We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
262
86
15
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
262
86
15
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet villagescallopslog firelocal suppliersbottle of proseccovillage greena real gemboth dinner and breakfastrestaurant with roomshomemade shortbreaditison dealthe main hotelsmall hotelberwick upon tweedevery member of stafffantastic foodcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I stayed with friends for a wedding. I only wish we'd had longer! All staff were very friendly and helpful.

The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable indeed -- like sleeping on a cloud.

Excellent breakfast. (And a tasty lunch too.)

Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Don't opt for an executive room, definitely not worth it. Not up to standard certainly not value for money. In need of total refurbishment and upgraded facilities are required. Bathroom needs modernised and more up to date fabrics and furnishings. Very bland and not relaxing.

Room Tip: Don't choose executive rooms
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cawlaw, Owner at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
This is the first time we have had negative comments on the rooms in the modern annex to the hotel. Through our conversation during your stay it became clear that you would have preferred to be in the older part of the hotel.
Your constructive comments have been noted and included in a maintenance program that will be implemented during this coming winter, some small additions to this room have already been made.
As the new owner, (since July 2016) there are several changes I have planned which I hope while keeping character with the building and village setting might be more in line with your expectations.
I look forward to welcoming you back after spring 2017 when I hope the accommodation will more closely meet the expectations you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We arrived for a wedding on the Saturday, all be it a quick stay we thoroughly enjoyed!! .. The staff kindly arranged for our rooms to be ready for early check in so we were able to make the wedding. The rooms were beautiful and cosy with gorgeous touches to make you feel at home! .. Had one of the best nights sleep in the bed, pillows & duvet like marshmallows. Would like to return for a proper stay next time! Extremely impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Myrtle Cottage this past weekend, it's a little 1 bed cottage a 2 minutes walk down the street from the main hotel, there is on street parking directly outside the front door.
It's lovely, so very cosy and has everything you need for a get away. It has full kitchen including oven and fridge (I didn't pay attention to if there was a washer or not to be honest), a little patio and garden out the back (which could have done with a bit of a mow but had a wild garden feel)
Living room with good sized sofa (2 large adults cuddled very comfortably on it), TV with free view, a writing desk which was awesome and a real log burning fire which I wish I'd had opportunity to use (logs and matches provided)
The wifi gave out about 3.5mbps so not the high speed promised it's perfectly adequate.
There is a little corridor to the downstairs bathroom which has a powerful shower. The understands cupboard provides ironing board and iron and the hoover. The living room is decorated and accessorised to feel like a home.

Up a steep narrow set of stairs to the bedroom which is a very good size with a massive bed, we're used to a king size and it was bigger, largely owing to the fact it's 2 full singles joined together.
A thin duvet is provided which was more than enough as due to the Stone construction in a terraced house the room was pleasantly warm all night. They also set up a camp bed for our 5 year old son which as he slept soundly, I assume was pretty comfortable.

We had breakfast at the hotel both mornings, it's very obvious that there were different chefs presiding over each day, the Saturday was extremely creamy seasoned scrambled eggs, plain plates and the eggs benedict were a touch overdone. The Sunday the scrambled eggs were more normal (a touch of milk and a little seasoning), the plates were large,oddly shaped and fancy and the eggs benedict were slightly underdone and the hollandaise was nicer. However both breakfasts were honestly amazing, the smoked bacon and sausages were fabulous.
We didn't get chance to have an evening meal as we didn't arrive til 11pm on the Friday, were at a wedding on Saturday and left on Sunday.

Overall it was a fabulous stay and you should definitely consider the cottage, if you have no access issues (stairs) then it's perfect, and more than worth the price difference over the hotel rooms (it's not a big difference)
We will most definitely be back

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Cylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a table at the Wheatsheaf to celebrate a birthday.

From the minute we walked in we knew our evening was going to be a real treat. A warm welcome, very comfortable surroundings and attentive staff made our visit very special.

The food was delicious (without being pretentious)... Every course was an absolute delight.

Highly highly recommended!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Madgeroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews