We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic family holiday”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We've just returned from an 11 night stay at the el Greco. We were a family of 7, 4 adults ages 39-66 and 3 boys,12,9 & 3. I had emailed the hotel a couple of wks before to ask for 2 rooms next to each other on a high floor and they honoured this with rooms 430 & 431....great rooms clean,spacious enough for us and with great views over the main town of portinatx and the waterslide park,we could even see the beach and sea! Perfect.
We arrived mid morning and were checked in quickly by the friendly receptionist which enabled us to get in the rooms and get straight down to our hol. This began by enjoying the lunch...the food is great,lots of choice, salads, fresh cooked meat & fish at every sitting and a pasta & pizza station which the kids loved! They ate well and I was put to shame as a rubbish cook when their plates were filled daily with fresh fruit and veg! The all inclusive drinks were fab, cocktails galore from 5pm daily at the main bar and my husband and parents found the gin & tonic as good as home..cue some bleary breakfasts...We didn't use the daily entertainment but I did see Casper and the team working from morning till night very hard so if its your thing,your kiddies won't be bored
The beach was beautiful,clear and safe and our 3 year old was in there practically all day,if u get chance to hire a pedalo then do as its great fun,the big ones with the slides are 20 euro for an hour which went quick..it was fun to have a nosey at the yachts in the bay.. How the other half live!!
The waterslide park was brilliant our older 2 spent hours there we joined them too and mum dad & even grandad slid,screamed and splashed our hearts out-if you can't beat 'em join 'em
The views are breathtaking and if u get chance to have a few drinks out of the hotel then take advantage of these views from Jardin Del Mar,es grop and the Zulu lounge..fab cocktails all looking out to sea, just stunning. We did the pirate boat trip through Sandy the Thompson rep who was really professional and friendly,it was pricey at 40e adults and 20e for children, but it was a full day and lots to do...won't tell you too much, just go and enjoy it if you can, worth taking some lunch though as the restaurant you can go to on the trip is pricey,40e for 5 of us to eat nuggets & chips with a drink. Just something to be aware of. But free pop and sangria on the boat going out!!
OK sorry for a long review and its hard to not spoil it for you..nice surprises make your holiday...
Basically great for kids and parents, grandparents will enjoy it as ours did cos they could also escape for a few drinks in the town!! Clean, great food and very hot!! Please book and just go with the flow you will have fun and probably gain weight!! thank you el Greco it was fab, the bell family


Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank clare5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your vacation at Marconfort El Greco Hotel and it's a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us.
During this period we normally have a high occupancy and with a big amount of children, as we are a family friendly resort and sometimes is not easy to please kids, parents and grandparents!!
Jose Antonio Geli. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    580
    250
    76
    36
See reviews for
1,003
310
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good value family holiday, its not perfect but you cant expect it to be for the price. Rooms were ok, cleaned every 2 days. food was good with good variety. The pool area is quite small and crowded but that fine with us. Entertainment was ok, the kids enjoyed it. The real best part of this holiday was the beach, really nice, great for swimming. Would i go back.....yes for the right price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 7 nights in July with 5 and 7 year old children. This being our first try at a all inclusive holiday. We therefore can only compare it to apartments or villas we have stayed in before. We won't be doing all inclusive again!

We had a sea view quad room. Room 506. We were very shocked at how small the rooms were, the beds are uncomfortable, there is no living space, so if you are like us and don't want children up past 10ish even on holiday, then that is your bed time too! The bathroom was acceptable, although the shower could be more powerful. The rooms are very clean, with clean towels and lining daily.

Being this side of the hotel did ensure that it was quiet as we were well away from any entertainment areas.

There were noises up to 12ish when the bar shut. We thought this was fair, people on holiday enjoying themselves and should be expected. If parents just asked their kids to walk back to the rooms on the carpet in the middle of the floor and be considerate to others, there would even less noise.

The food was again acceptable but did become tedious, our kids ate mainly pasta. It was at times carnage, felt a little like cattle being herded in and out of small spaces! Service is just non stop, full on.

There was occasionally kids running around. With the tables so close this was a nightmare, yet this is the fault of their parents allowing such behaviour not them, I wonder if they are allowed to run around or hide under the table at home?!

Breakfast was good, omelette cooked for you and decent choice of fruit (at all meal times). For lunch and evening meal Fish and meats cooked again daily, not the best cuts though. Various salads, rice and pasta dishes. You can always fill yourself up on the warm bread!

We always found the staff to be very efficient, friendly and polite throughout the hotel, definitely on top of their game.

The hotel was clean throughout.

This was the first time that one of our children wanted to try the kids club. He went for three sessions in the week. Full praise goes to Casper, Maria and Co. They were fantastic with the children and our boy had a great time.

Our children also really enjoyed the kids disco, they eagerly awaited for it every night, again Casper, Maria and Co were fantastic with them, even with children that had too much fizzy and ice cream all day -:)

The evening entertainment after the kids disco was woeful, the Parrot show was the best they had to offer, we thought that was average at best, although the kids liked it.

There are lots of arcade games for the kids to play on at fair prices, yet this was an area that children ran amok.

Swimming pool is too small for the hotel and you need to be up early (8.00) to get a lounger near the pool. Saying this our children loved it and didn't want to get out. Before 10.30 and between 12.30 and 1.30 the pool is not as busy.

The water park gives some relief to the pool and is an added bonus. Again this was suitable for our children and they loved it.

The beach is just fantastic, crystal clear water, safe for our age children for a good 50 meters out, feeding the shoals of fish was great.

You do have to pay €15 for two sunbeds and a umbrella. If you don't want to do this then buy a lilo from the spar shop for less than €10 and use this.

The sunsets were beautiful.

There was however a regular smell of sewage, this was prevalent in the evening and around the pool area, it occasionally made its way to the fantastic beach. My wife likened it to the smell of sulphur.

Our children loved their holiday because they got to swim all day, play on the wonderful beach, visit the water park and play at the odd kids club, along with the disco every night. I would think though that anyone over 12-14 may get very bored so consider this when booking.

As for the parents, we had a relaxing time, were able to read a book or two, yet all inclusive and some of the cliental this attracts is not for us. To be fair this is our problem not theirs!

Our advice, if your happy with a reasonable choice of food, allow kids to stay up late, let them have lots of ice cream or fizzy, and you don't mind not having any space in your rooms, with uncomfortable beds, then this hotel and location is more than adequate. Portinatx is a very pretty place.

If however you are a family that likes decent food, enjoy eating as a family, at your pace, you require some culture, and don't want your children up all hours watching woeful entertainment, therefore need some living space for the evening, then this is not for you. I would also add couples or families that have children over the age of 14 to this list.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west of the hotel are away from the noise and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thenorfolkcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We would like to thank you for writing your opinion about your recent stay with us at Marconfort El Greco Hotel, as your opinión is very important for us and our main source to improve our facilities and service
As you will see if you read some of the comments in TripAdvisor for El Greco, we have many clients that do not think the same than you.
I hope that your experience with us do not make you desist to visit Ibiza again.
Jose Antonio Geli. Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had such a special time at this hotel, which is situated in the most idyllic spot you could ever imagine. It is nestled amongst pine trees and you just step out of the hotel and you are on a magnificent sandy beach in a cove, with clear water and hundreds of fish that swim right up to you! The rooms in the hotel are quite basic but comfortable and to be honest we weren't too worried about the rooms not being very luxurious because we planned on being out and about all day anyway. The restaurant was clean and the food was good, with something for everyone and the kids enjoyed the childrens' meals. The views over the sea from the restaurant were fabulous. There is a great waterpark at the hotel which was fantastic fun, and there is miniature golf and a glass bottomed boat ride very close by. There are also shops just around the corner as well as a little 'train' which takes you for a ride along the coast to see some caves. The hotel had super entertainment every night but is in a very quiet spot so isn't at all noisy once the evening's entertainment is finished. All in all we had wonderful family holiday here and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillsOfMidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
In the name of Marconfort El Greco Hotel we would like to give you many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
When a client says that would definetely come back is the best publicity we can have.
Jose Antonio Geli. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the El Greco for 14 nights at the start of July, 4 adults and 2 kids (11 and 6).
Everyone had a brilliant time to the point that I would say it was our favourite holiday yet and we head away all inclusive every year.

We couldnt fault the hotel in any way. The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily. They were a little smaller than some hotels we have stayed in, however they were clean and bright. We stayed in rooms 228 and 208 and unlike other reviews regarding noise, we found our rooms to be quiet and everyone got a great nights sleep.

The food was lovely and we had no issues getting a table for all 6 of us. The choice of food was fabulous compared to other all inclusive hotels we have stayed in and even the kids found something to their taste

The entertainment staff are brilliant (we miss you Caspar) and work really hard. They are all very friendly and everyone had a great time having a go at French bowls, ping pong competitions etc.

The bar staff are also some of the nicest I have ever met in a hotel, always friendly and nothing is too much trouble and they are great with the kids.

The resort is pretty quiet, there are only a handful of shops and bars. It may be too quiet for those who like shopping and you might want to hire a car to go to more "busy" resorts for a few day trips.
However this wasnt an issue for us as we just wanted 2 weeks break to relax and rewind and I was never bored.

We all had a fantastic time and didnt want to leave, but unfortunately all good things must come to an end.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences with the Trip advisor community.
It has been a pleasure to read your review .
Your description and opinions are really interesting for us and for anyone planning to visit us.
We certainly hope you will decide to visit Marconfort El Greco again in the future, thus giving us another chance not only to comply with, but to exceed your highest expectations.
Jose Antonio Geli. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I have just arrived home to England after having a 10-day stay here with my family, and all I want is to be back there in Portinatx! I don't see why people are complaining, this hotel is spotless, the staff are very friendly, yes the food could be a little better in the sense that most things are very bland and they haven't got an unbelievable amount of choice (the spare ribs and garlic bread are beautiful though!) But apart from that you can't fault it, the beach is gorgeous! White sand, clear sea, with beautiful sunsets, the hotel is practically on the beach so you haven't got far to travel! There's plenty to do; watersports, glass-bottom boat, waterpark, activities put on by the hotel and entertainment team such as waterslide races, waterpolo, darts etc. There are a few bars and restaurants close by which are fantastic too, and loads of souvenir shops, an aqua bus, buses into Ibiza town, horseriding close by, island tours and the list goes on... The entertainment is really good, I thoroughly enjoyed the parrot show and the horror show put on by the entertainment team. The cleaners do a fantastic job, the hotel is spotless and also very modern. Portinatx is a lovely place, very hot with breath-taking views, can be a good family holiday or couples holiday, lots to do but also a nice place to relax if you don't feel like doing anything! Well done Marconfort, your hotel El Greco is lovely! I will definitely be visiting again soon!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
In the name of Marconfort El Greco Hotel we would like to express our many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your recent experience here with us.
We are very grateful you to share such warm and personal remarks regarding your stay in our hotel.
Satisfied customers are the best advertisement we can have.
Jose Antonio Geli. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Booked this due to its rating with firstchoice holidays, shame on you thomsons you need to re assess your rating system! On arrival we were a party of 8, we were rushed through booking in, no drinks available for us it was 4.30am, told we would have to wait till breakfast. Rooms basic, double bed and single bed (really uncomfortable) in ours shower/bathroom was nicely fitted out and very clean, we had rooms 122/121/119/117, all similar in size, all facing the side with a partial sea view, chamber staff were very obliging but so noisy, we later found out they work 24 hrs so when people leave at all hours the rooms were immediately cleaned for the next guest, (good you may say, but not when furniture is being dragged around at 4/5am. The corridors were very loud we closed the fire doors nightly to aid a better nights sleep, sorry el greco,
Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice, could have been hotter, but it reminded me of hi-di-hi, it was a free for all, tables were to close together, people were forever banging into each, if you put tables together the staff went crazy, tea and coffee was horrid in the restaurant, but at the bar it was coffee beans that was lovely, but be aware ask for the right item or you will get shouted at, Angel was a tyrant actually a dinosaur, don't think he liked the English, maybe needs to retire.
Lunch was lovely and the atmosphere was less rushed,
Evening meal was an experience that was not cherished, kids kids kids everywhere running around the dining room serving themselves, food all over the place, kids left to use the bread knife which was really serrated , oh sorry i forgot the adults were on holiday, and didn't everyone know it,
Nothing at all for our 16years to do, when they sat in reception to connect to wifi (there were at least 10 older kids who would sit and chat at night) the wifi was switched off at different times and asked to leave, a communal area for the teens would have been brill Thomsons, (maybe something you could ponder over when you charge them full adults prices!!!!
The hotel was sat in a beautiful bay, portinatx is stunning, it's a relaxing resort, but not enough for residents to do in resort,
The water taxi was a highlight, ibiza was nice, we ventured into San Antonia, it certainly was for the young party animals.
In a nut shell,
El greco was immaculately clean, food was edible but repetitive , cheap cuts of meat and fish were served, very much like school dinners, the pool area was to small for The number of its quests, plus side, the beach, on its doorstep, (you didn't benefit from the all inclusive if on the beach) an adults only area would have been fab, just a sanctuary away from little people would have been brill.
If you want. Children's playground this will be the right place for you, if you want calm and relaxation, stay away.
***Maybe I'm just a snob***

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
First of all, in the name of Marconfort El Greco Hotel we would like to express our gratitude for taking your time to write a review about your recent experience here with us.
I think you are not a snob, only you came not to your right place.
Cleaning staff work 8 hours a day ( remember we are in Europe) starting 7 a.m. Before that time, may be you heard some guests leaving early.
At this time of the season we normally have a high occupancy and with a big amount of children, as we are a family friendly resort . For the Hotel is not easy to handle with this kind of problems and we try to reinforce our good treatment and service to compensate.
Jose Antonio Geli. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
14.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#3 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#1 of 13 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
8.6 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel

Property: Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Address: Cala Portinatx, s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
#1 Green Hotel in Portinatx
#1 Family Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos el Greco Beach Hotel, adults only (+16), is located at the northern end of the island of Ibiza, in the heavenly destination known as Portinatx. The hotel sits right on the bay, with stunning views of the Mediterranean Sea and access to the white sand beach. In addition to enjoying some unbelievable panoramic views from the Seaview guestrooms, the restaurant and the pool, you can also spend your vacation time with fun and relaxation on the beach. Experience a completely different kind of Ibiza holidays filled with fun and tranquility, where you can enjoy time with your couple or friends, savor delicious local and international cuisine, and spend your days at the beach, the pool or the bars and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Portinatx
El Greco Hotel Ibiza
El Greco Ibiza
Hotel El Greco Ibiza
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel Portinatx, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing