We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portinatx Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Room,
Very clean but far too small for a family of four, Also ours was behind entertainment area so no early nights for us as could hear all the music loud and clear.
Food,
Plenty of choice of reasonable quality but got repetitive in second week. Also Ants on floor in dining area.
Pools
Main pool gets too crowded, Sunbed rule completely ignored by guests and staff but should be able to get a bed most of the time. Beach at the Hotel small so gets crowded also dirty with cigarette ends and cups people can't be bothered to put in the bin.
Staff
Friendly and helpful but some staff let Spanish guest's push in at the bar.
Not deserving of the rave reviews but adequate.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room behind entertainment area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summerCountyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

Location.
Positioned in the north of the island Portinaxt is a relatively undeveloped area consisting of a few pretty coves with shallow water, good beaches, marvellous greenery and a light peppering of reasonable places to eat, drink and stay. It is ideal for families with young children as it is far from the terrifying chaos that Ibiza is known for. Do not expect dancing bars or clubs. Sundown is quite a magical time on the middle beach, whilst the masses doll up for there evenings strut, the beach empties, the sun glitters on the turquoise water and laid back house music floats from a great little bar selling excellent Spanish and latin food.

Sea.
As mentioned it is quite shallow, very clear, full of fish and a perfect temperature. Beside the two jellyfish spotted it would be hard to improve upon.

Hotel:-

Rooms
Very small but acceptable. Good air conditioning, reasonable bathroom with a basic yet functional shower, decent safe, rather uncomfortable beds but, and most importantly excellent blackout curtains which helped my children, exhausted from the late nights' entertainment, to rest in the mornings.

Architecture
The complex sprawls outward from a well kept hub consisting of reception, dining areas, lobby and a gathering of multi height terraces framing the fabulous little pool which is partially shaded with stunning trees and shrubs. A winding path takes you past the outdoor sports areas, the mini club, a second, smaller pool, down many steps and finally to a beautiful, small private beach. The complex is a pleasant ten minute stroll from the main resort.

Food and drink
The main restaurant is ok, clean, air conditioned and calm. Sadly the views aren't good other than one or two tables which catch a glimpse of the sea through the trees. A very welcome self service beer tap, dispensing ice cold Cruzcampo was a great feature. Food is plentiful and quite good, as with any all inc' you get sick of it very soon.
The all day snack bar again is useful, decent burgers, hot dogs, ice cream and fizzy drinks keep the kids full and hydrated.
The bar staff are a mixed bunch of surly, tired old gits and jolly, helpfull young dudes so pick carefully here. Drinks are on the whole awful, except the previously mentioned Cruzcampo and coffee. Avoid any spirits as they are of the lowest quality and likely to give you a bad headache.

Entertainment
During the day the rather oversexed 'animation' team dudes barge around the pool, attempting to charm, ( which was more like mild bullying), guests into participating with games and activities, some of which were fun, like darts, table tennis, football and archery, however the water polo, which dominated the otherwise lovely pool became like a war zone, with a heavy ball ricocheting around at high speed whacking into people and knocking things over. Not cool at all!
By evening the entertaiment was fun for a few days and then became frankly depressing through repetition of performance and stifling due the the isolated location of the stage, which enjoyed none of the magical evening sun and sparkling waters.
That aside, the team worked very hard and kept the kids happy and entertained.

Generally
We had a good holiday and very much enjoyed exploring the surrounding areas in the car we thankfully hired. This review may sound a little harsh, but it is more a dig at all inc's generally, which are good in the respect that you know where you are with money but bad for other reasons. I remain undecided on this for now. My main issue with this hotel is very serious however. One evening a unconrollably drunk man was caught prowling in the bushes near the pool table area and approaching children, inviting them to play in his room etc. As you can imagine the tranquility was destroyed that evening and the offender was not removed for another 36 hours. This is outrageous, unacceptable and left a feeling of terror and insecurity across the complex for the duration of our stay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank JAMES P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We went to this hotel the first week in July 2012. It was the first time we had been on holiday for twenty years so it was booked with some trepidation, however, I need not have worried as we had a marvelous time. Everything about the hotel was first class from our room (which was air conditioned and clean with friendly maid service every day) to the restaurant, bar, pool area and entertainment team. The food served in the restaurant was excellent, varied and plentiful; there is enough choice even for the most picky of eaters. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and nothing appeared to be to much trouble for them. The bar staff are quick and efficient. The main pool area is busy, but if you prefer a little bit of peace and quiet there is a smaller pool which seems to attract the more mature holiday maker, both are very clean. The hotel's private beach is accessible by a number of steps, but this is well documented before you go so should come as nothing of a surprise to anyone, and there is another bar there so you don't have to go up to the main one for drinks. the beach is clean and the free kayaks were great. The entertainment team are first class and do a great job from early in the morning to late at night. Our favorite part of the entertainment had to be the bingo numbers being called in numerous different languages and on occasion even being sung! Overall this was a fantastic holiday for us my only regret is that it was not longer....would we go again...try and stop us.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are quieter at nighttime, but the hotel is a family one so they are mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Lovely place, very pretty with lots of trees and plants. The room was basic but very clean, it was cleaned and beds made everyday. The air con worked brilliantly but we used the large ceiling fan every night instead so we didn't wake up cold!
The main pool was lovely with lots of shaded areas under the trees but plenty of sun if you wanted it. We stayed there for 2 weeks (the first week before the schools broke up) The first week and a half was lovely, we always got sun beds where we wanted to. Towards the end of our hols it got a little busy so the sun beds were at more of a premium and you had to go down at 8am (when the pool opened) to bag one if you were fussy about position! The second pool was quieter and easier to get a bed.
The entertainment was brilliant - my 11 and 13 year old boys loved the shooting, darts and table tennis tournaments which were on most days. They also played football every day at 5pm, and water polo most days. I can not say enough about the entertainment staff - Stephie (uk), Lilo, Yarrick, Adi, Edu and Andra worked very hard to make our stay enjoyable and very very funny and approachable. They were all very funny and Lilo had me in stitches when I watched him interacting with the kids at the table tennis and darts tournaments! I read on a review that an older couple thought the entertainment staff were a little aloof - I thought that if you or the kids were interested in doing the activities with them then they got you involved but if you weren't interested then they left you alone. This is great as not everyone wants to participate! My husband also got involved with the adult sports (darts, shooting, table tennis) - this was a great way to meet and chat to other like minded people - we met some great friends.
There were lots of different nationalities there and my kids met lots of Spanish/Italian/Dutch as well as English children which was lovely. We also felt that the hotel felt very safe so we felt very comfortable letting the kids go off to the activities. Even down on the beach (private to the hotel) was lovely, the fish are amazing - dont forget your snorkels!! The beach was very small but very picturesque (no sun beds)-not a problem for us. We went on the Kayaks with Yarrick, for a couple of hours-not too strenuous and a stop off at Portinatx beach for a drink-again can't fault it (10Euros each). My husband and 13 year old went on the mountain biking trip (10E) which they thoroughly enjoyed although I thought they were mad as it was toooo hot to cycle!
The food was very good, a least a couple of different roast meats and superb fish every night. The salads and sweets were excellent - lots of different choices. I think after 2 weeks we were a little bored with the food - although what they did, they did really well. You could always walk into Portinatx itself if you fancied a change - there is a sprinkling of bars and restaurants there and a few souvenir shops. Also the 2 other 'town' beaches were superb. The snack bar opened at 10am (when the main restaurant closed after breakfast) for continental breakfasts. Then the usual burgers, hot dogs and yummy cheese and ham toasties and salads available all day! Although if you wanted, the restaurant opened for lunch!!
The bar staff were fine - although they tended to serve the adults before the children, but we never had to wait more than a couple of mins to be served. The only down side was they tended to serve the first person they saw rather than keeping an eye on who was waiting the longest!
The entertainment every night was performed by the staff who did the activities during the day. They were very entertaining and the sketches were very funny! Well done to all of them. they worked tirelessly to make our stay fab. As we got to know the staff the shows they put on at night were even funnier!

All in all a very enjoyable holiday, a lovely setting, friendly, entertaining and safe. We will definately be going back!

Room Tip: We didnt have a view, not many of them did, but very adequate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JOfromyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just returned from 2 week holiday to Club Portinatx . Everything was great, we took 2 children age 14 and 9 and they had a great time - swimming pool, rifle shooting,table tennis , kayaking,pool,swimming in sea -feeding the fish and snorkelling...to name just a few things that kept them entertained. Entertainers were amazing, don't know how they do it but they made everyone feel special. We would love to go back ASAP. Only advice - the trips are very expensive best to hire a car and explore the island - Hippy Market was good and waterpark.

Room Tip: Our room was in a good position no122 but i think there were better ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in the Club Hotel Portinax, after reading some of the reviews we were not sure what to expect and this was our first time going all inclusive. The only gripe I have is that when we booked our room for myself my daughter and my 2 grandaughters, it said that the rooms were larger to accomodate 4 people,not so, you get the same size room as you would for 2 but with 4 single beds squashed in, so it is a bit cozy to say the least, but it was very clean and the beds were quite comfy, the rooms were tidied and the beds made for you everyday and after all you only sleep there !. Water is a bit of a problem if you want a shower later in the day as there really is not any, unless you want a cold one, so my advise is have a shower about 4pm.
As I said this was our first time going all inclusive and we could not fault the food, unless you are really fussy there is something for everyone, the pool bar was good as well, no need to ever go hungry, drinks during the day were fine but as other people have said you only get drinks in plastic cups during the day, but if people insist on taking them round the pool this is a good thing, but would have been better if the cups would have been larger to save you having to keep going back over and over again. The evening drinks were in proper glasses, they had most drinks apart from Malabu which is what I drink, but I soon went on to some other cocktails so that wast ok. Sun beds are a bit of a problem to get, you need to be down about 7.45 am to get your towels on the beds, but the beach is very nice if rather on the small side, so go down there if you cannot get round the pool.
Be careful round the pool and going back to your rooms as it can be very slippery, if it was over here health and safety would have a fit, I slipped 2 or 3 times, so in the end found it safer not to wear flip flops but to go in bare feet especially when going back to our room , if you want to be near the pool you need to ask for a low number room we were in 166 and it was right at the back near the road, not noisy but a long way to go if you just wanted to pop back .
We went on the water park trip and had a brilliant day, apart from the price of food and you had to pay for your sunbeds on top of the cost of the trip, we were told by the Thomas Cook rep that the hotel would make a packed lunch for us but they said that they did not do this, I know some hotels do, and that is when you realize the value of all inclusive, we also did the 3 hours boat trip which was really good. The evening entertainment is ok if you are only there for a week, some of the shows were really good and all the staff work really hard, but nothing much for the adults and the resort is very quiet not much night life. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again, we had a lovely holiday and would love to go back.

Room Tip: If you would like to be nearer thr pool area, ask for a low number room. Lots of steps down to beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trud_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Great hotel, plenty to do, plenty to eat, plenty to drink, friendly staff, great entertainment. Very helpful man on reception. Had a brilliant time, lots of steps so not good for elderly but views were amazing. Great choice of food always plenty to eat even for a fussy 15 year old!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.4 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
16.5 mi away
Occidental Ibiza
Occidental Ibiza
#2 of 16 in Sant Josep de Sa Talaia
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,261 reviews
8.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Ibiza
Sol Beach House Ibiza
#13 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portinatx Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portinatx Beach Club Hotel

Address: Cala Portinatx 14, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
#4 Family Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range: £113 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portinatx Beach Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ContactSpecial OffersAdditional ServicesWork with usPolicies PORTINATX BEACH CLUB HOTEL ALL INCLUSIVE! This hotel with an all-inclusive, located in a fantastic cove and has a nice pool with views the Mediterranean, tennis courts and a beach bar. Enjoy the fresh air and sunshine of Ibiza on the private terrace of the rooms. All are situated around a beautiful garden with exotic plants and palm trees. Cool off in the pool and then down to the beach just a few steps, where you can windsurf and kayak. The freshwater pool with unbeatable views over the cove has loungers, parasols and showers. Charge you can have 2 tennis courts, ping-pong and outside gym-rack, practice our beach, windsurfing, canoeing and paddle surf. Minigolf, diving, water skiing and bicycle rentals nearby. At the end of the day, dine in the cozy restaurant Portinatx, regional and international cuisine. Then visit the resort's bars and enjoy your evening sipping a cocktail. Last renovated in: 2015 Property type: Hotel Hotel class: 4 **** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portinatx Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Portinatx
Ibiza Portinatx
Portinatx Beach Club Hotel Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing