We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 19 Dufftown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Castle view is located between Dufftown and Huntly in the countryside. It is a great retreat after a day of touring the highlands. Our room was spacious with a beautiful ensuite bathroom. The room had a comfortable bed, ample seating, and a lovely view of the countryside. In addition the guests have a seating area in the second floor landing. The Castleview has a beautiful garden with a stream running along the perimeter and two entertaining cats enjoying the good life.

Ian and Betty are gracious hosts. Ian is an amazing chef. We had delicious breakfasts each morning. In addition, Ian will also cook dinner upon request. Don't miss it! We had a gourmet dinner, topped with great conversation with Ian and Betty. It was the best kind of B&B experience. In addition, Ian and Betty gave us helpful site-seeing tips that enhanced our trip. They are very friendly and a pleasure to meet. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarrieGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Staying with Ian and Betty at Castleview is like visiting best friends or relatives. They offer a clean, warm, well-equipped room, great meals and good conversation. You're in the heart of beautiful countryside, with spectacular views just a short walk away. I'm not sure there's any secret to becoming a place where people are happy to stay and to recommend you, but if there is, Castleview's owners have found it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have spend two nights in Castleview B&B in Sep. 2013. It's slightly outside of Dufftown, in a very quite area.
Ian and Betti were great hosts and their cats are lovely.
We have had a nice room at the ground floor, very clean and spacious enough for two people and their luggage. Good Scottish Breakfast with various choices.
We will come back when we are in this area.
A very recommendable accommodation, if you would like to stay in the Speyside area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Ian and Betty were great hosts. Comfortable room, quiet location, opened window in the morning to see cows grazing nearby. Ian suggested travel tips around Scotland, plus local recommendations including view of castle ruins at dusk. Dinner was outstanding, scallops and Stornaway black pudding, chicken and haggis, yummy desserts. After dinner conversing with hosts and other guests over a dram, real BnB experience. Perfect location to explore Speyside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoSnowInPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our bedroom was large with an extra bed and couch. It was nicely appointed and very comfortable. Ian prepared a delicious and substantial dinner which was nicely presented....order at time of booking and well worth the cost. After dinner we enjoyed an evening of conversation with our delightful hosts, Ian and Betty. The breakfast was excellent...we were fortunate to be served wild chanterelle mushrooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were only able to spend one night, but we were glad we did. It's not very close to the main drag of Dufftown, so it's very quiet; however, that means the bars / restaurants are not easily within walking distance, so don't go too crazy on whiskey while you're out!

Betty was absolutely lovely and accommodating, and we enjoyed a simple, quiet night before continuing our road trip in the morning.

(Make sure you ask for some salmon scrambled eggs... delicious.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tatiana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Spent two nights at Castleview while touring the area. The first night (we arrived around 6) Ian sent us to a nice, interesting, restaurant in Huntly. The second night he cooked dinner for us - presenting us with a menu in the morning so that he could buy what we wanted. Excellent dinner - one of the best we had in Scotland in 3 weeks of touring. Breakfasts, as other recent reviewers have commented, were also very very good. In addition, Ian made recommendations for things to see, and as a result, we went to two interesting places - Puscarden Abbey and Ballendalloch Castle - that we had not known of and would not otherwise have visited. Our room was comfortable, although quite small. The couple we were traveling had, however, a large room, so we had our pre-dinner cocktail in their place. This is an outstanding place. I highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: The upstairs room was bigger with a better view, but the beds in both rooms were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickey60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dufftown
6.4 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
254 reviews
5.6 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
602 reviews
7.8 mi away
Eastbank Hotel
Eastbank Hotel
#2 of 2 in Rothes
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
214 reviews
15.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
2.2 mi away
Dullan Brae Accommodation
Dullan Brae Accommodation
#3 of 19 in Dufftown
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Bed & Breakfast

Address: Castleview, Dufftown AB55 4DY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Dufftown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Dufftown
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleview Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleview is a Visit Scotland 4 Star Gold Awarded Bed & Breakfast the only one to achieve this award in the heart of the Whisky and Castle trails of Scotland.  We are situated just outside Dufftown ,  close to some of the World Famous Whisky Distilleries the likes of Glenfiddich, Balvenie, Aberlour MacAllan, Glenlivet etc.Castleview offers superior en-suite accommodation comprising of one Twin /Superking room with spectacular views of historic Auchindoun Castle , one double/family room, and one double room, all individually furnished to a very high standard with luxury en-suite shower rooms. At Castleview you can expect a warm and friendly welcome, from your hosts Ian & Betty Sharp whether it be for 1,2 or 3 nights, in fact we pride ourselves on the relaxed homely atmosphere . The property is situated within a small valley bordering a small stream, their is a summerhouse in the garden where guests can relax with a glass of wine or perhaps a small dram from one of the many Distilleries close by. At Castleview, we aim to provide excellent value accommodation, whilst offering very high standards of quality and service, you can expect a high level of comfort, a friendly service and a hearty Scottish breakfast to start your day! Castleview also offers the convenience and the opportunity for a modern taste of Scotland. Our seasonal menu with locally sourced  produce is restaurant quality at affordable prices.As your hosts, Ian & Betty Sharp, we will endeavour to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible and are happy to assist with local advice and recommendations on places to visit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Castleview Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleview Bed & Breakfast Dufftown, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing