We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as expected ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos SARENAL
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The apartment was everything you could wish for - clean, tidy, beautiful views, excellent service. The only downside for us was the restaurant. We always try to use the restaurant associated with wherever we are staying, however on our first night we ordered special pizza only to find the special thing about it was the lack of topping. As we were only there for 6 days we decided not to risk it again, we love our food!

Good points about Portinatx are literally the beaches and clear blue sea perfect for snorkeling. We found, because of the time of year, that even with 3 weeks to go to the end of the season, everywhere was winding down and we were often told 'this and that is not on the menu' anymore - our attitude was if you want people to come back then you must make everything available until the last day. Also the restaurants were very expensive for average food; we kept being told that this is because the prices had gone up since last year. However on a visit to Santa Eulalia, where we stopped last year, this was not so; cocktails could still be brought for as little as 2.90 euro and the average meal was approximately 8.00 euro and could be as low as 5. We had facility to cook but when trying to purchase fresh garlic none was available; we found out later there is one shop that stays open all year, and it is worth noting, called Rosa's at the back of Del's Bar, where we might have been able to purchase some. We heard tales of the cash point being empty, we were glad we took cash.
All in all, even with the perfect apartment, we will not stay in Portinatx again; however we will have at least a day or two there for the perfect beach/sea.
Also please note: mosquitos!!!!! if you are prone take lots of preventative lotions, I didn't get one bite in Santa Eulalia last year, even by the only river in Ibiza, but within one day I had 10 here, and they were savage!

Room Tip: all rooms look out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolihullLolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the apartments in May 2006 they were spotless and clean with the balcony overlooking the bay and in between 2 nice beaches. They were well equipped with everything we needed for self catering and Maria was always on hand if any problems arose.The resort is small with plenty of small restaurants and bars,and with easy access to the rest of the island,the weather was fantastic and we got a great tan.
We had a good chillout week and maybe woukd return again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

All the rooms have sea views and the views were lovely.
The location of the apartments was really good, right on the sea front with easy access to everything Portinatx has to offer.
There was no pool but we knew this before we booked, that's why I gave it an overall 4.
The apartment was a nice size with a kitchen when you enter with double sofa bed and then a shower room (no bath) and bedroom with two single beds which we pushed together.
The balcony was large and walled so safe for children.
We had a tv, we found the only tv channel in English was discoveryDx which was good as we had a young baby and spent longer in the apartment than normal.
The apartment was spotless, had microwave, gas hob and sink all useful and plenty of utensils, cups, glasses etc, they even provided washing up liquid, towels and sponge which is really helpful. There is a hair dryer.
The apartment was over the restaurant and supermarket but was not noisy at all.
There is a children's play area right next to the apartments the beaches are literally a minutes walk.
Portinatx is quite hilly so not that great for wheelchair users, we were fine with our pram though as there are ramps everywhere next to any steps.
We used trip advisor reviews to decide where to eat, our favourite was ZuluLounge turn left at the front of the apartments and it is one minutes walk, great for a nice drink and dinner watching the sunset. We also enjoyed a meal at Le Jardin the other side of the main beach, worth a visit.
For evening entertainment visit Vincent's bar again the other side of the main beach.
All in all Portinatx is a family resort, mostly all inclusive hotels so its not got a huge choice of places to go out to of an evening but enough for a weeks holiday there.
I would recommend the S'Arenal apartments highly and they were great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamster_tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here last week of May and have to say there were a lot of empty rooms. Why?? I think the "all inclusive" hotels have a lot to answer for. They are killing these smaller resorts. But I know I made the best choice by far. Couldn't fault these apartments, and the views, just sitting with a glass (or 2!) of wine on the balcony, especially when there was a decent sunset. Nothing better!! Have to echo the other reviewers. We had a smashing time. Lovely people, and the 2 Marias!! even lovelier!!!
I felt for the bar and restaurant owners on the beach walk in the evenings (busy during the days), most were empty evening wise, even at the weekend, We stopped off at one on the Saturday for a night cap, it was about 10pm, the owner said she was closing, apart from us they had one other person in all evening. Then we looked over the wall at the all inclusive hotel, it was heaving!! such a shame
Ate in the apartment restaurant a couple of times and couldn't fault the food.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank makins0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After readin the reviews I was a little sceptical about this place but i cannot sing its praises enough.

The two Marias, especially the bournemouth lady were brilliant, they were cheerfull, friendly, they went out of their way to be helpful.

the apartments themselves are in my opinion the best situated in portinatx, being smack bang between the two main beaches. They were clean, modern, in good repair and the airconditioning was so refreshing after a day on the beach.

If you are planning a holiday in Portinatx you HAve to consider booking here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonwhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

S'Arenal apartments are in the best location in Portinatx (which, in turn, is one of the loveliest bays in Ibiza). They are right on the sea front with fantastic views out to sea, with a supermarket below and also a restaurant. The beach is but a hop away.

The apartments themselves are clean and feel safe and secure - the patio windows are secure and significantly for those with children, the railings feel secure also. The doors also keep out ambient noise (though Portinatx is not the sort of resort that those going to [--] Me I'm Famous! go to). Staff were friendly and helpful.

Had a lovely relaxing week here. Only downsides to the apartments really is that the kitchen is a bit basic (not a problem for us) and that the beds could be slightly more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CambodgeQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at these lovely apartments in June of this year and having stayed at many other hotels and apartmants in Portinatx over the last 20 years, these are by far the best. The view from every apartment is magnificent as every one is facing the sea. The apartment was very clean and the decorative state was excellent. Each apartment has a lovely balcony, with table and chairs, air conditioning that works and a flat screen TV, with BBC World News. There is a small kitchen area with microwave, fridge, toaster and hob, so your champers can always be kept at the correct temperature!! The restaurants in the resort are not as good as they used to be, as they are being squeezed by the all inclusive hotels, but the restaurant under the apartments is excellent and it also has a small shop, so that you can top up on supplies. The Jardin Del Mar restaurant, whilst having excellent views, lacked food quality and the service was poor.The waitress tried to deliver our main meal to the table, when we were only half way through our starters. Avoid the steaks there at all costs, as you need horse teeth to be able to chew it.When we complained, the owner said that others had complained as well, but offered no alternantive or compensation. All of the staff at the S'Arenal were very friendly and helpful and bent over backwards to make our holiday special. It would be nice, if they could offer the occupants of the apartments a 10% discount in their restaurant and the shop, as we would have eaten there more, if this was the case. We will hopefully return in September, but most certainly next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent sea view, so no need to worry that you will get the room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
14.5 mi away
Hotel Abrat
Hotel Abrat
#24 of 97 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
410 reviews
8.6 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#6 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos SARENAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos SARENAL

Address: Calle Sa Descuberta 42 | Cala Portinatx, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range: £69 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Apartamentos SARENAL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos SARENAL Portinatx, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing