We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Melkbosstrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We arrived in the early morning hours and were recieved by a friendly concierge with a big smile on his face. He knew who we were before we even introduced ourselves. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The espresso machine in the room made my mornings. Friendly helpull staff. The only complaint is brwakfast was not up to scratch for a 4 star accommodation.Scramble eggs no toast 2 small pieces of bacon left and very oily sausages.

Still it was worth falling asleep and waking up to the sound of the ocean.

if you like a very hard mattres this hotel is for you. My wife and I didn't.

Room Tip: The 2 floor sea facing rooms with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2013

If you are looking for modern, upmarket finishes, this hotel is for you! Tastefully decorated with modern finishes. The entrance welcomes you to a big, open modern lounge. Unfortunately the receptionist could not be found at check-in time and we had to wait for her arrival, which was unfriendly and unwelcome. This was a bit disappointing for a 4 star hotel. The endless passage to our hotel room was hugged by blue skies through a double glass window and the most amazing wooden art piece. One enters your hotel room though a door to two separate hotel rooms with interlinking patios. Upon entering the hotel room I was amazed to find myself in a huge, tastefully decorated, modern bedroom on the left. This also includes a spacious lounge, clothing cupboard, working table and chair. The lounge led to a double sliding door onto the patio. The patio overlooks the hotel swimming pool and stunning views of the sea. To the right of the hotel room's entrance is a small kitchen with washing basin, n espresso coffee machine, cupboard and small freezer. To the left of the kitchen is a huge, modern bathroom with shower and bath. We ordered drinks to the room, which was delivered fast. This is a non smoking hotel, but guests are allowed to smoke on the balconies from their hotel rooms. If you are a smoker, then this will be great for you, but if a non smoker, this is the worst thing of this hotel as the smoke enters your room through the double open sliding doors and your chances of fresh cape town air is non existent. Our neighbors was noisy, their music was loud from the balcony and they smoked a lot. The hotel staff member said he will take this up with hotel management, but nothing was done.
Buffet breakfast is in the central dining area next to reception. The dining area is modern and tastefully decorated with ample space. The buffet breakfast is served in a separate area, which adds more privacy to the dining area. Service at the dining area is great. You don't even have to get up for coffee or tea. The most welcoming service experienced was from Bronwen, who made us feel at home and part of the family. She has a warm personality, which adds greatness to this lovely hotel. Breakfast was nice, but needs variety for guests staying a few days.
The hotel pool area is surrounded by a wooden deck with relaxing furniture.
There's secure basement parking, but be sure not to stay out late as the gate closes, which means you can't enter, nor exit.
This is a great hotel if you don't mind the unfriendly receptionist, noisy / smoking neighbors.
The most beautiful beach and sea is a block away (just a walk down the street).
I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely book holiday accommodation with them again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top level for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed 2 nights in February. When we first arrived we were not given the suite we booked but in no time it was sorted. The manager was very helpful. The room was clean andspacious.
Within walking distance to the beach and other restaurants. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Do not book a room above the restaurant. They had a kiddies party at the restaurant on the Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night in February with my mom. The room was clean, spacious and had a wonderful view of the ocean. We had dinner in the hotel which was really really good, as well as the service from our waiter (cant remember his name). There was a full bathroom with great fittings, a fridge and an amazing coffee machine.

After a great dinner that night we were really looking forward to breakfast..Well, were we mistaken. First of all, we were never offered coffee or tea, the waiter had to go into the kitchen to actually see what they serve and then we were told that there was only one breakfast available. There was a buffet that was obviously put out for the conference guests, but it was dry/no existent. My mom ordered a breakfast with scramble egg which they just dished up off the old buffet - I think it could have bounced if you dropped it on the floor, and my fried eggs were so raw you could see the plate through the white. They then started clearing the tables around us, banging all the crockery/cutlery and chatting as if we weren't even sitting there.

On checking out, the reception was full of the waiters crowding around the reception desk. Once they had finished messing around, the receptionist didn't even acknowledge that we were standing in front of them for at least 10 - 15 minutes. Once they did, there was no apology, no happiness or smiles, it was like they had a gun to their heads to even just speak to their guests. It was so disappointing that because of this morning, I only gave it 3 stars, which is a shame. I would have got a friendly receptionist in a backpacker for a quarter of the price. The lady standing with her (I think was a manager) didn't even look up to greet us.

I am in the industry, so maybe I am fussy, but for the price we paid I expected a lot more.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deedils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed over at the Atlantic Beach Hotel in Melkbosstrand on 21 February 2012. What a pleasant hotel. The room was spacious and mod. With a view. We found the hotel very clean and well looked after. Staff was helpful and well trained. Under cover parking was a plus. Close enough to the beach and restaurants. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hettie and John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights and were very well looked after. We found all staff helpful, pleasant and thoroughly honest. Breakfast was good and the evening bar was nice enough if a little short of people. Nearby are several beach restaurants all in a safe area for walking to and from. When we return on business next year we will have no worries and look forward to our stay again. We met several other guests and all were quite happy and we heard no complaints at all. Don't think I would stay here if I needed Cape Town city - it's too far out.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the sea and are mini-suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJD744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We recently had a work function at the Atlantic Beach Hotel in Melkbosstrand and we had an absolute ball of a time. Friendly and helpful staff, fantastic food and great ambience! Would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for good value for money!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VisitortoCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melkbosstrand
4.7 mi away
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
Blouberg Manor Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
54 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Dolphin Beach Hotel
Dolphin Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Table View
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
12.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
14.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Tyger Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Beach Hotel

Address: cnr Commaille Road & 13th Ave, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Melkbosstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Melkbosstrand
Price Range: £102 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Beach Hotel Melkbosstrand, South Africa - Cape Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing