We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“May 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portinatx Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“May 2014”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here in May for a week, the last half of the holiday was in half term. We travelled with family and friends in a group of 8.

Firstly the holiday was great value, we booked the room directly with the hotel and upgraded to the renovated rooms. The hotel setting is lovely, the pool and grounds really are beautiful. Private beach lovely with lots of fish around. It was a little small but private so pluses and minuses. Its a shame you couldnt see the view across the bay from many places in the hotel as once you were down on the beach it really was beautiful. Swimming pool great for everyone with also a smaller quiet pool as an option. Our room was number 2 over looking the bay and was great. The rooms have been upgraded slightly and are more modern than the other rooms however quite small (although not in there much at all so doesn't really matter) also i couldnt help but think they had renovated but on the cheap. Still had shower curtain and hardly any light in the bathroom at all which left it feeling a little dingy even though was all new. A few touches like a mirror over the dressing table and things like that would have made all the difference. Rooms were kept spotless though which was great. We used the terrace for the upgraded rooms once or twice, hard to get sunlougers and with our family having children with them they couldnt come in so mainly stuck to the big pool. It was a nightmare to get loungers here also though.

Entrance lobby and bar area are a little tired, chairs and furniture not very comfy and i didnt really like to sit in there. Bar was very busy and they gave you tiny glasses leading to people ordering lots of being constantly up and down. As someone else mentioned bar staff not that friendly and a little on the grumpy side at times! Food was ok, there was always lots to choose from but were few days where really wasn't too inspiring. Its hard to feed and please that many people in a busy hotel and the cooks all did a great job, i have had worse food on an all inclusive but also better too. Again though it goes back to cost of the holiday and hotel is only 3 star so as long as you go with that in mind shouldn't be disappointed.

Portinax is a beautiful place and we walked down into the town most nights, beaches are beautiful some of the best i have ever seen. Perfect for couple, families everyone. Theres a good coach service into the old town too, just a shame they dont come back very late so we got a taxi back. Well worth a visit though has some lovey shops, restaurants and amazing boats in the harbour. Lots of good bars too.

We had a great holiday, we are returning next year same week in May but will be giving the El Greco a try.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jaderumsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    410
    221
    71
    30
See reviews for
571
330
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just back from a week at this hotel, generally it gets good reviews but I found it to be lacking in some areas.

Good points: Very clean, beautiful location, private beach is pretty although small and stony, restaurant staff very efficient.

Bad points: BAR STAFF rude, they barely look at you most of the time (unless you happen to be German) a blank stare is mostly what you get when you order a drink which can be very disconcerting. There was the odd one who was marginally polite but smiles were thin on the ground so don't expect them. I find this difficult to stomach when you have paid quite a bit for 2 rooms all inclusive and find going to the bar for a drink such a negative experience.

FOOD was ok but heavily recycled which was off putting at times, today's chicken was tomorrows salad and maybe soup the next day. There was a good choice of salads but a few that I tried had a sour taste off of them, too much recycling obviously. The fresh fish was nice but always overcooked, overall it was average which is not really ideal when you're away on holidays.

DRINKS again were average, all served in tiny pastic cups with no lemon in your G&T no fruit in sangria or any of the 'cocktails' which looked so nice on the menu but the reality was a pre-made bottle behind the bar which looked and tasted more like something from a children's party. It seemed like the customers were just given anything because they weren't paying each time for it, I really don't think this should be the case for all inclusive??

ROOMS very clean, basic but fine for a week. I had specifically requested quiet rooms as we have a toddler who is a light sleeper and we were put directly beside the pool and the evening entertainment? It wasn't too much of an issue so we stayed where we were, but the offensive smell that was coming and going in the rooms made me wish that I had asked to be moved. It was obviously a sewage issue and a few other people also commented on it, it was much worse towards the end of the week and not pleasant to come back to after a ady at the beach or pool.

Overall Portinatx is a beautiful resort and I would go back but definitely not to this hotel.

Oh I nearly forgot to say how one of the reception staff were also extremely rude to me because we were a little late checking out, telling me we should be charged for another full day?? My husband got his name and I plan to complain to management about him. We did not arrive until 11pm the previous Sunday but yet we paid a full day for all inclusive when all that was available to us at that time in the restaurant was stale rolls, warm meat slices, sweaty cheese and some limp lettuce and tomato. They should seriously work on their customer service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lexihall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went to Club Portinax from 28/5 to 7/6 had a lovely time. Beautiful spot lovely views very quiet but thats what we wanted. Arrived around 9pm easy check in told the restaurant would be open at 10.30pm if we wanted a snack. Room ok there were 3 of us but we had 4 beds in the room could have probably got them to take one away but we decided to keep it and use it for our clothes. Cleaner in every day towels and linen changed every other day.
Thought the food was excellent breaky all the usuals lovely omlette and nice bread champers if you fancied it. Lunch always good they had the chef cooking meat and fish freshly every day and also a pasta bar with the chef cooking fresh pasta dishes which were lovely. Dinner again great plenty to choose from only down side the evening meal was up to 9pm which i think is a bit early.

The Animation team were the best i've come across over the years true grafters who seem to do everything, shows every night , photography , merchandise , scenery , sports and games all through the day great team led by Andra many thanks to you all for keeping us entertained.

Few Tips for you

Rent a car for your stay even if you only usit to and from the airport cheaper than taxi's and resort hopper and if you have any poor days and want to get around its much cheaper a taxi to Ibiza town or San Antonio is 50E even Beniras beach which as the crow flies is about 2 miles but by road is 30E because it's a very windy road round there. Must go on a Sunday to watch the sun set with the drummers and have a meal at one of the restaurants there. Nice little hippy too.

Clubbing is an expensive trip from there we had to do one to tick the box Amnesia nr Playa den bossa i think. We went to San Antonio first for some food and again watch the sun go down at Cafe Mambo very nice evening. Then onto the club which opened at midnight :( (i'm 52) eye opener glad we went the 18 year old daughter enjoyed it and the wife had to drag her out at 4am did get a bit packed in there later on still job done now. Entrance to club 48E each Drinks 20E bottle of water 9E with cabs 130E and food it was a 500E night :( but it's done now.

We only ate out once and went to The Zulu Lounge very nice mexican dishes are huge wifi password zuluzulu ; )

Dont drink the local liquer Tunel in the green bottles take the roof of your mouth

Overall a great time had by all great 3* hotel would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: Couples can upgrade to the new rooms with private terrace and sea views around 20E a night worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunofabeachKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a family holiday for me my husband and twelve year old, I was glad to have been recommend on reading the reviews on trip adviser to try and upgrade the room as it was worth it.
I booked the hotel and flights etc through travel republic which did offer the best prices, but nothing on the web about the upgrade. So taking the advise on trip adviser I emailed the hotel about three month before we travelled asking about upgrading, the response was we don't have prices yet email about after April (we were travelling the end of may) so I did we got offered a price and I requested booking it, only to be told again to email the day before we arrived as they could not tell me if there was availability??
Well I did and finally two days before we arrived we got confirmed we had been upgraded. Now at this point we did not quite know what we got for the upgrade, as there was talk of a private lounge and hot tubs and better rooms. But we were happy to get a better room with a sea view if nothing else.
On arrival we got the key and paid reception the extra money and were brought in darkness over to the rooms, when the guy gave us an extra key to use the lift up to the private lounge I was over the moon, we had the upgrade with all the extras.
The rooms were modern and really nice, flat screen t.V and nice shower and lighting, only downside is the 12 year old bed is in the same room with not much privacy it would have been nice to have a partition in the room.
The Sky lounge though was lovely on the roof of our block over looking the tennis courts but you could also see out to sea, private bar to help yourself to beer, soft drinks, tea, coffee and sparkling wine, would have been nice to have other wine but that's all they had and no bar staff to serve you so it saved money, nice sun loungers with cushions and white leather sofas plus two hot tubs, only one worked when we first arrived by the Monday they had both working, but freezing cold, the last day one was a bit warmer.
We ate in the restaurant the same as everyone else in the hotel food was of a very good standard and couldn't fault it had some thing nice everyday.
Snack bar open all day for salads burger and chips, along with drinks.
Beach was great private and quiet also kayaks and snorkelling, Hotel entertainment ok if your into that sort of thing we were not particularly and went into portinatx a couple of evenings.

Only downside and this was big one..........The Smell of Sewerage was vile, you could smell it in the room after the first day (there was a very strong smell of chemicals the day we arrived and now know why) The hotel really needs to sort this out. All in all this was a lovely holiday, but glad we upgraded to the better rooms and private lounge as speaking to other guest they all said the beds were terrible and they all had bad backs.................not something you want from your holiday!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hairy964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Dirty hotel horrible food waiting in a queue for a half hour to get a meal which there was only a small variarty to choose from waste of money entertainment was so poor pools closed a few times due to poor hygiene etc thought staff where awful rude and nothing for

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chaz1bfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from staying here a week and it was brilliant can't fault it at all. It was lovely and quiet. Nice relaxed atmosphere. Plenty to do during the day with the entertainers if that's what you wanted. Good selection of food all through out the day and evening. Drinks good selection. Rooms were basic but then you only sleep in them. Few shops about 10 minute walk away and different beach. The beach doesn't have umbrellas on the sand but the little shop sells them. Although there are two little seating areas before you step onto the beach. All in all a very good holiday and will be returning in the near future .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from our second visit to Club Portinatx ( went the same time last year)
It was a very enjoyable holiday in a lovely hotel set in wonderful surroundings.
It`s my 4th time in Portinatx, i find the resort so pictueresque and perfect, and very laid back and it hasn`t changed in the last 25 years.

I like the layout of the hotel as it follows the contour of the cliffs it is set in and this gives it so much character.
Trust me , i am the fussiest eater in the world but found the food here to be very good. My girlfriend and her little boy looked foreward to meal times too.
We are not ones for the entertainment, but we did see the circus show one night. It was supprisingly good, the staff work very hard.
I did notice that the main swimming pool had been retiled since our last visit. It is now green as opposed to blue and didn`t quite look as good.
Two of the animation team dressed up as a blind man and a drunk and went round the pool it was so funny.
We did see some people that where there last year, so it`s not just us that like this hotel
We also took a little trip on the ibiza express to San miguel that was pretty good and well worth the 16 euros.
Ibiza is a beautifull island and very unspoiled in the northern part i consider it my second home and will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willabob o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.3 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
14.7 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Ibiza
#3 of 100 in Sant Antoni de Portmany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
8.7 mi away
ME Ibiza
ME Ibiza
#3 of 57 in Santa Eulalia del Rio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portinatx Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portinatx Beach Club Hotel

Property: Portinatx Beach Club Hotel
Address: Cala Portinatx 14, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Portinatx
#4 Family Hotel in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Portinatx Beach Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ContactSpecial OffersAdditional ServicesWork with usPolicies PORTINATX BEACH CLUB HOTEL ALL INCLUSIVE! This hotel with an all-inclusive, located in a fantastic cove and has a nice pool with views the Mediterranean, tennis courts and a beach bar. Enjoy the fresh air and sunshine of Ibiza on the private terrace of the rooms. All are situated around a beautiful garden with exotic plants and palm trees. Cool off in the pool and then down to the beach just a few steps, where you can windsurf and kayak. The freshwater pool with unbeatable views over the cove has loungers, parasols and showers. Charge you can have 2 tennis courts, ping-pong and outside gym-rack, practice our beach, windsurfing, canoeing and paddle surf. Minigolf, diving, water skiing and bicycle rentals nearby. At the end of the day, dine in the cozy restaurant Portinatx, regional and international cuisine. Then visit the resort's bars and enjoy your evening sipping a cocktail. Last renovated in: 2015 Property type: Hotel Hotel class: 4 **** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portinatx Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Portinatx
Ibiza Portinatx
Portinatx Beach Club Hotel Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing