We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will always have nice memories of this place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartments Del Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartments Del Rey
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will always have nice memories of this place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Booked with Thomson's who always look after you. We booked a one bedroom apartment and with Thomson's you are guaranteed a balcony with a nice sea view and what a view it was ( see pic). Our apartment had an old fashion charm to it. It was fairly clean and comfortable and we had the bonus of free air con which we didn't expect. It had a TV with Spanish channels but we didn't bother with it. On some holidays you get rock hard beds but these were OK and we never had mosquitos either. The kitchen was basic hidden behind a louvre looking cupboard with two hobs, a useless convector oven. Kettle and toaster were on the main table but only one socket. The bedroom had no storage space though. The shower and toilet had dated brown tiles but seemed clean and the towels were changed every other day. Del Rey appts are spread over two building blocks so their are lots of steps. The pool was nice and their are more than enough loungers and parasols even at the busy time of summer which is something we struggled with on other holidays. The snack bar guy is a laugh and incredibly works till very late( 1am). The resort has a lovely beach and clear blue sea but the sand is hot and has pine needles from the trees to negotiate. There are a few shops and two main night spots with del boys bar and Vincents karaoke bar.Both are very family friendly and Vincents has its own very accomplished singer called Tommy Melling. Check him out on YouTube. Their are boat trips available everyday and hire boats but you may not want to drag yourself from that lovely pool area. Overall I liked this place as Portinatx is secluded and a very relaxed place to be but don't go if you don't like steps.

Room Tip: Book with Thomson's. Their rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIO F, Gerente at Apartments Del Rey, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for you comments, we are very please to hear your opinions and we hope to see you in our resort next time
We appreciate your suggestion in order to give a better service
Your sincerely
Nieves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    104
    51
    20
    25
See reviews for
147
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is 2 Star accommodation and one should keep that in mind when booking here. However, that having been said, it is a great location (view from my balcony was worth the money alone....but beware not all rooms have a view of the bay) it is clean and comfortable (make sure if you book online that the offer includes air-con as mine did, otherwise you will pay 10 Euros a day extra) and the family run accommodation staff are helpful.
True, its very dated decor wise, the drains create an unpleasant smell at times but that's the way of things in hot climates but take it as a great base just across from the beach and a beautiful infinity swimming pool with a view and you will have a pleasant holiday in peaceful beautiful surroundings.

I booked through Monarch who were half the price I could find the same accommodation on other booking engines, so it is worth shopping around for the best deals. The hotel directly is quite expensive and charge extra for air-conditioning or fans which are ESSENTIAL in July!
Had a problem first night with aircon not working but that was sorted next day and then it kept the room extremely comfortable.

Nieves on reception is the God daughter of the owner Alberto, and she speaks good English and is smiling and helpful.

The REAL Restaurant is all part of the family affair and is great for snacks, lunch coffees etc. Dinner not so impressive but better than some other places in town.

Wi fi is free in Restaurant, Reception and by the pool bar but is extremely slow at peak times when everyone by the pool or dining is desperately twittering or facebooking their friends across the globe. Postcard companies must grind their teeth in anger at facebook and the like but the management should seriously consider upgrading the system to allow quicker and more reliable access to this 21st century necessity.

Never really used the kitchen much. I say kitchen.....I did laugh when I opened a cupboard door and behind it was the "kitchen". A sink, a grill, a hob (2 rings) a kettle and some basic kitchen implements and crockery. Oh and a kettle that kept blowing the electric. But hey, it gave us cold drinks (theres a fridge) and a cuppa every morning sitting on the balcony which was as big as the room and beautifully cool first thing in the morning.

I guess the top and bottom of things is that for a 2 star you will be quite impressed, but if you are going expecting a 4 star then keep your money in your wallet. I'd certainly go again just for the view and would not have any worries about anything as its well run despite needing a little bit of a facelift.

Thanks for a pleasant visit.
(Note: I had a twin studio with 2 twin beds in one large studio room with dining table chairs and sofabed.)

Room Tip: Ask for sea view terrace/balcony and check your deal includes air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIO F, Gerente at Apartments Del Rey, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for you opinion. Your comments are always important for us , this is the way to improve
We strongly recommend to book direct to have the chance to choose the type of apartment you like. We have different kind of apartments with a wide range of facilities included or optional. You can find the best deals in medium and low season, when the weather is nice and the island is quite.
We will be very happy if you visit us again.
Yours sincerely
Nieves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got back for a one week holiday 2 adults 4 teenagers. The apartments were a fantastic base, very clean. Towels and bedding changed every other day. The apartments was cleaned daily and toilet roll was provided, even though I did not expect this as in self catering I have always bought my own. Would recommend these apartments. The staff were very friendly. I can't seem to understand the bad reviews people are putting on. I would definitely stay here again.
The pool and bar was lovely, staff were friendly and made us very welcome.
Could of stayed another week, it was that nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIO F, Gerente at Apartments Del Rey, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for your opinions, your comments are very important for us in order to improve a give the best service.
We hope that we have fullfilled your expectatiion regarding standar and price. Our resort boost of having the best good value for money

Your sincerely
Nieves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We just got back fro the Del Rey Apartments and were pleasantly surprised. We went with an open mind as this was a budget holiday for a quick getaway, upon arriving at the reception we were greeted by a pleasant and courteous lady and after a short delay were shown to our apartment, however the room was functional and clean the balcony was facing the lift shaft and a brick wall also the restaurant extractor fan was blowing in our direction.

I returned to the reception and after paying 30 euro moved into the opposite room which was bigger and overlooked the main road outside and had a very nice sea view.
The rooms were clean and functional ours had a flat screen tv and satellite channels although very limited english ones. The bathroom was again clean and functional, the only problem we had was the shower rose was broken and after a quick visit to reception 10 mins later a new one was fitted.

The pool area was very nice plenty of sunbeds and parasols, however rather cramped but a great view across the bay from the infinity pool, well worth seeing.
The poolside bar opens from 10:00 to 01:00 and are very accommodating reasonable priced and a good standard of food and drink, however if you like to run a tab be warned it mounts up very quickly. Free wifi is a bonus but can drop off depending on the amount of users.
We never had trouble getting a sunbed but it can get busy late afternoon as its a public pool and the locals like to visit but still a great atmosphere.

As there are only 2-3 atm machines in the resort the reception will let you draw money from your card with a 4% charge.
The restaurant at the front of the apartments serve good quality food and have free wifi unlike the other restaurants they open at 09:00 unlike the others open at 10:00

Room Tip: Room with a sea view is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NickandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIO F, Gerente at Apartments Del Rey, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Good afternoon dear guest
We are very please to hear you comments about the resort, for that we will be very happy to have you in Del Rey Apartments next year. We recommend you to book direct to get the best apartments with the better views. Being a frequent traveller you can get the best deals.

Kind regards
Antonio F
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We arrived at around midnight and were met by a grumpy man (who was in fact the manager!) and taken to our apartment. The reception we received on arrival is the one and only grumble I have about this place, the rest of the staff were friendly and happy to help!
The apartment was clean and tidy. It was basic, but provided everything we needed.
Kitchen equipment, glasses,cups plates, cutlery etc along with a kettle, toaster, fridge, gas hob.
Our towels were changed every other day, our bedding was changed once a week. There was huge amounts of storage for clothing and suitcases.
The apartments are a little like a labyrinth, but we didn't have a problem finding our way!
We had a great view from our balcony over the bay, and the pool area was lovely! Clean, cool with a great little bar (a little bit more expensive, but convenient seeming as you are not allowed to take your own refreshments there). The local area was great, as much or as little as you want really - we chose to avoid the British Bars. Plenty of Spar shops to pick up grub and cheap beer/wine for picnics! Portinatx itself is absolutely beautiful!! We enjoyed wandering along the coast, and taking ferry boats to other areas. There is a great glass bottom boat, excellent snorkelling (even knee deep off the beach!) and a local bus that is cheap and regular!
All in all, we had the most fantastic, relaxing holiday and we will definitely be returning!
We went in early June, it was fairly quiet and not many children.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor as we had heard the lower rooms could be shady with tree cover, also we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIO F, Gerente at Apartments Del Rey, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
We are very grateful for your opinion, we try the hardest to fulfill your expectations. We are sorry for the checking. By night we do not have reception staff, we have a person who is in charge to give you the key and show the way to the appartment. If they have been not friendly we do apologise for the inconvinient.
We thank you for your understanding and we will be very happy to see you once again in our resort.

Kind regards


Nieves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

What more can I say -the apartments were lovely -clean,spacious although simply furnished -all the stakk were polite and friendly and the owner was very helpful and available ,The apartment had a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful bay area just across the road -you could here the sea @ nights.The pool area was outstanding and as good as many 5 star hotels -I have travelled all over the world and Portinaxx is as nice as any we have ever visited -we are looking forward to returning already and we will certainly use the del ray apts again.Well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bazelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIO F, Director de Recepción at Apartments Del Rey, responded to this review, 20 May 2015
Dear guest
Thank for your comment and sorry for the delay to answer. We have been updating our tryp advisor.
We are very happy to hear your opinion and we will be very grateful to have you in our resort.
We always try hardest to do our best, being our aim to make an unforgettable stay for all of you

Your sincerely
Nieves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

First thing is the Del Rey apartments are extremely cheap. And with that in mind they are a bargain, the rooms whilst basic are spacious and clean with large balconies. The pool area is lovely with great staff, the fella behind the bar was a good laugh.

Portinatx is a nice pretty area with fantastic beaches, and with a few good restaurants. It can be quite noisy at night with a bit of kareoke going on but the room was well insulated so come bed time we didn't hear it.

All in all for the price we paid I was very happy with Del Rey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Christopherstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.2 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
20.8 mi away
Puerto Cala Vadella
Puerto Cala Vadella
#6 of 12 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
Apartamentos Poniente Playa
#40 of 106 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
16.1 mi away
Marina Palace by Intercorp Hotel Group
Marina Palace by Intercorp Hotel...
#2 of 6 in Port d'es Torrent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Del Rey

Property: Apartments Del Rey
Address: Cala Portinatx s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Del Rey 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartments Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Del Rey Portinatx, Ibiza
Apartments Del Rey Hotel Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing