We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips!”
Review of D J Chippie Cafe

D J Chippie Cafe
Ranked #9 of 16 Restaurants in Dufftown
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Scottish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Manchester
Level Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is both a takeaway and a cafe. The cafe is quite small, but the staff are very friendly, the fish and chips were great, with lovely crispy batter.

The only downside is the short opening hours (5-8) and the limited days of opening (Thurs - Sun).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty_karate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Make Sure To Get It Fresh”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I would actually rate this establishment at 2.5 stars if possible. The food seemed to be of average quality and is probably very tasty when right out of the fryer. The problem was, even at 6 pm during the week, the fish fillet and chips were sitting under a heat lamp. I think for a very long time. So the moral is, if it's under the lamp walk away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HBSponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“chippie”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Nice food friendly staff. We ate on two nights there and was not disappointed at all. Plenty of room friendly staff who recognised us the second night.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips during two week stay in Scotland”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had finished a tour and were famished. It was about closing time, dark and rainy. We ordered two orders of fish and chips, ate them in the car. crispy crust was superb, not the soggy beer battered stuff. if we had been there the next day, we would have tried the lamb. Great Mom and Pop place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank volphan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice cafe, not so sure about the chips”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Loved the fact we could sit in the next door cafe area. The pie and fish were excellent. The chips need work, a little cardboard-like.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kneeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed D J Chippie Cafe also viewed

 

Been to D J Chippie Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing