We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intim paradise with a real mediterranean flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A really lovely hotel in an unfakably mediterranean village enclosed on a slightly sloping hillside. The intimate garden is spectacular with olive trees and cypresses, lavander and leander bushes (beautiful in blossom in the summertime) and, the space is divided into several common terraces for dining, and swimming as well as into intim corners providing privacy for each appartment-house individually separated and built of charming provence style. We could stay there just for one night there with our twins of 11 who enjoyed the children's pool a lot. The place is great for a longer holiday for it offers several opportunities from sunbath at the pools or trips to neighbouring attractive cities eg. Nimes, Arles or Avignon. The staff is very friendly and polite of french elegance and there is a familiar atmosphere in the entire complex. The prise value rate is good, although the breakfast could be inclusive. Good quality of the original provence style everywhere, recommendable to couples singles and families as well.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Csaba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Csaba S, good afternoon.

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We are so happy you have enjoyed your short stay in our hotel. And we really hope you will visit us again, maybe for a longer time...

Thank you again to take the time and write about us. it is so touching.

Please accept our best regards,

Armel BARGETON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for three nights with my husband and 7-year old in late june. We had not booked half-board in advance since we wanted the liberty to eat dinner not only at the hotel. However, as it turned out, we actually ate at the hotel every night. This was for two reasons: the food is good and the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. There is virtually nothing to be found in the village, not even a store of some kind. Actually, during our stay we saw maybe one or two persons when driving thru the village. The other hotel guests consisted of elderly retired people of mainly french and german origin. Nothing wrong with that but the atmosphere was extremely quiet and we kind of stood out. Fortunately enough one or two more families with children arrived the second day. the couple who run the hotel are friendly and service-minded. the hotel itself is very cosy. nice clean pools and the room was ok too. Air condition a big plus. the breakfast was good too, however the price is a bit high since it does not offer bacon, scrambled eggs or anything warm.It takes about 30minutes to drive to Nimes. the free parking can take maximum 6 cars so if you arrive late in the day you may have to park in the village streets instead. Or use the underground garage for a small cost. All in all, a very nice experience if you are in the Nimes/Pont du Gard area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 189852Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Madam, Thank you so much for your words and your review. Of course, with a child, it is better to visit us in summer when we have families... like now :-)

We hope to welcome you another time in our home with a great pleasure.

Please accept our best regards.

Armel BARGETON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A little backstory: My husband has a laid-back attitude about traveling; he is easy to please but difficult to impress. He and I were both wowed by this hotel, and during our 1-night stay, he declared, "This is the best place I've ever been."
Our room, "Paprika," had an Old World feel that we loved. It was so charming, tucked away through a stone passageway, with a comfortable bed and big stone arch; we felt we were at a country home-away-from-home. The room overlooked the glorious gardens and pool, probably the most beautiful grounds of any hotel I've stayed at. The flowers! We laughed when the proprietor apologized for "Le Mistral" blowing, because the mid-September weather was beautiful and hot by our New England standards. The pool was indeed too cold for swimming, though.
We had dinner at the hotel; it was delicious. We appreciated the selection of local wines, too. Didn't have the breakfast option, but it looked very good.
I could easily have spent a week at this hotel. Pont du Gard, les Baux, Nimes monuments, and many more are within easy driving distance, and the small village of Cabrières is gorgeous. It was easy to book and visit as an English speaker (the staff skill varied from very little English to fluent), yet the experience was beautifully and authentically French. Of the various places we stayed on our trip through France, this is the place I dream of revisiting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Jennifer, good evening. It is so wonderful to read your review, almost 1 year after your stay in last September. Thank you so much for your words. We are so happy you loved our place, the room "PAPRIKA" and our restaurant.
We are grateful, really.
We hope to welcome you another time in our home with a great pleasure.
Please accept our best regards. And thank you again for everything.
Armel BARGETON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very nice hotel in a very nice village Cabrieres not far from Nimes. Tippical hotel rooms like a small house; and all different.
We have been here for the third time with 8-10 persons. Should i tell you more?!
Very nice staff and always a good presentation for a nice price.

Room Tip: All rooms will supprise you; very nice stay with family and/or friends!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Good evening to our dear customers from Netherlands. We hope you are all fine. We are really honored to read this wonderful review. Thank you very much.

We really hope to welcome you another time, for the 4th time in our hotel :-)

Best regards and enjoy your winter.

A. BARGETON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

There were 10 of us on a 3-week Tour de France. As we were constantly on the move, we were obligated to have different accommodations at the end of each day. The highlight of all our accommodations was our 1-day stay at this hotel-restaurant. We were proposed a package - lodging, dinner and breakfast. A fantastic rate! We could not have imagined that this good price would roll into one all you could wish for: luxuriously large bedrooms/apartments, each uniquely styled and truly provençal in decor, with very clean, well-maintained bathrooms (the only 3-star hotel we did not have qualms about having a bubble bath); a delicious and visually attractive 4-course dinner; a multifarious breakfast choice and warm solicitous staff service. My sister and i stayed at Enrique Room and we felt a nuance of royalty. The same can be said by
the rest of the family. If you want a 3-star hotel offering a 5-star hotel quality, this is it!

Review by: CARMEN BANTA

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria Carmen V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Dear Mrs Banta, what a wonderful review about our hotel and our restaurant. Thank you so much. We are so happy to know you had a great time with us, even if it was only for one night.

We really hope to welcome you another time, as a couple or with your family.

Thanks again for everything.

Please accept our best regards.

A. BARGETON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have just eaten a bowl of museli in my overcast kitchen and I feel a little depressed...I am missing the wonderful relaxed delicious breakfasts next to the pool and trickling waterfall sounds at this fantastic hotel! Croissant, bread, fruit, cake, ham, cheese, pate, yoghurt, jam, honey, cereals, toast, doughnuts -I think that's every nationality breakfast covered- etc etc etc...yum!

We have just returned from a ten night stay and I can honestly say we had a fabulous time. I find booking my holiday stressful, every year its difficult to choose where to go and there are so many places that look good but are disappointing, this holiday actually exceeded my expectations in every way.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was perfect, Monsieur Bargeton and his family (and that is what is so nice, it's a family run place) try to help at every juncture and provide a wonderful service for the residents (even offering us figs freshly picked from the trees on one very hot afternoon, yum!)

The rooms were lovely (I have to say, much better than they look on the website) big, clean, spacious, well decorated, comfortable and huge beds with excellent air conditioning if needed, and a fridge. The fridge came in handy for us because we ate lunch on our big terrace. It's nice to have a space to retreat to and this was great (I think I am right in saying every room has a terrace) private and peaceful (even though we were next to the road which is really not a problem, I didn't hear any noise in the night and in the day just a passing car or two, far less than the road I live on and that is quiet! You don't have to stay on the road by the way, there are loads of inward facing rooms but wherever you stay it's fab!

M Bargeton is there to provide you with any information you need and the reception is stocked with helpful leaflets and info. I did have a little chat with him on day two because my daughter was struggling with the menu on the first day, it's fabulous but she is 8 and not a great eater, no problem, we arranged a few simple pasta dishes and the children's menu as part of our half board package, and all was well, she was a happy girl! The food incidentally is first class. I stayed at the Marriott in Bristol the night after my return home for work and the food cost twice as much as the food here, and it was rubbish in comparison. Wow, this chef can cook and would be a valuable member of any expensive restaurant in London, the presentation of the food alone deserves an award! So in that respect the half board option for us was incredible value. It's also so nice to eat next to the pool on a night, so atmospheric and peaceful.

The area is great too, I recommend Uzez (probably one of the most beautiful places I have been to) and Nimes (the amphitheatre is well worth a visit) and we took a trip to Gordes which is about 1hr 10 away, very touristy but very pretty.

We would love to go back to this hotel, in fact we will, and what is great is because the rooms are all so different with different views you feel like you are having a different holiday! I saw the new suite, thats my choice for next time, luxury!

On a final note, I was ill unfortunately on one day and m Bargeton was so lovely, taking the time to sit with me for an hour and chatting to make sure I was ok. (How many other hotel owners would do this? Most would send you off to a doctor and have no interest in your problem) His conversation was so interesting and considerate that he distracted me from my illness and after an hour I felt so much better, so thank you!

I highly recommend you go, there is simply nothing wrong with this place and everything right!!

Wonderful...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Mrs RW,

OMG! What a wonderful testimony for our hotel. You wrote a so beautiful description of your stay. And a so great advertising for our future british customers. Thank you so much :-)

I'm really happy you had you found the perfect place for your holidays, starting with our email exchanges and then here in the hotel.

Thank you for all those lovely compliments on the hotel, the staff, the atmosphere and the restaurant. Our two leader Chefs will be honored to read such praise. We do our best to make a good home made food with fresh ingredients, products and quality.

Dear Madam, even thousands of thanks and I sincerely hope to see you with us, you, your husband and lovely daughter as soonest as possible.

Please accept our best regards.

A. BARGETON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

When I was reading the rewiews it was hard To believe That this place has soo much Nice rewiews! But after m'y stay I CAN just confirm That the restaurant and the hôtel are just great! It s like an Island of charm and peace! Just go and you Will meet very Nice people who Know what means customers! Great place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dominique s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArmelBARGETON, Propriétaire at L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur, bonsoir. Ayant pu lire dans vos différents avis un commentaire en français, je me permets de vous répondre dans la même langue :-)

Dans un premier temps, nous tenons à vous remercier sincèrement pour votre évaluation parfaite de l'hôtel. Je le dis très souvent : il est impossible d'être parfait. Mais si certains vacanciers nous voient ainsi, c'est un véritable honneur :-)

Dans un second temps, je souhaitais rebondir sur votre commentaire où vous mentionnez que cela vous semblait dur à croire que notre établissement puisse recevoir de nombreuses critiques positives. Comme je l'ai déjà mentionné dans une autre réponse, votre 199ème commentaire est un 199ème avis réel. Nous avons ici une éthique et n'allons jamais chercher une société extérieure ou des amis pour écrire des avis fictifs.
Et puis vous savez, si un établissement est mauvais, tous les commentaires fictifs seront rattrapés par les vrais mauvais avis des clients, ceux ayant réellement séjourné. On ne peut pas tricher avec son travail.

Peut-être avons-nous de bons avis car nous tâchons depuis plus de 20 ans de faire de la qualité. Il serait si simple durant notre fermeture hivernale de partir en vacances le plus longtemps possible pour récupérer des longues saisons. Au lieu de cela, nous passons une grande partie de nos hivers à entretenir l'hôtel, les chambres, les extérieurs, remplacer du matériel, investir, rénover, réfléchir. Tout cela coûte du stress, du temps et de l'argent. Mais on ne peut pas faire de la qualité sans ça. Et malgré tout ces efforts, nous n'en restons pas moins perfectibles car l'Enclos a bien sûr ses inconvénients. C'est un établissement qui s'est construit dans les années 80 et qui s'est agrandi au fil des années. Il demande donc un entretien vraiment conséquent.

Merci également pour votre dernière phrase :-) Oui, faire ce métier, c'est avant tout et surtout de respecter nos clients. Si les clients nous le rendent et que le soleil brille dans le ciel, les vacances ne pourront qu'être idéales.

Meilleures salutations,

A. BARGETON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabrieres
3.4 mi away
Hostellerie Le Castellas
6.2 mi away
Le Vieux Castillon
Le Vieux Castillon
#1 of 2 in Castillon-du-Gard
290 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Gardon
Hotel Le Gardon
#2 of 2 in Collias
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
La Begude Saint Pierre
La Begude Saint Pierre
#1 of 1 in Vers-Pont-du-Gard
190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#2 of 13 in Uzes
374 reviews
9.9 mi away
Le Pre Galoffre
Le Pre Galoffre
#4 of 36 in Nimes
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses

Address: 71 rue du 14 Juillet, 30210 Cabrieres, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Cabrieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabrieres
Price Range: £69 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses is located in Cabrieres, a small picturesque village at the flank of a hill in the Roman Provence. Its 1200 inhabitants live peacefully in the rhythm of the seasons. Situated at a distance of 15 kms from Nimes, 16 kms from Uzes, 30 kms from Avignon and 40 kms from the Mediterranean beaches or Luberon, Cabrieres is surrounded by vinyards, apricot trees, olives and almond trees, not to forget the thousands of hectares of a landscape called the "garrigue" where wild lavenders, rosemary and thyme grow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your L'Enclos des Lauriers Roses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Enclos Des Lauriers Roses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing