We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpengasthof Tetter

Alpengasthof Tetter
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We did a beautiful circular walk up the valley from Schladming and had a wonderful lunch at this restaurant. We had gorgeous croquettes with an amazing salad, accompanied by very refreshing apfel gespritzt. We enjoyed it so much that we returned another day to walk further up the valley, followed by another excellent lunch.
Walks and restaurant well recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PMD1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Local Game and fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Staying in schladming this was a fair taxi ride from our apartment but worth the trip. Very authentic Austrian restaurant filled with locals. A warm welcome and great service followed. We enjoyed the fish and local starters followed by several different venison dishes all delicious with fabulous almond croquettes. Some had the goulash which was equally tasty, filling and well presented ... The only criticism was the main courses arrived almost as we finished our starters with no break ...worth a visit but off the beaten track!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ghjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Authentic mountain restaurant providing excellent food in a rustic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This cosy restaurant is situated in a hamlet on a lightly wooded hillside away from the village centre. It is very ancient and authentic inside, and the staff are very helpful. The menu comprises a lot of local produce, and we really enjoyed the venison (the best my friend has ever had), the saddle of chamois - so succulent, melting in the mouth, the venison stew - rich and flavoursome, amongst other dishes. The T-bone steaks were excellent, and the potatoes and fresh vegetables were excellent - a little unusual for Austrian food sometimes, as vegetables don't often feature high on the menus!
Add in some good local wine, and we had a great evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alphablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
597 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise, great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We had not planned to visit this place, but sudden rain cut our hike short and I had seen the sign 'Schwammerln Specials' (chanterelle mushrooms, which are in season now).

The rooms are cozy and the atmosphere is nice (but can be loud when a big group comes in)

I was very impressed by the food. I had simply roasted mushrooms over salad, but the dressing, the use of pumpkin and sunflower seeds turned it all into a great culinary (but still light) feast. My wife had home-smoked trout and kid selected the fish sticks from the kids' menu. And even that came nicely arranged, with some veggies, potatoes (instead of french fries) and pieces of fruit for dessert.

I could imagine coming again, maybe for dinner, and then try some of their meat dishes with those mushrooms!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caipirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpengasthof Tetter also viewed

Rohrmoos-Untertal, Schladming
Rohrmoos-Untertal, Schladming
 

Been to Alpengasthof Tetter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing