We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome B&B”
Review of Chateau de Murviel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Murviel
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

This castle is placed high up on a hill with view over the town. Very pittoresk, nice rooms, good breakfast and wonderful hospitality from Sinéad, and I loved her stories about the medevial castle and this cute little town. We also got a lot of ideas from her. of places around we should visit and where to eat. Definitly going back there!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Tessandell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MURVIELCASTLE, General Manager at Chateau de Murviel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Clients of Chateau de Murviel,
We write to inform you of a change in managment in Chateau de Murviel. Sinéad, whose tenure as General Management inspired so many positive comments from our customers, is handing the reigns over to Florence. We trust that you will continue to enjoy a warm welcome and sincere service in our wonderful guest house. Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

My husband found & arranged this place because he Knew I would love it.... Castle, on top of a mountain -- does it get any better?
There are many different types of rooms. It's a castle -- and you're staying in big old bedrooms that [of course] have been updated. It's not "fancy" mind you, but it is "homey" -- in a Big Old Castle sort of way!
Some rooms have twin beds -- so if you don't want that, check before you reserve it. It's a VERY VERY quiet village... Really quiet. Did I say quiet?,
Get there early, or just know that you will be having pizza at the local place. You can bring it back to the courtyard area of the castle and sit and enjoy until all hours, but this is not a place with anything to do at night. That was ok w/ us -- because we were tired anyway (from long drive & getting the car unstuck and backing down a steep windy "street".
If you have the pleasure to talk with the owner/operator, you will walk away a more enlightened, smarter person, and feeling like you've just connected with a long lost cousin.
She's an expert on all things midieval, and can share a LOT of history with you, notably the detailed background of the castle and the region. Since she's Irish, her english is perfect & she will help you 'get around' anyway she can -- as the local village folks that we came across did not speak english, but were extremely nice & tried to be helpful. It was difficult for us to be in France so long, and not know any french. I won't make that mistake again.

Had we followed the emailed instructions, our arrival & stay would have been 100% perfect. BUT.... we didn't read her email as well as we should have! it said DON'T USE GPS to get here, and Check in is between 6:00 & 8:00.
**Both were extremely important!**
A) we got stuck trying to get up a street that was really only for scooters.
B) when we arrived @ 8:45 (because we got stuck), no one was there.
Ultimately it all worked out, and was fine. It was a funny night -- and will not be forgotten.

Aside from that, it was an amazing place, "the real thing".

Room Tip: I only saw 2 rooms, but I would chose the one in the middle landing of the stone steps (by the HUGE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleybaranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MURVIELCASTLE, General Manager at Chateau de Murviel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear friends of Chateau de Murviel, we write to inform you of a change in management in Chateau de Murviel. Sinéad the gouvernante, whose tenure in the Chateau prompted very positive feedback from our clients is handing over the management of our wonderful guest house to Florence. We trust that we will continue to give all of our customers the warm and generous welcome that you deserve, and that the tradition of receiving clients in Chateau de Murviel will continue with success. Thank you for your custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our second visit to this charming chateau. The chateau is the perfect blend of historic with modern conveniences. Sinead has done a wonderful job of freshening up the accommodations, and everything was immaculate. It was obvious a lot of thought and care went into providing for the comfort of her guest. Sinead mentioned she grew up with a mother running a B&B, and has a phd in medieval history, can you imagine a better combination for running a historic chateau?! She generously shared her knowledge of the history of the chateau and surrounding area. Also, on her recommendation we dined at a restaurant down the road where we had one of the best meals on our trip. We can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nadofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic service, a great breakfast and wonderful advice from the manager. She was always on hand to assist, even phoning ahead to a restaurant so that we would get supper. She's the true 24/7 member of staff all good hotels dream of. The views were spectacular and i loved having an evning drink on the terrace looking out to the lights over the countryside. Great

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A real chateau in the center of Murviel sur Bézier with a very friendly atmosphere. A kitchen can be used by the guests, we prepared a tomato salat and enjoyed our perfect diner in the courtyard. The manager told us she took over the chateau recently and she is successful in making it a nice place to stay.

It's not easy to drive up from the village to the chateau. Start at the Postoffice, some of the other alleyways are too narrow even for a small car.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After a week long hiking trip through the Pyrenees all we wanted was to relax and unwind in the lap of luxury for a few days and this is exactly what we got! When we first arrived we were greeted by our pleasant and extremely helpful host Sinead. Not having a great knowledge of the Languedoc area ourselves she helped us to organise what has probably been 4 of the most relaxing days of our lives. This Chateau is so well located in what must be one of the most scenic and tranquil places in France. After a day of relaxing from all of the walking in the mountains we started once again to get itchy feet so our host Sinead organised a cycling trip through the never ending vineyards with the motivation of a wine tasting at the end to keep us going. We would highly recommend the Chateau de Murviel if you are looking for a relaxing break with amazing food, wine and top class service. We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C_Don84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The Chateau is a lovely historic building located in the centre of the village. You might have to hold your breath a bit getting your car through the narrow streets but once you do, the effort will definitely be worthwhile.

The accommodation was very good and Sinéad our hostess could not be more helpful or welcoming. Our room was very clean with everything you could need.

Although the town is pretty quite it is a ver good base to get out and explore the surrounding area and the room rate is in my opinion very good value when compared to other we stayed in. I would definitely recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chateau de Murviel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Murviel

Address: 1 Place Georges Clemenceau | Murviel lès Béziers, 34490 Murviel-les-Beziers, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Murviel-les-Beziers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Murviel-les-Beziers
Price Range: £72 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheateau de Murviel dates from 1057. It is a fine testimony to the medieval architecture and masonry of the Languedoc Region, who knew how to stay cool in the summer and warm in the winter. A former home to the noble Lords of Murviel it was renovated during the Renaissance period, such that we can boast two wings of the Castle of two different eras. We have five well appointed ensuite guest rooms, stunning interior courtyard, and breathtaking views of the surrounding countryside from our private terrace. The village of Murviel is a 2km from a river that is a hub of activity over the summer months for bathers and picnic makers. Nestled within the wine country of Faugeres and Saint Chinian, it is a perfect location to explore this wine region, and the surrounding medieval villages and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Murviel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing