We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sssshhhhh! Don't tell anyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Ciguena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Ciguena
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Certificate of Excellence
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sssshhhhh! Don't tell anyone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just returned from a week in La Ciguena, this a true gem of a hotel in a world of bland hotel chains with no personality! La Ciguena is small, intimate and a true family run hotel, friendly, personal service and an absolute delight to stay here. We stayed in one of their brand new superior rooms and it was superb, our last night was spent in a standard double whilst it was basic it was clean and comfortable. Look forward to going back again - if we can get in!

Room Tip: Double superiors have everything and worth the money in my opinion, the luxury touches are nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nestononion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    33
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

This is our second time at this Hostal and I have just booked for 2014. Small, family run, exceptionally clean and right on the beach. The standard rooms are basic, but if you calculate value for money (they offer DBB) it is great. This year we had a superior room and it was superior (alos DBB). So comfortable and again so clean. Make sure you book rooms facing the sea the view is sublime. The food is good, very varied each night and the wine menu good. The lady who looks after breakfast proceedings is so so helpful and friendly, I can't imagine she is ever unhappy. The pool and area is smallish but well maintained. I hope it doesn't change too much over the coming years as the recipe has all the right ingrediants to keep us going back.

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theskitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

we stayed a week in the apartments portinatz which they own too. It was very clean, spacious for a one bed and fully equipped if you did want to cook a little. Lovely little pool and right in the centre. A lot of the hotels had steep roads to walk up to, this was a brilliant location. We were there for a week and decided to have the meal plan. Euros 250 for the 3 of us. I thought if we only had a few breakfasts and a few eventing meals it was worth it. We sat on the terrace morning and night soaking up the view of the bay enjoying the restaurant food. breakfast had everything, we thought that was good, the evening meal 3 courses, fresh fish, chicken, meats, paella, pizza, deserts it was really lovely. We eat every night as it was the best location there and every night was different. better than an all inclusive hotel. Portinatx is beautiful, unspoilt, just fab, the water is crystal like the carrabien. Fish round your ankles. it is not the place for lively teenagers, go down the coast to escualia or el canar. There are two busses a day out 9 am and 11.15 ad not enough spaces and back early evening, transportation is not good and taxi and busses are expensive. If you want a holiday to kick back, sit by the pool or beach and just chill with the odd day out or two this is the place for you. It you want lots of water sports and entertainment go to the other two towns or mix it. The water is really safe for young children and no currents. I would 100% recommend this hotel and apts and you will not be dissatisfied. I missed my plane home and there were there helping me straight away. From the airport to the hotel in a taxi is euros 55 each way. Food and drink here is the same as the uk , but again doing it everyday is expensive so the apartments were great as we had a fridge to keep soft drinks and beers in etc. There was a nice seating area by the pool so you can take then down and sit by the pool and you just literally walk across the road to the beach. You have to hire sunbeds so take a portable one and buy a umbrealla! The apartments have a dvd player so if you have kids take some films as there is not a lot of English tv, also the wifi is good. Hairdryers there, so don't need to take one! I would recommend you go soon, if we keep writhing these reviews you wont get in! wel done to all the staff there.

Room Tip: everyone there said there rooms were really nice, and also there were a lot of family's who just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackson2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is an excellent hotel. We came back this morning after 2 great weeks and have already booked to return next year.

The food is amazingly good. The rooms are clean and more than adequate - there are some quite pricey Luxury Rooms available if you fancy paying out! The Air Conditioning is a major plus.

We found the staff helpful and friendly.

The beach nearby is great for kids, the cafe / bar down below serves great snacks and drinks, whilst Toni's next door also is a great place to visits.

Can't fault it really - maybe if the Evening Meal started a little earlier?

Wonderful place; loved it and will be going back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lawrencecg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

After researching accommodation in Portinax for some time,we decided to stay at the La Ciguena.This was the best choice!,we stayed 1 week in a room with a balcony(fabulous veiw )and the next week in a room without (not so fabulous but ok!),It was a last minute booking ,so they were only able to accommodate us like this,The hostal is superb ,everything about it is very good,the staff,the cleanliness in and out side the rooms ,the food also is very good ,just as good as any four star hotel ,ive stayed in, in Spain.The beach bar is also very welcoming and a nice place to sit, eat a snack, have a drink of your choice, cool off watch the world go by .The pool is great too ,just the correct temp,not freezing cold ,like many others , cleaned daily,so all in all a lovely place to relax and have a lovely holiday ! I will return!

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view and balcony !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilliantapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here with family in July. Am not sitting on the fence but have to agree with aspects of both previous reviews!
We had two rooms, one was the superior which was more than superior it was outstanding! Great showers, nice decor, minibar and safe as well as a great balcony and view. The other standard room was not great, looking a bit tired and with the aforementioned noisy aircon. I believe that the hotel is gradually upgrading rooms and that is why there is some variation. But really how long do you spend in your room when you are in such a fabulous location with amazing views and great sunsets right on your doorstep?
The hotel is family run and we found most of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We had a very warm and helpful welcome from Toni in reception when we arrived. Both her and Fiona were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Loli who cooked and managed breakfast is lovely and cannot be faulted and the evening restaurant staff were also pleasant and welcoming. The stars however were the team from the beach bar who went out of their way to be friendly and accommodating and even came to see us off when we left. It is difficult to fault that for effort.
The hotel is right on the beach...two steps from the bar lands you on the sand! Beach is spotless, with clear shallow water, ideal for children. You are a few hundred yards from Portinatx town which does not have a lot to offer other than a few shops and bars. Pedals, motor boats and the usual speedboat/banana rides are available nearby. We did not venture far from the hotel as it met every need for my family. Social life was centred around the bar and consisted of the guests sitting outside the bar chatting and drinking and watching the sunset. It is testament to the hotel that so many guests are repeat customers. We have already booked to return next year because we enjoyed it so much and my teenage children rated it as one of their best holidays ever.
If you want a quiet family run hotel where you make your own entertainment then this is for you and you cannot go wrong.If you want bingo and shows then there are other more appropriate hotels nearby. This is a fantastic hotel

Room Tip: Superior rooms are excellent but most rooms have superb sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthumberlandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Room not good air con like a plane taking off ,room as basic as it gets.Reports about how good staff where ,sorry only breakfast staff made a effort to speak.
Hotel clean but food not so great.
Sorry 2 star at best

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.2 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.3 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#4 of 12 in Sant Joan de Labritja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensimar Ibiza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Ciguena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Ciguena

Property: La Ciguena
Address: S'Arenal Petit, 08720 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
#3 Family Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Ciguena Hotel is located on S'Arenal Petit beach in Portinatx; facilities include restaurant, snack bar, satellite TV, internet access, swimming pool, solarium with sun beds and parasols, gym, bicycles and self-service laundry. All rooms offer air-conditioning, safety deposit box and many have a balcony with sea view. Bed and breakfast or half board is available. Bookings made directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Ciguena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Ciguena Portinatx, Ibiza
La Ciguena Hotel Portinatx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing