We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous family fun”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for a week in July and had the most relaxing easy holiday we've had since having children. Spotlessly clean, good variety of food, freshly baked bread at every meal. Ice lollies ice creams, milk shakes and children's cocktails by the pool. There are terraced steps down to pool and beach so not ideal for buggies or anyone with mobility problems but our youngest is 8 so we had no problems. Beach clean and safe for inflatables and snorkelling and sea full of fish. Waterpark was a big hit with our boys and again very clean and safe. Entertainment just ok but the children loved it and the animation team worked so hard all day and night. Couple of things give away it's only 3 stars, like the quality of sheets and towels but overall I couldn't fault it. Portinatx itself is even smaller than I thought, other than a few tourist shops there's really nothing there, however we were there to relax so suited us fine. Children can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel and we did hear the buses coming and going but it didn't r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
In the name of Marconfort El Greco Hotel let me thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience here with us.
We are very pleased to read all your kind comments about your stay here with us, particularly regarding the food, the general cleanliness and the nice beach.
We always try to make the stay of the guests an enjoyable experience.
Hope to see you again in Portinatx.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    581
    252
    77
    36
See reviews for
1,003
316
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The 4 of us have just returned today from a week at El Greco and have all had a lovely week. Both our 12 & 10 year old children thoroughly enjoyed themselves and are already trying to plan a return visit...

The food choice was excellent and although it was the school holidays we rarely struggled to get a table straight away in the restaurant and even when it was busy it still only took a couple of minutes to be seated.

We never used the small pool during our visit as it seems pointless travelling to an Island with a lovely cove and fantastic beach and sea to stay facing a concrete jungle. I did notice however that plenty of people disagree with me and were desperate to secure their poolside bed by 'towelling' very early with mosts beds gone by 8:30ish!

It costs 15 euros a day for 2 beach sunbeds and an umbrella which isn't cheap but well worth it as you can keep them all day and go back and forwards to the hotel and water park which are only a minute or two away but it's great chilling on the beach, taking in the lovely scenery and dipping in and out of the sea. The fish, some of them quite large, happily swim around you in the shallow waters and flock to see you if you happen to take a little bread to feed them. This, plus the snorkelling were the highlights of the holiday for the kids and us.

Rooms were small but clean with daily maid service and the 'sea view' was definitely worth the extra money.

The entertainment wasn't exactly the best you are likely to see but as there wasn't a lot else to do in the evenings we ended up watching quite a bit of it and contrary to another recent review my 12 year old daughter thought that the local entertainers version of the rocky horror show was so bad it was brilliant and her favourite of the week!

You couldn't fault the weather which was around 30 degrees every day so the umbrella was a must on the beach for a bit of shade.

Although you can always find faults if go looking for them, it is a decent hotel serving good food in a lovely setting and we would love to return given the chance.




Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week long trip to Portinatx, Ibiza. Travelled with partner and 2 children ages 12 and 9.

The hotel is extremely clean, daily maid service, fresh linen and towels. Rooms are on the small side but that's ok, our room overlooked the main entrance of the hotel, but we didn't seem to mind that at all.

Food is varied and something for everyone, staff excellent in the restaurant especially Alberto, his breakfast omelettes were fabulous , made in front of you to order.

There was always fresh fish and different new foods for us to try out for the first time. The children enjoyed the huge wedges of pineapple and watermelon. Also the burgers went down a storm at lunchtime with both kids and adults.

The drinks are fine, the children enjoyed the 'kids cocktails' and the bar staff were experts.
Every afternoon large help yourself bowls of ice cold sangria are left on the bar, 3 different flavours, very welcome after you come off the beach in 33 degree heat.

The beach is via a good few steps down, we found these ok but would be a bind if disabled or with buggies etc. I would avoid this venue if you are immobile in any way.

The entertainment staff Caspar and co work very hard indeed, they were all fun. Different acts were on each night, some good some not.

Scottish Jackie on reception was unusual, as we were waiting for our transport to go to the airport, she roared from behind the reception desk 'excuse me watch your language!', this seemed to be directed at a group of teenagers.

This was uncalled for, it created an uneasy atmosphere in a busy reception area. This matter could have been dealt with quietly instead of alerting the whole place to it. This sort of behaviour can be managed in other ways.

Book up you won't regret it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to receive positive comments from our customers as they are very motivating and rewarding.
Happy clients are our best marketing campaign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely room-stunning view. Excellent chamber maids-every day! Lovely :)
Food amazing for whole family..three children 9/7/3 and four adults including two fussy eaters who ate and ate ! All inclusive drinks excellent and ice lollies a plenty!
Staff really amazing-so friendly and patient especially with children.
Beach two minutes, water park amazing...
Village very quiet but lovely...boat trips beautiful and value for money.
The only down size was size of pool for hotel and inflatables taking whole pool up-could be huge health and safety for young swimmers...made up by water park which was never busy!
Beach ideal for toddlers and so clean with fish nibbling bread...brollies/loungers expensive for whole family E5 per bed and E5 for brolley adding up to a hefty charge over the week if used daily.
Would not recommend for pushchairs/babies or anyone with a physical disability-stairs and marble floors....
Cbbc/ITV/Channel 5 plus NEWS 24 on TV
Sleep brilliant for all ages
Highly recommend for families just wanting fun in the sun for a week.

Room Tip: Sea facing to secure the lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robthereduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A good family 3 star hotel -: rooms very clean ,staff friendly and food excellent .
Stayed here 24th July -4 August (Thomson rated it 4 star )
Now for the good & bad -:
Bad- no fridge, toiletries or tea/coffee items ,family room on small side, TV was a small portable and had to collect remote control from reception (plus had to pay for safe - 3 euros a day plus deposit ) , pool far too small & not enough sun beds or umbrellas .
The Good - beach area surrounded by bars,restaurants shops .
Water park great fun open 11-6pm closed on Saturdays.
Beach - beautiful & sandy with clear water (lots of fish swimming about ) .
Sun beds/ umbrella 5 euros each so budget for them .(lots of them your always find one )
Glass bottom boat - 30 euros for 2 adults 2children hour trip along coastline - lovely
Doughnut trip by speed boat - 20 euros each - great fun very fast .
We all enjoyed our holiday something for us all -
Boys aged 11 loved water park, pool, beach snorkelling and fishing plus arcades in hotel bar area (1 or 2 euros most games )
Evening entertainment was poor but they tried hard !
Drinks very good ( lovely cocktails .) great choice on offer .
Overall a good holiday would come back to portinatx .

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
First of all, in the name of Marconfort El Greco Hotel we would like to express our gratitude for taking your time to write a review about your recent experience here with us. Your opinion is very important for us and the best way to find out how we are doing. Sorry about the stairs but it's impossible to have ramps to the Hotel as they should be to sreep. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed here in July with my mum, toddler and two teenagers, so a real mix of ages. The teenagers loved the waterpark, it kept them entertained most days. My mum and I found the steps difficult with a pushchair. If you have a strong man at hand to help it might be okay but we just couldn't get up and down them easily as two ladies carrying a buggy. This meant that at night we didn't bother with the shows as they were down the steps by the pool. My toddler is 21 months and the baby pool was too deep for him to paddle and the main pool was corded and a little shabby. We spent all of our days at the beautiful beach, which was great for toddlers with shallow clear water and few waves. The only way too and from the beach with a pushchair was a steep, steep hill. We did manage the hills and steps by hook or crook but it was quite tiring in the heat and we are quite fit and healthy.
The rooms looked bigger on the photos than in reality. They did have two doubles but not a lot of space around to swing a cat but we managed.
The food was great and the staff were friendly and polite. We went just before schools broke up for summer and it wasn't too busy or crowded. We always had a table and a choice of seating but I expect it would be busier in height of season. Portinatx is a quiet little town and great for families with kids. There were lots of water sports and pedalos on the beach. The beaches are stunning and the waters and coves are beautiful. The teenagers had a fabulous time and we thought the food was as good, if not better, than other 4 star all inclusives. The restaurant was light and bright and some tables had beach views! The alcohol served was local and didn't seem to be very strong compared to our usual branded drinks. All in all though we had a lovely holiday and the kids enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Paying for a beach view might be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
First of all, in the name of Marconfort El Greco Hotel we would like to express our gratitude for taking your time to write a review about your recent experience here with us.
It's a pleasure to know that you had a good time despite all the problems with the pushchair.
We do know that is one of our issues but it has not an easy solution because of the situation of the hotel. Many times the people ask for ramps but the slope is too steep. One lift would be ideal but is not easy to locate it. I hope someday we can solve that problem.
Jose Antonio Geli. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed in July for 10 days on an all inclusive break - first one we have been on with our daughter. Hotel was clean and the food was good, with enough variation to keep it interesting. As people have said before - tables in resturant are crammed in, which becomes annoying esecially with kids. Pool good, but as also said the area around the pool is not big enough - if you want beds there expect to "save" them by 9am at the latest. Having said that the beach is fantastic - great area to swim and feeding the fish is a must. Went on the glass bottom boat - not worth the money in my option, just sailed around the bay, stopped in a cave and then back - only saw the fish that we had seen in the bay when swimming. Water park good for kids - but does need work on making them slide!!

Kids club, very well run my the team - my daughter loved the mini disco, other entertaniment interesting of sorts....

The unlimted icecreams and ice lollies, supereb for the kids - drinks been served in small plastic cups starts to get annoying, but I can understand why plastic - but they do need bigger cups.

Rooms small, but worked for us with a 4 year old

Also will mention that there is on occasion a nasty swerage smell that hangs around - but this seems to be the local area not just the hotel

So in all what we expected and some aspects better - would recomend going for a cocktail, dinner round at the Zulu lounge

Room Tip: High rooms better for views and noise - sea views I would recommend as the view from the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rpm1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIRECCIONGRECO, Gerente at Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Glad to see that in general you have enjoyed your days among us.
Yes we do have small plastic cups, but if you could see the amount of half full glasses that we collect every day you would understand that. Sorry about.
Jose Antonio Geli. Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
14.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#3 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#1 of 13 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
8.6 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#14 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel

Property: Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
Address: Cala Portinatx, s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
#1 Green Hotel in Portinatx
#1 Family Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos el Greco Beach Hotel, adults only (+16), is located at the northern end of the island of Ibiza, in the heavenly destination known as Portinatx. The hotel sits right on the bay, with stunning views of the Mediterranean Sea and access to the white sand beach. In addition to enjoying some unbelievable panoramic views from the Seaview guestrooms, the restaurant and the pool, you can also spend your vacation time with fun and relaxation on the beach. Experience a completely different kind of Ibiza holidays filled with fun and tranquility, where you can enjoy time with your couple or friends, savor delicious local and international cuisine, and spend your days at the beach, the pool or the bars and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Portinatx
El Greco Hotel Ibiza
El Greco Ibiza
Hotel El Greco Ibiza
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel Portinatx, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing