We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice little train ride.”

The Whisky Line - Keith & Dufftown Railway
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Dufftown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Keith and Dufftown railway is one of the most Northerly preserved railways in the country, and one of the longest and most scenic. With over 10 miles of line your journey takes you from Dufftown station, past the Glenfiddich distillery and over the famous Glenfidich viaduct. You then travel up the long climb called parkmore hill which is surrounded by spectacular scenery up into the mountains, At the top you pass along the banks of Loch Park, a mile long resevoir only properly viewed from the railway with its spectacular wildlife. Then past Drummuir castle and on to Drummuir station, And that's only half way....
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice little train ride.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

If you are in this part of Scotland it is well worth going the extra few miles to sample this whiskey line train journey even though you don't stop at any distilleries, it's on a small D.M.U it was strange that coming from Cornwall and having worked for B.R in the 50/60s to find out from the ticket collector that the first unit used to be running between Penzance and Plymouth and then ended up in Dufftown,all of the staff are volunteers and are very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rightwing14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must for rail enthusiasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed ride on the Diesel train through pretty countryside from Keith. On arrival at Dufftown walked up to the Glenfiddich distillery and had our picnic. Staff very friendly and helpful. Highlight for my sons was sounding the horn when got back to Keith (also got a little certificate). Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A step back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had an fabulous trip from Keith to Dufftown on the Whisky Line. It gives you a chance to see a part of the countryside that you don't see from the road and gives you the opportunity to do a bit of wildlife spotting. On our return journey there was a railway volunteer who gave a commentary and shared the history of the line and the surrounding area, this was very informative and definitely enhanced the experience. On both journeys the driver and guard pointed out birds and animals that they had spotted, so I would suggest sitting near the front if you get the opportunity.

We chose to go from Keith to Dufftown and return but you can choose to go in the opposite direction. We chose this way so that we could spend some time in Dufftown. In Dufftown the Glenfiddich Distillery is just along the road and is well worth a visit and in Keith the Strathisla Distillery is roughly the same distance from the station there, and is also worthy of a visit, so you are spoilt for choice if you haven't already visited either of the distilleries.

The Buffer Stop is at Dufftown Station and is a tea room in a couple of converted carriages. We only had coffee here, but they do sell soup, sandwiches and homebaking if you would like a light lunch whilst in Dufftown.

The whole enterprise is staffed by volunteers and I have to say that everyone we met was very friendly and willing to take the time to have a chat and pass the time of day as well as give you information on the railway and the surrounding area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orsett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice little trian ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is worth a visit if you are in the area. A lovely little train ride through some beautiful countryside, and some interesting commentary from one of the volunteers who help to run this train.
Stopped in Keith for a few hours, not a great deal there we found but we did have a wander around and a bite to eat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“See many deers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

The nature along the railway is beautiful. The visit at the destillary in keith is recommended. Very nice place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Whisky Line - Keith & Dufftown Railway also viewed

 

Been to The Whisky Line - Keith & Dufftown Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing