure that the kids are happy that you can truly relax, to the point where I felt guilty cause my two were so self sufficient. The staff here are great and so friendly, mostly European university students on a summer working break but great fun and really look after your kids well.
There is a splash park on site and all inclusive members are free from 11am to 5pm every day which is great!!!
Finally the beach is about 30 metres down a path from the hotel and is truly beautiful.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sph1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxWeinbinder, Director General at Carema Garden Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing such a nice opinion here in TripAdvisor. We feel really glad you could enjoy here at Carema Aldea Playa with your family. As you say, our resort is the right place to relax and enjoy your holiday at any age. Our facilities are child friendly and our international team does its best to make your stay comfortable.
Our All Inclusive offers the possibility to get drinks from 10:00 am to 10:00 pm as it is stipulated in the contracts we have with all tour operators we work with. Surely we are happy you liked our beer Estrella Dahm, which is the best beer from Catalunya.
We are satisfied you could share your lovely impression, and we will wait you here once more.
Best Regards,

Max Weinbinder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 30 May 2015 for a week, lovely place, I love Memorca, ideal for myself, daughter and my three grandaughters, twins aged 1 and one aged 8 years. Apartment was basic but cleaned every day, food lovely, only downside was being all inclusive you expect snacks in between meal times, this didn't happen, and Its a long time from lunch until 7.30pm for evening meals for the children, having said that the variety of meals and choice was very good. Entertainment was extremely good for children. However this finished at 10pm the same time as all inclusive did, which made the children want to stay so you had to buy drinks after 10pm. All in all was a lovely holiday and very enjoyable for the kids, definitely worth it if you have young family

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaxWeinbinder, Director General at Carema Garden Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Kim,
Thank you very much for writing your impression about our Carema Aldea Playa. We are truly satisfied that your family and you enjoyed your whole holiday here in Menorca. We are glad you appreciate our food selection and our entertainment team.
“Definitely worth it if you have young family” is one of best sentence we could read.
We hope to see you next time,
Sunny greetings
Max Weinbinder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Very nice cosy place in Fornells,Place is clean and staff is friendlyNice experience , well recommended.
It is very close to cap de Cavalleria e does have another beach very close by.
A scooter is recommended

Room Tip: go for the rooms near the beach as they are the sunniest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walterl756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I travelled with my boyfriend this summer, and I am very happy I chose this hotel. The hotel is very clean, the food is excellent and it is so close to the beach!
I really recommend it as I've been disappointed by a lot of hotels in the past but this one was really perfect and matched our expectations!
You should go!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LARA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This part of Menorca is simply stunning, we have just returned from an all inclusive stay at the Adela Playa Apartments, a family of four with (10yr & 18yr old)and as we had not been to Menorca before and this was going to be a last holiday before my 18yr old would be doing his own thing in Ibiza! next year, we thought it would be a good thing to push the boat out and go all inclusive. The apartments are in a beautiful location close the beaches, apartments were YES basic but did what we wanted it to do, hot water was plentiful and beds comfortable, there was a constant supply of clean towels pretty much on a daily basis, pools were great and everywhere was very clean. As we had looked at reviews from other's with a few negative remarks, we were a little apprehensive at first, but we are so glad we did, peoples expectations vary greatly! but this area of Menorca is quiet so if you are looking for a lively setting then this will not be for you.
As mentioned by other reviews, English families are very few and far between, which was lovely, I didn't want to sit and listen to English arguing about who was getting the next round of drinks in, the entertainment is centred around the Italian traveller but still played English music around poolside on occasions. The town of Fornells just a few miles out is a must to visit with lovely harbour and cafe's to enjoy the mandatory jug of Sangria and buses run every 1/2hr or so form the resort. The food at the resort! well, we cannot fault it, we enjoyed all the meals that we ate and food was of plenty, as we did not use it all the time we found being all inclusive a bit restricting with the set meal times, we did eat out. Staff are very friendly and helpful too. The Joker bar next to the apartments served good food and prices were not too expensive. We will hire a car next time as this is a must if you want to see more of the island, buses are frequent but can be expensive in my opinion, it cost us E18.20 to got to Ciutadella for four one way E36.40 return! car hire per day is not much more. We intend to return to this beautiful island very soon and to this resort (maybe look at the Carema Villas on the hillside) as we want to see more of what Menorca has to offer, this Island is unspoilt and retains it's Spanish identity with very friendly people and stunning countryside.
Can't wait o go back..

Room Tip: Go for the Aldea Playa rather than the Camera club, you will be closer to the beaches, if you can ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornells
0.4 mi away
Tramontana Park
Tramontana Park
#2 of 5 in Fornells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
10.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 8 in Cala Galdana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
4.3 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Royal Son Bou Family Club
9.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
17.0 mi away
Zafiro
Zafiro
#3 of 13 in Cala'n Bosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carema Garden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carema Garden Village

Property: Carema Garden Village
Address: Carrer de Baix S/N | Urbanizacion Playas de Fornells, 07748 Fornells, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Fornells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carema Garden Village 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Carema Garden Village is located on the sea front with a direct access to Cala Tirant, in Playas de Fornells in the Marine Reserve of Menorca's North coast also natural Biosphere Re-serve. Carema Garden Village is situated just 4km away from the charming fisherman village of Fornells. Cala Tirant is at the starting point of the GR223 Cami de Cavalls between the 4th stage arrival and 5th stage departure. There is also a diving center with a direct access to Carema Garden Village, which is therefore an ideal place to stay for active tourism and nature lovers, settled in a unique place. Apartments Carema Garden Village apartments have been newly renovated in 2016. They offer basic studio apartments and apartments with one or two bedrooms. They are equipped with bathroom, TV, free Wifi connection, safe (additional charge), kitchenette and terrace or balcony. The cleaning crew comes to the apartments three times a week. Towels for swimming pool and beach can be supplied upon request and deposit. Facilities The resort has 2 swimming pools and a free public parking. The reception is 50m away, set at Aparthotel Carema Club Resort. For the All Inclusive based clients: they will count on the Aparthotel Carema Club Resort buffet style restaurant "Vistamar", renovated in 2016 with daily show cooking, a homemade pizza corner, a sea views terrace and a buffet suitable for kids. Are also available two "a la Carte" restaurants: the steakhouse Marlet Grill BBQ and the Marlet Playa (Mediterranean cuisine). Board Basis Carema Garden Village Apartments can be booked as Self Catering, Half Board Plus (drinks included) or All Inclusive. Breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner are served at Aparthotel Carema Club Resort buffet style restaurant "Vistamar", located 50m away. Drinks are included in all basis through dispenser. Late Breakfast is available from 11am to 12 pm at Marlet Playa restaurant. All Inclusive customers have available our Dinner Around service, with the option to enjoy our lunch menu at Marlet Grill BBQ and dinner menu at Marlet Playa (upon request and availability). Also in the Aparthotel Carema Club Resort All Inclusive pool bar are served national alcoholic beverages and non-alcoholic beverages, hot dogs and ice creams from 10am to 10'30 pm. Entertainment & Activities Carema Garden Village clients will have available all Aparthotel Carema Club Resort services such as the Splash Park: a 2000m2 water park, a guaranteed fun for children with a pirate boat and 3 water slides. It is also included an entertainment and activities program for all ages: Mini Club (4-8 years), Junior Club (9-12 years) and for adults too with a Playground area, Tennis & Basketball court, Climbing wall, Beach volley and Mini golf. Upon request are available packs combining multi adventures activities, aquatic sports and excursions managed by extern companies on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Onthebeach, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carema Garden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carema Aldea Playa Hotel Mercadal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing