We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Functional but lacking in atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van der Valk Leusden
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leusden
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Functional but lacking in atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a large hotel which is in the middle of an industrial estate, so no pleasant evening walks. The rooms are very poorly lit (especially so when you are on the sub- basement floor!). Dinner was of good quality and well presented but I could see the formula could become repetitive for more than two nights (we were on a two night Floriade tour). I was annoyed that no action was taken when we notified reception that the mini safe did not work (not worth doing anything for two night guests?). Breakfast, as has been remarked before, was of good quality but a terrible rammy due to large numbers in the hotel. Overall -good but impersonal.

Room Tip: Avoid room facing the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    269
    122
    50
    10
See reviews for
78
370
24
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Although we were on an organised trip through a UK travel company the Hotel was really a good choice, with delicious evening dinner, seeing as how the Hotel was catering for over 200 guests. The bedroom we were given was on the 6 th floor, quiet, light, and very spacious. With ensuite
Large bathroom, complete with shower cubicle and large bath tub, which was very welcoming after a long day of sightseeing and walking.
The hearty continental breakfast set us for our days outing, a firm favourite was the juice machine, where it gobbled up the fresh oranges and directly distributed the lovely squeezed juice, at appoximately three oranges to each glass.

Room Tip: We had a high floor room which was light, airy and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed as part of a tour group for 2 nights. Therefore only expected average hotel.
In itself the hotel is good. Clean and spacious, especially the bedrooms all of which have a balcony !
The bedrooms although large are very poorly lit ! But everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were very obliging. Requested extra bedding which arrived promptly.

As we were part of tour there was no choice of menu. But the food was tasty, not gourmet stuff but adequate. Why do they think that the English must have chips ??
Our request for more veg was promptly met.

The bar service was poor. How can you run out of Gin ? The following night... Gin but no tonic.

Breakfast is buffet style and plenty of it. The usual bacon, eggs, sausage as well as the continental choices, cereals fresh orange juice several types of breads and rolls, croissant etc.

As a pre paid tour group I think that it was good value. Not sure I'd be so impressed if I were paying the full rate.

In summary, no surprises. Overlooks a lake which would be splendid on a warm day / evening as there is a huge terrace where drinks and food can be taken... weather permitting.
Also it is positioned just off the main A1 road route, so very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have just returned from a week-end bus tour to Floriade, and agree with recent reports from people on similar excursions.
We have never been on a bus tour before so do not have any standards to measure the Van der Valk against.
Our room was comfortable and very large, but overlooked the busy motorway. When we arrived we did try to change our room in view of the noise from the motorway, but this was not possible due to the hotel being fully booked. However, at night, the motorway was quiet, and we were so tired from our travelling, and our day in Floriade, we were not aware of any noise at night at all!
Our toilet was facing (almost touching) the shower unit, so we had to take great care not to hit our heads on the shower unit wall, especially the sharp corner if the shower door was open. Tea facilities, but no bottled water; I do not like filling the kettle with tap water.
The two dinners we had were not good (vegetable soup, seemed to be a bowl of hot water with a sprinkling of chives or sliced leek floating on top). I suspect people on the bus tours were given a set menu, and I hope private guests could have opted for something more palatable. Breakfasts were good, but a bit of a bun fight due to the hotel being full and coach tours leaving at the same time.
Staff members were most helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the wing furthest away from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tofiapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here while on a bus trip to Floriade. The hotel staff were helpful and the rooms were large and everything was very clean.There was hairdryers, refreshment trays and free wi-fi.
The only down side was the evening meal which was a set menu with the same pudding on both evenings we were there(icecream).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Along with 5 friends we stayed here in april. The rooms were large and clean. Staff very friendly. But the dinners we were served were terrible, packet soup, meat with tbe same sauce, ice cteam eeach nite and no choice. The breakfast food quality was good but a bit of a scramble.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

This hotel is pretty good; the bedrooms are big so there is plenty of space to move around in, which is not very often the case in a hotel. The same goes for the bathroom. It was big and had a full size bath tub and a separate shower cabin.

The breakfast buffet is pretty good, there is a machine to make your own fresh orange juice, the coffee is good, and there is quite a selection of food: there were scrambled eggs (with or without mushrooms), sausages and bacon, but also a variety of breads and croissants that you can top with jams, luncheon meat and cheese. I've also seen Cornflakes and fruit smoothies. All in all a pretty decent breakfast, I'd say!

The hotel is located close to the A28 motorway, in Leusden, but close to Amersfoort. There was plenty of parking space when I was there. I came back late from a party once and noticed that the hotel doors were closed, but there was staff to let people in. That's probably a good thing for safety.

I didn't have to deal with a lot of the staff, but the people I spoke to were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerryV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leusden
2.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amersfoort Centre
3.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Amersfoort A1
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Berghotel Amersfoort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
NH Amersfoort
NH Amersfoort
#1 of 13 in Amersfoort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bilderberg Hotel De Klepperman
5.3 mi away
Hilton Royal Parc Soestduinen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Leusden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Leusden

Property: Van der Valk Leusden
Address: Philipsstraat 18, 3833 LC Leusden, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Leusden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leusden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Leusden 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van der Valk Leusden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing