We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced for what it is, wouldn't recommend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais du Plessis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Relais du Plessis Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richelieu
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is, wouldn't recommend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

First impressions: the Resort is located behind a DIY Merchants, there are no pleasant views and many unfinished or broken fixtures. The staff were completely disinterested in the fact that our apartment wasn't ready for us until half an hour after we were supposed to have checked in.
We were also unimpressed by the fact that stripping of the sheets, sweeping and mopping of the floor and cleaning out of the microwave and fridge is to be done by the customer, or else be charged as an extra!
The dining room had not been cleaned from the previous evening, as there were chips and other items of dropped food still on the floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RSWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    215
    141
    70
    28
See reviews for
194
224
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We found our stay at the Relais quite disappointing and would certainly not return there. Whilst the apartments are nicely modern furnished and spacious the rest of the facilities does not seem to live up to its descriptions on the website. For a start the impression of the Relais sitting in lovely countryside is only partially true. It is definitely on the edge of the village bordering onto open countryside and a local park on one side but on the other side it is backing up directly onto the local builders yard and with a clear view of the local petrol station and supermarket carpark. Unfortunately our apartment was located on that side .....so much for the lovely countryside of the Loire .
Parking is another problem - during the day there are enough spaces but in the evening when most guests return from their actitivities many had to end up parking on the grass embankments or even outside the boundary wall on the road which is awkward and unsightly. The pool area is quite restricted and given that there are around 150 -160 housing units of between 2-6 beds each a little more than 25 deckchairs would have been nice. I never once managed to actually sit near the pool in a whole week!
One of the reasons for our staying at the Relais was the fact that, according to their own website, the had on-site stables for riding which was a major attraction for our children. However, when inquiring about riding we were told that actually the nearest stables is 18km away. The disappointment and inconvenience of that was quite major.
The most disappointing factor in the whole holiday however was the attitude of the reception staff. We arrived at 6.30pmand even though the rooms should have been ready from 4pm a number of families were already sitting in the reception area waiting for their rooms to be cleaned. When it was finally our turn to be served our reservation was quickly found on their booking system but the gentlement behind the desk insisted on being given a payment voucher which our booking agency had not provided as they have different arrangments with the hotel. Unfortunately, despite the fact that we were clearly on their own computer system and we had proof of payment and reservation with us, he pointblank refused to let us check in. It took quite a bit of unpleasant discussion and the interception on behalf of another colleague on the desk to finally get him to agree to let us check in. At no point was there an offer to try and help us sort the situation out with our agency in the UK or come to a compromise solution. Following that, even though it was clearly marked on the reservation documents and on their system that we needed a 2 bedroom apartment, we were given a 1 bedroom apartment. When we complained we were simply told with a shrug of the shoulder by the same gentleman that there were no 2 bedroom flats left and that was that. Take it or leave it. Again, more unpleasant discussion followed and eventually another colleague agreed to find us a 2 bed apt. for 2 nights but we were advised that we would have to move again after that and there was no guarantee that they could find us another 2 bed flat for the remainder of the stay. It took a call from our booking agency in the UK on the following day to sort things out and voila suddenly a 2 bed flat was available for the whole week, as booked. The Relais seems to be not quite sure how to position itself - somewhere between a gite and a resort. In fact, it seems to be neither and therefore will always struggle to meet its clients' expectations.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ammfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We stayed at the Relais du Plessis for 3 days and 2 nights on bed and breakfast, including 5 treatments and it was just brilliant. The resort is great, the cottage was very nice, super clean with a homely atmosphere. The access to the spa with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room was very comfortable. The treatments were really good, we had a great time there and will go back again with pleasure.
The location of the resort is great for site seeing, only one hour away from Tours and lots of castles to visit around in this area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophandCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

I am not the kind of person who usually rates hotel. However, after such week end, I feel almost obliged to recomend it to people looking for a lovely week end.
Rooms are spacious and very clean (not so often in France I would say), employees dedicated to customers, reasonable equipement in the room, wonderfull landscape and cherry on the cake; lovely owners who can speak english !!!! Definitely a place to visit!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guistoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

New (2009) resort with chalet accomodation. Chalets are well-equipped and surround a central facility with a very nice swimming pool. It is intended to be a resort for French families who stay for a couple of weeks. We were not lucky enough to have more than a few days, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The friendly staff made us feel very welcome. The surrounding area is a delightful part of France and deserves a much longer visit. We intend to return and will definitely stay at le Relais du Plessis again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eugadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

A very enjoyable stay, all you could need for a quiet self catering visit, appartmentsare well equipped with ceramic hobs,microwave and dishwasher and very nicely presented, The bedroom although compact was clean and airy and nicely finished The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful . The food in the restaurant had a limited choice, but was exceptionally good and well presented and the menu was changed daily. There is a choice of two menus offering either 2 or 3 courses , the price was appropriate for the area. Snacks were also available in the bar at lunch and early evening.
More information in the apartment about facilities and local attractions would have been useful ,also an English translation of the spa treatments available. Some means of shade on the balconies would have been helpful, perhaps a garden parasol but generally the aparment was very well equipped,
The area around the pool was always very busy again limited parasols present.
A good base to explore this part of the Loire and further afield.
Le Grande Parc de Puy du Fou is well worth a visit even with the 2 hour travelling each way.
Futuroscope is just 1hour by car and the evening ticket available from 5pm is a good deal at 15Euros
A very enjoyable stay and we would return if in this area again

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineloverl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richelieu
0.8 mi away
Le Puits Dore
Le Puits Dore
#1 of 2 in Richelieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
13.4 mi away
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
Logis Manoir de la Giraudiere
#1 of 1 in Beaumont-en-Veron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#5 of 15 in Chinon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Saint Jacques
Saint Jacques
#9 of 15 in Chinon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
11.8 mi away
Le Clos Albert
Le Clos Albert
#2 of 3 in Loudun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais du Plessis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais du Plessis Resort

Property: Relais du Plessis Resort
Address: Route de Thuet | La Coupure du Parc - Chaveignes, 37120 Richelieu, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Richelieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richelieu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais du Plessis Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Touraine Loire Valley and the Loire Valley Castle, our resort *** place as top concern: nature, ecology, responsible tourism and discover of French heritage and traditions. Implanted in a 4 hectares park of trees without cars, our Residence welcomes you for a stay based on quiet, relaxation and wellness. Our wood cottage are tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard of quality.During your stay, savor the gastronomic dish of our well-known Chief or escape un our SPA of 320 sqm (Sauna, Steam bath, spa bath, quiet room, massage, hydrotherapy ...). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, PitchUp and Hotel.de so you can book your Relais du Plessis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Du Plessis Hotel Richelieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing