We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden Gem”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Richelieu, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
afl1606
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved this comfortable, characterful, clean & well-equipped gite. It's something of a hidden gem, tucked away in the corner of the main square of Richelieu, but completely peaceful and quiet behind the big wooden gates and outer courtyard. And Richelieu itself is a bit of a hidden gem too - just off the main Loire tourist trail, but a fascinating & unusual little town. We'd recommend visiting the audio-visual exhibition on the Grand Rue for a painless & interesting history lesson. There's also lots to see and do within a short distance, and we'd highly recommend a trip to the Zoo at Doue if you've got kids, or even if you haven't. And finally Sheelagh and Liz were both very friendly and helpful - thanks! We hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great gite in a great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie1495
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Happy holidays!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week in Richelieu thoroughly enjoying everything about the house and the area. Firstly the house, full of character, comfy and "homey" and equipped with everything we could possibly need. We made great use of all the baby equipment and toys - the paddling pool in the garden was a big hit with our 2 under 4s and an even bigger hit with us when we needed to cool off (great weather 21-28 June). There are many thoughtful child friendly touches at this house which were greatly appreciated including the gate that fits across the patio doors to prevent toddler escapees and the bed guard which we were able to put on one of the single beds - just makes for a more relaxing holiday. The yellow and blue bedrooms are particularly pretty and the 2 sets of grandparents we took with us were very comfortable in these! Location wise Richelieu ticked all our boxes, it was very French (!) had enough history to keep the afore mentioned grandparents happy (the museum, video centre etc) and was easy to get to from Calais (via toll roads roughly 6hrs).
We loved that the house is right on the square with everything you need just a short walk - having the carrefour just round the corner is superb! We didn't venture too far during our stay, preferring to spend our days relaxing in the garden or the park but we did visit 2 castles, chenonceau and Usse (sleeping beauty went down very well with our 3 year old daughter) so would recommend these as easy ways to spend an afternoon. All in all we would highly recommend this house and we hope to visit again. Thank you!! From the Kerr / Siesage party

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you, I'm so glad you all enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welovesun...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Family Holiday”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here mid August for 2 weeks and had a wonderful holiday. Richelieu is absolutely charming and the locals are very friendly and helpful. The house was perfect for us as it had plenty of room and a lovely garden and courtyard. We had such a good time going out to the local, child friendly bars that we never once turned the TV on. The local pool is minutes away and as we'd taken our biked we cycled everywhere. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The garden / patio area got incredibly hot in the afternoon but not sure if that's a negative!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Aug 2013
I am so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that my daughters' baby and child equipment was useful. My eldest grandchild (of 6) now 11 so this equipment,DVD's, games and books is growing rapidly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
edinbrugh
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy of the garden despite being in a town location
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2013
I am so glad that you all enjoyed the house and Richelieu as much as we do.
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne O
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house in a beautiful setting on the square”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a relaxing break at this lovely town house in the heart of Richelieu. The house is comfortable and spacious with stone walls and period features. We stayed with our newly married son and daughter in law and they liked the fact that everything you need is on the doorstep, but it still remains a quiet and peaceful place to stay. We found plenty to occupy us even though the weather was cold and we were impressed with the beautiful park nearby. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2013
I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay despite the weather which, for the last two weeks, has been the wettest June we've ever experienced here. Local farmers and vintners very concerned for their crops. However, we also still love the atmosphere and peace in Richelieu-the weather hasn't spoilt that. Especially glad we are in a large house and not confined to a hotel room. We had plans to go to La Rochelle for few days but cancelled that idea and stayed here!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size and quantity of bedrooms
Liked least: Could do with a spring clean
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing