We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday 2014”
Review of Tramontana Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tramontana Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family holiday 2014”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our family stayed in this Aparthotel Complex between 8th-22nd July this year. This was our first 'abroad' holiday. The complex is built into the side of a rock so as a result there are lots of steps everywhere -which is fine if you have no mobility problems. The apartment was very clean but basic, and my eldest son had to sleep on the day bed in the lounge as there was not enough room in the bedrooms to accommodate all 7 of us. The beds were rock hard and as a result I had to lift the cushion mattress off the other day bed and take it up to my room each night just to be able to sleep. Cleaning staff came in very day to freshen up bathrooms and bedrooms -that could not be faulted in any way. However the facilities provided to cook for a family of seven 'self-catering' were not adequate. A three ring stove top, no kettle, microwave, no oven and no work surface to speak of didn't make the job easy. As our children are between 11-17 years old, we were hoping for some activities in the area to avail of -there were none! There is a lovely gazebo on the coast side of the complex which provided a lovely space to sit and read at night, there is an air-hockey, table-tennis and pool table. The swimming pool at the complex is lovely and helped to stave off boredom but other evening entertainment was practically non-existent. -it was a long 2 weeks! We hired a car for 4 days which was very reasonable cost-wise approximately £35 per day. We were able to see about the island a bit. The 2 main towns on the island Cuitadella and Mahon were explored twice each and a bit of shopping was done but I have 3 boys and a husband who did not want to shop so there wasn't much for them to do except sit in a cafe or bar and play cards! Also the 'siesta' time between 2-5pm curtailed activities somewhat -so just to inform other travellers so they can plan accordingly. Bus travel takes ages and the journey from Fornells to Mahon which was only 18k took 1hr and 15 mins!
All in all my overall opinion of Menorca would be that it is too quiet for our family and the Tramontanas complex too remote unless you hire a car. The weather was lovely and if you are an older couple taking a quiet 5day break full board this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the pool or reception then you have fewer steps to negotiate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComitasHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tramontana Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Louise,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to contact us. We will take note of your coments an we will keep on working on improving our service.

Thank you again for this feed back information.

BEST REGARDS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    116
    52
    15
    13
See reviews for
154
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Simply the best hotel we, as a family, have ever stayed at. As a family of 5 we were amazed at the size of our 6-bed apartment, overlooking stunning views of the on-your-doorstep sea and the pool.

We usually just 'get-by' with all-inclusive food at hotels but the food here was fantastic. For a small-ish restaurant, there was an ideal selection of different foods - always a counter of food ideal for children (chips, nuggets, pizza, spaghetti, potato croquets, burgers etc. There was always a selection of at least 2 meats - and the stewed beef/veal was always delicious with a portion of rice - and a fish dish, as well as a soup of the day - you really are spoiled for choice! Even better, was the selection of fresh fruits for dessert, as well as the gorgeous cakes with the staff surprising with a different flavour daily, stunning lemon mouse and the odd, but delicious, choice of baked apples and sometimes pears! Lunch was no-less of a selection, but mostly with more cold meats, with a selection of salad, fruits and bread available as well. Breakfast was what you expect, but delicious all the same, with a variety of eggs, bacon, beans, toast, yoghurts, pastries, cereals etc. Aside from the food itself, we loved the long opening hours for meal times, and we noticed that the chefs constantly replenished food so that it was kept warm, fresh and well stocked up so nobody missed out - even at 9.50 when the restaurant was due to close at 10! Staff were always there to clean and replace serving areas to ensure the dining experience was spotless. Juice and coffee machines were accessible all day as well as the bar which stocked the REAL DEAL fizzy drinks on pump as well as Estrella beer - which can also be hard to find in all-inclusive restaurants. The local brands of substitutes for Malibu, Rum etc. were decent and also included with the all-inclusive wristband. Ice creams were also available on the all-inclusive too for taking down to the pool. The dining area was well air-conditioned with the opportunity to also eat outside on a terrace overlooking both the pool and the sea. Most unusual, was the waiter service, where they would come and get you your drinks whilst you ate, which is something I have never experienced in an all inclusive resort before.

The resort itself is fairly quiet, but a 5 minute walk up the road are a few bars, restaurants and supermarkets. A slightly longer walk of about 15-20 minutes will get you to the local beach - which was stunning with a shallow, calm sea - and kayaks, pedalows etc to rent out, where you will also find a few more restaurants/bars, a fashion boutique and a larger supermarket. If you want a bit more to look at, the friendly staff at reception will order you a taxi, in which I would recommend the town of Fornells, which is basically a little fishing village. Taxis can however hold only a maximum of 4 passengers, which was a pain as we then had to order 2, but at 7.20 for a single trip into Fornells, it wasn't the end of the world. Here there were plenty of restaurants, shops and even a weekly market during the evening. The boats alone were enough to look at. Additionally, there are representatives of a car hire company available to chat to during the day, with cars of all different sizes available at reasonable rates. We used ours to visit other resorts such as Son Parc and Son Bou, as well as a water park which provided a few extra interesting days outside of the hotel - but again the process was really easy all thanks to the helpful, friendly staff.

Cleaners were on-site from the early hours ensuring the hotel itself was spotless. Maids cleaned our apartment each day, exchanged our towels on request and made the bed daily. Beds were firm but comfortable and each main room was fitted with a fan, which could potentially do with being upgraded to full air-con as sea-facing rooms were often quite hot. Bathrooms were reasonable but we had awkward showers with ever-changing water temperatures, so would advise supervising children at all times.

Entertainment was the only other real issue, but if you plan nights out around the bar, or just prefer to go to bed earlier, then it's ideal for you. There was no 'schedule' for entertainment when we went, but Reception would advertise if there was. Of our 11 nights we had 4 nights of entertainment - an average 70s tribute group, Flamenco music, Flamenco dancing which was brilliant and an easy-listening music duo. There were drawings on the wall suggesting a kids club, but this was never in operation so is maybe only offered in quieter months. The pool was small but big enough and provided plenty of sun-loungers and space around the pool area, with an additional higher level for sunbathing. There was an outdoor terrace with a lovely overlook of the sea, which had steps leading down to a shallow end and a few rocks - perfect for snorkelling adults but wouldn't suggest for children as rocks were sharp. The terrace was also filled with sun-loungers for those who want to sunbathe with a view of the sea and cliffs. The beautiful canopy area was also ideal for afternoon reading or chilling with a cocktail in the evening.

Last, but not least, I need to comment on the importance of the staff at this complex, and there ability to help and entertain everyone. Anna (daytime) and Carlos (evenings) were particularly helpful during our stay - they spoke so enthusiastically about the hotel and were extremely helpful with booking taxis and giving us advice about the local area and recommendations on where to visit. The senior male member of staff who worked during the nights - sorry we do not know your name - was particularly helpful as he opened the restaurant early for us so we could have breakfast before being picked up by our transfer. The restaurant and bar staff were brilliant with their effortless banter with everyone and ability to entertain the staff. They were constantly ensuring everything was ok, seeing to the cleanliness of the area and fulfilling any request - such as asking for a pot of strawberry jam at breakfast! Juan, although unable to speak much English was always entertaining and there to help you. The taller waitress was really helpful when I needed to carry a number of drinks down to the pool - she even brand some down herself to prevent me from tripping down the stairs. She was so friendly that she stopped to say hello on her one day off when we saw each other at the beach. Although I cannot remember the other names of the staff, they all treated us with the exact same enthusiasm and friendliness.

Mouloud was by far the most memorable member of staff - from greeting us every night to constant banter with the children. He was SO friendly and easy to chat to I would be happy to consider him a friend. If Mouloud does decide to leave Tramontana after his college course, I imagine he will be sadly missed! He ran the cocktail bar downstairs during the evening (cocktails were priced at 6.00 each and were also individually very delicious) giving him a chance to charm the guests all the more. He even ensured for us that we could use the restaurant early in the morning when we, sadly, departed the Tramontana. MOULOUD YOU SIMPLY MAKE THE TRAMONTANA THE AMAZING RESORT IT IS.

I could simply go on, and on....

It is the only hotel we have left with deep sadness, and the only hotel we would book again in a heart beat. On our last night, we we to say goodbye and goodnight to all of the staff members individually, where they reciprocated with hugs, kisses, hand-shakes etc. I swear even they looked emotional and were clearly appreciative of politeness. This is the only place where we have thoroughly bid farewell to the staff and just shows how excellent the service they gave us was. Only things which would improve the hotel are perhaps an onsite shop/supermarket, frequent entertainment and slight improvements in the air-con for rooms. WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO ANYONE.

Room Tip: All rooms involve some amount of stairs, so bear in mind accessibility. Rooms facing sea tend to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComitasHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tramontana Park, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jane,

It is fantastic to know that you and your family enjoyed so much your stay at Tramontana Park and our All Inclusive program. We feel specially proud when we hear that kids enjoyed their stay with us.
We will personally pass your remarks to Anna, Carlos, Juan, Mouloud and the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

BEST REGARDS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lovely quiet place to have a family holiday. We came with three children and they really loved the pool. It was great having a ground floor apartment at the pool (which we requested) as we knew there would be a lot of stairs at this complex. We enjoyed the selection of food. As previous guests have commented, Mouloud was a star, always smiling, and helpful. We took a bus from right outside the hotel to Mahon. As we were a party of 5 we could not get a taxi as we normally would, as the maximum they hold is 4. Mahon is definitely worth a visit by bus. It costs approx €3 each pp one way, and is about 40 mins by bus. It has a large port and old Spanish charm. We took a train ride from the square which lasted an hour and was very enjoyable. A great way to see all the sights without dragging tired children around. Just make sure not to visit during their afternoon siesta as shops close and it becomes a ghost town. (Don't go there between 2pm-6pm.) The nearby beach is really nice. It is a ten minute walk from the hotel. In terms of nightlife, or entertainment at night, it is limited, however we kept the kids busy during the day and at night my partner and i were more than happy to sit out on the terrace of our apartment, and enjoy a few classes of wine when the kids were in bed. There was a little kids entertainer available one of the evenings, who played some music for them, but other than that i wish there had of been a proper kids club available. That would have been super.
All in all it was a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannecath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComitasHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tramontana Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Leannecath,

We are pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Regarding your comments about the kids club , we would like you to know that we have a customer care and quality issues weekly meeting to review feed back like this. In our next meeting we will be addressing the comments that you made.

We would like to thank you for taking the time to contact us and we looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.

BEST REGARDS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I booked 3 nights here in July 2014, as it was a convenient overflow for a larger family holiday locally (not enough beds in the apartment). Fortunately, we did not need to spend much time at the hotel, as the room smelled damp, was very basic and needed refurbishment. Although our beds were made for us every day, we were surprised to find there were no under-sheets on them - just a bottom sheet on a matrass. We had booked breakfast but were also disappointed to find that neither the coffee nor the juices were fresh, but were out of machines and tasted like it. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComitasHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tramontana Park, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Simon,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us and send us your review. This kind of feedback helps us to improve our service.

Regarding your comments about your room and breackfast service, we would like you to know that we have a weekly meeting to discuss areas such as customer care and quality issues. In our next meeting we will be addressing the comments that you made.

BEST REGARDS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a holiday here . From the moment we arrived , Anna in reception greeted us with a very professional manner and very friendly . We loved the location it's stunning just blue sea and blue sky . Nothing was a problem for all the staff they were all so friendly . Food was good different choice daily from lovely home made croissants to salads and meat selection to lots of fresh fruit . Our two bedroom villa was large and clean with a amazing view . There was entertainment daily with kids disco, my son had a wonderful time and made many friends . The location was perfect for us it's a quiet area with a couple of shops and bars restaurants etc . Lovely beach ten min walk away . Rocky beach in front of hotel perfect for snorkelling . There are quite a few stairs at complex but was not a problem for us at all . Swimming pool was lovely very clean . We would defo go back and would recommend the hotel to all . The staff make this complex and the wonderful views . :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cboughtwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComitasHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tramontana Park, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Thank you for such positive comments, we are proud to say that our staff work hard to ensure that all clients are made to feel welcome and enjoy their holiday. We will pass on your remarks to the Anna and the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

BEST REGARDS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

we enjoyed this place so much last year we came to fornells again , last year when we came i did not know what to expect and was very surprised the reception lady anna was lovley very friendly and very informative about places to go and see .

our room was fab we got a big appartment , malood where do a start very charming and funny and those cocktails were gorgeous anyhting was never too much trouble, our evenings and sometimes afernoons were fab , when you read this malood just remember what what saying and you will know who we are as we came to see you this year me and gaz were pleased to see you and have a laugh. the staff are brilliant , the only downside some people said it was too quiet but it was just what me and gaz wanted there ere other bars to go to but as we were all inclusive we went to a few but mostly stayed at the hotel.

there are steps to this hotel so dont bring too many high heels more flats

we did go out in the day on a scootor we hired from the hotel and so many places we went to see. coffee and cake in menorca is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funkymonkey693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComitasHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tramontana Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

We feel extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your second stay at Tramontana Park and wWe want to thank you the trust you placed one more time.

We will be delighted to pass on your remarks to Anna and Mouloud. We all will continue working to maintain and improve our quality standar.

Thank you for you kind words and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a 7 night stay and am really unsure how to rate the Tramontana Park Hotel as we had a great break but I'm not sure I'd return.

Don't think that means this is a bad place to stay it certainly isn't.

The pros:
Great choice of food. Our group of 2 adults, a 7 year old and an 8 year old all found something they like.

The ice-cream. For all inclusive guests there is a large freezer full of various flavours of ice cream that you can help yourself too.

The staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Moulood knows how to make everyone feel special and the gentleman in charge of the restaurant was most concerned that the dishwasher might be keeping our children awake (it wasn't). When we were leaving I was heaving a suitcase about and without being asked a staff member insisted on carrying it upstairs for me.

The pool. Lovely size and impeccably clean.

Views. Breathtaking views all around. Definitely need to take photos at sunset.

Cleaning. Our room was cleaned to perfection every day without fail.

The cons:
Entertainment. There was a definite lack of entertainment at night. Without a pack of cards and a set of dominoes we would have had very unhappy children.

The location. While the views are great there is just not enough within walking distance for us.

The lack of aircon in rooms.
We had a ceiling fan in the main bedroom which worked well but there was mothing in the living room so whoever slept in there got really hpt


We had a lovely holiday and came back feeling refreshed and relaxed but if you like a resort where there's a bit to see and do without having to catch a bus then this is not the place for you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotsLass123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComitasHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tramontana Park, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sirs,

We are glad to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel. Our staff understand the importance of making our guests feel at home anf they will always be happy to help.

Whenever you are looking for a little place to relax as Fornells, we will be glad to welcome you again.

BEST REGARDS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornells
16.4 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,099 reviews
10.7 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
4.5 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
TRH Tirant Playa
TRH Tirant Playa
#5 of 5 in Fornells
222 reviews
10.0 mi away
Valentin Son Bou
Valentin Son Bou
#2 of 8 in Son Bou
1,451 reviews
15.1 mi away
Prinsotel La Caleta
Prinsotel La Caleta
#1 of 2 in Cala Santandria
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tramontana Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tramontana Park

Property: Tramontana Park
Address: Carrer de Dalt s/n, 07748 Fornells, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Fornells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Fornells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tramontana Park 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tramontana Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tramontana Park Fornells
Tramontana Park Hotel Fornells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing