We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay.”
Review of La Porte Valette

La Porte Valette
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Porte Valette
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A group of four of us from a Spanish Steps (.com) walking holiday on the Chemin de Saint Jacques (Camino de Santiago), slept for 3 nights at the Porte Valette in the center of Entragues & loved it. Bernice is very welcoming & wonderful hostess. All three rooms here are spacious, light and very clean. We're looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I slept in the family room with a loft and a small kitchenette. The other two rooms, where my frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanishsteps100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We enjoed our stay at Le Porte Valette get a great hospitality from the owners.Nice room,good dinner & breakfat and the DOOR!.....A good base to tour the Lot walley and some of the most beatiful villages of France which are close to Entraygues Sur Truyere and a short drive to Rocamadour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashuach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A return visit to this beautiful area, and with special friends and family. This lovely very ancient building retains its link with history, yet gives a modern touch to the facilities. Still as relaxing as ever, and we stayed in the Family room, which gives lots of space, and is strangely quiet after the noise of London! Delicious food again, and Bernice and Norman cannot do enough to make our stay feel very much like a home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own special qualities and overlook the lovely Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Situated in the town centre but with no noise apart from the rain at night on the windows. This B&B has improved since we last visited. With plenty of breakfast and coffee to start our days and with the host providing us with recommend local restaurants or as we did on our first night booked a meal (home cooked) as w had travel for across france. The rooms are very clean and tidy and plenty of great idea so that we could explore the area to the fullest. WIll definatly be staying here again on our way through next year. Well done to all the team.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite have have a choice of family twin or double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaceyMay279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for one night recently en route to the haute loire . We had our five year old grandaughter with us who was treated like a visiting grandaughter by Bernice and Norman the charming couple who run this welcoming bed and breakfast. Our sat nav played games and we arrived a little late after struggling to find our way and we were glad we had requested an evening meal - which we enjoyed with the owners. They had asked about our grandaughter preferences before we arrived and had catered for her likes - but in a fashion which suited everyone. Bernice and Norman are a very interesting and welcoming couple - our grandaughter really enjoyed their company and that of Harvey the dog. Rooms very comfortable and a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darling10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This was my second wonderful stay at La Porte Valette. This time I brought my son and husband and we stayed three weeks while renovating our old house nearby!! It was a wonderful and super comfortable stay and we look forward to making La Porte Valette our home away from home again. Bernice and Norman, the owners are terrific and so kind and helpful. Our son was so happy there playing with their dog and cat and wandering in the courtyard exploring things. It was magical! Staying that long in the ancient quarter of Entraygues really gave us a chance to experience life at a slower pace....we could walk the medieval streets safely even at night and the locals were so friendly to us. Cant wait to go back and stay there again. It could not have been better! We commend Bernice and Norman for putting up with us for so long and look forward to our next visit. If you want to stay in a really rare medieval building with all the modern comforts at a great price then La Porte Valette is a super choice!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJD222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Over our stay, there were still extensive building alterations underway, by now hopefully complete then the courtyard could revert back to a private functioning space.

The proprietors are a really nice couple and will do everything possible to ensure a comfortable stay , nevertheless it must be acknowledged that this accommodation cannot aspire to a high level of accommodation- it is comfortable but at the time of our stay, relatively rustic. Nonetheless it was good value for the money and we could have stayed a bit longer than our 2- night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entraygues-sur-Truyere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Lion D'Or
Hotel du Lion D'Or
#3 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Riviere
Hotel La Riviere
#1 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Centre
Hotel Du Centre
#4 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel les 2 vallees
#5 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
37 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Le Florentin
#2 of 5 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Petit Chou
Le Petit Chou
#1 of 4 in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Porte Valette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Porte Valette

Address: 8 rue Droite, 12140 Entraygues-sur-Truyere, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aveyron > Entraygues-sur-Truyere
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Entraygues-sur-Truyere
Price Range: £40 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The bed and breakfast is located in a 16th Century nobleman's house in the centre of the old village of Entraygues sur Truyere in the department of Aveyron in the Midi Pyrenees. We offer three rooms, one a family room with a small kitchenette but available to couples as well as families and the others are doubles. All rooms have private bathrooms with hair dryer, rooms are also electrically heated and have tea and coffee facilities. The bed and breakfast is located up a wide stone staircase and straight into the heart of the home, our kitchen. The rooms are along a passage at the rear of the kitchen. We have a dining room and front room, both available for our clients, the front room has a television , and there is music and dvd's for clients use as well as games, cards and puzzles - there are no televisions in the letting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Porte Valette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing