We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value apartments - if only for the view”
Review of Es Grop Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Es Grop Apartments
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best value apartments - if only for the view”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in these clean and attractive apartments. Being on a bit of a budget we had a one bed apartment, but this slept 5 of us fine, two on sofa/sofabeds in the spacious living area and then the owners put a camp bed in the bedroom for us (which also had a double bed).

The apartment is well presented, modern, with a functional kitchen, gorgeous big terrace, small but fine pool, and is 5 minutes up from the beach! Those who have criticised it on here seem to have expected it to be a hotel - it's not, it's nice simple mediterranean apartments, so obviuosly no room service etc. The owner is pleasant and helpful.

NB These were es grop apartments, rather than es grop playa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    36
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
24
50
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Me, my husband and seven year old daughter have just returned from Portinatx. The Es Grop Apartments are set on the cliff top overlooking the pretty beach. We were shown to the apartment on the "Playa" part of the complex. The apartment was verys seventie, lots of dark pine furniture, falling to bits, lights hanging off the walls, and instructions on how to use a gas cooker, when the cooker was in fact electric!! The beds were rock hard, but the apartment itself was very clean. The shower in the bathroom was a trickle, but we could always rely on the temperature to be as we needed. The bar area was lovely, with a small splash pool, and the staff were friendly and helpful. In all, this place was adequate, but if it hadnt been for the location, I wouldnt have stayed there. It needs updating to bring it into the noughties, but for the money its okay.

Room Tip: OKay if you dont mind basic - No air-con!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If you have booked Es Grop Apartments make sure you get Es Grop and not Es Grop Playa - the manager tried to put us into Playa apartments which are close by but the view there is not a patch on the real thing!

Fantastic view, excellent huge terrace/balcony with sun all day (Studios 4 & 5). We carefully examined all the properties in Portinatx and decided that Es Grop wins hands down on position. Lighting in the three piece bathroom excellent, water pressure very good with endless hot water, coat hanger numbers amazing! Swimming pool clean, lift always worked. Despite many "not likes to follow it is a good place to stay at a very reasonable price. Highly recommend the top floor studios other levels did not have such good balconies.

Now the downs. Room was not touched in the whole week - no change of towels or sheets and one loo roll for the week! A couple of sun beds on our terrace would have been good as the swimming pool area taken over by the Chinese restaurant - we had to move tables to place our own beds from stack. Trip switch kept tripping with no rhyme or reason. Some of the web site photos of the studios must be from the larger flats. No microwave just a small oven/grill and the safety deposit box did not seem to be available (would have to telephone somebody and we would have to pay 5e a day). Most reviewers complain about the tannoy from the next door Brit occupied hotel but it was not continual and we quite enjoyed getting nearly all the quiz questions wrong.

The beach was pleasant - sun beds 5 euros a day. We decided to "do" the beach one day but having watched a couple of British fathers fishing with nets on sticks for a while we suddenly realised that they were catching jelly fish by the dozen so we rapidly exited before the bed man came to collect and repared to the apartment swimming pool. Whether this is a regular invasion or the first two days of not very good weather had brought them in I do not know - just beware.

Not having been to Spain for a while we were quite surprised how expensive eating out has become even taking into account the exchange rate we were still taken aback. The Jardin le Mer is worth a visit for the wonderful setting right on the water.
We found JJ in Rincon Vert cafe/restaurant right on the front (with the roads either side being the main centre of Portinatx) an absolute gem with reasonably priced food (loved the seafood pizza) and with answers to all our questions about Portinatx. He recommended a "where the Spanish eat restaurant". We had our excellent paella experience there - apparently the owners son is a fisherman so fresh fish guaranteed. Can't remember the name properly but think it was something "Pinos"

Boozy Buys - last shop on left in main area - prices cheaper than the airport for everything and they seemed to have many brands of cigarettes and they take credit card. Two not huge supermarkets one on the beach and other in centre.

Development of Portinatx has been carefully controlled and the many trees retained in the area really make it a pretty place for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We paid £190 for 7 nights up to 26th. (See booking.com for the pictures I am refering to in this review.) There are 2 blocks and by far the best is the front "Azul" block - (pic #8 just right of centre,) with 8 balconied front facing rooms (#5, #6, #7,) & unrivaled views of the "small" beach and bay. The lower ones are directly above the chinese restaraunt, (#9.) 3 more have inland views, maybe 8 others with no balconies, (#11, #12). The small pool (#14) sits within the small restaurant terrace. All the pics were of this block (clever that) except #3. The rear block has 36 units, all but 6 are forward facing, some 2, some 4 bed. Upper floors offer better views but put you on a level with the noisy kids club next door. Yes - this area is in need of a make over. PLUS POINTS - We DID have the pool to ourselves most of the week. There IS a coke machine and internet at reception. The kitchen & bathroom were reasonable but NOT the ones in photos #4, #9, #10, #13, #16. The beds weren't THAT bad and the cooker and fridge ARE new-ish. MINUS POINTS - There IS a TV but it's all in Spanish (surprise) AND it sticks out of the wall at just the right height for decapitation during your midnight leak. There IS a safety deposit box but they haven't got the key. Many bulbs did not work. The ceiling fan was pants until we found the reverse button on the side - (Anti-clockwise = Down-draft !) The sheets & towels were not changed all week. I could've done with one of those plastic coffee "cones" or a cafetierre. Also, a crossbow would've been handy, particularly the 23rd time I heard the same day-glo rep shout - "Who wants to do a karaoke quiz boys and girls !" CONCLUSIONS - We had concerns about the 2nd ash cloud and some flights were disrupted, but not us. The biggest wild fire in Ibiza's history kicked off a couple of miles away and yes, there was smoke, but we were leaving anyhow. I honestly thought it was about right for the money. FOOD RECOMMENDATIONS - Caballito Del Mar (better when the hotel cabaret next door isn't kicking off !) Also El Puerto round at Paradise Beach. EXCURSIONS - If you've got a car then Cala Sant Vincent is very pleasant and San Eularia's got bigger supermarkets and a nice promenade. Dalt Villa is very historic. We took the car to San Antonio for an overnight stop. (Cheap hotel Del Mar only 31 Euros). Prices here are noticeably cheaper for food and booze. We did the sunset at Cafe Mambo / Cafe Del Mar (pricey) - and watched hen & stag groups staggering their wy round the "West End" - Just the ONE night of madness for us then !

Room Tip: I made a note of the room numbers so drop me line
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We were a little wary because the accommodation was so cheap but we need not have worried. The apartment was clean with a large veranda that overlooked the beach and was in the sun in the afternoon. It had all the cutlery, crockery, pots and pans we needed, plus washing up liquid. Towels were provided but hand soap was not.

There was generally no one on the reception desk, but we did not have need to contact them except to ask for a late checkout.

There was a little noise from the large hotel adjacent to the apartment and from the apartment above.

Early May 2011 was an ideal time to visit, it was sunny, the majority of restaurants and bars were open, the sea and pool were not too cold and there were few other visitors.

I'd recommend eating at Caballito del Mar, it may be a little quiet but the food is good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Following the worst stay weve ever had (We are both in our 40's ) we felt compelled to write a frank and honest review for Es Grop Apartments.We booked a 5 night late budget deal for early April ,via the internet and had read reviews on the hotel before booking, so we felt fairly comfortable with our choice how wrong could we have been? .On arrival our hearts sank.The first impressions were of 'holy s*it dont let that be our hotel' , but it was.The swimming pool had green stagnant water in it , and hadn't been cleaned since last year.thepool area was full of weeds and the paint on the walls was peeling off.We were told that the pool would be cleaned the following day, but it was still being cleaned and filled when we went home 5 days later.There were no sunbeds put out for anybody, even though several of us had asked the manager .Basil fawlty springs to mind, he told everybody we could go to the beach if we needed to sunbathe! .The apartments were very basic., not clean and the bedding and towels hadn't been changed .The room and cupboards smelt of damp and there was a problem with the hot water (we came back one afternoon to find a plumber working in our kitchen !)so we had to boil a kettle to wash the pots!.We asked to be moved but was told there were no other rooms readily available.Ive read reviews on this site before with sceptism but please take note of our experience.Half way through our stay we went to the airport to try and get an early flight home, it WAS that bad. Also we did think about moving to another hotel, but when we had already shelled out for our accomodation , it seemed pointless, especially has we were only there for 5 nights. and would have been rubbing salt in the wound.(We are currently trying to get compensation through our travel insurer).Although it was early season, they were not ready for anybody turning up .They were quite happy to take the money from paying customers but sadly they didnt even begin to have the hotel in any sort of reasonble condition.Which is just WRONG in our view.We felt especially sorry for the young families which had arrived.
This IS a poorly run hotel with little regard for its customers.Luckily we had a car for our stay so we could escape for most of the day.Also there is a major refurbishment going on at the hotel next door, and cement lorries were making deliveries through the day .
The facilities at Es grot ,as we now call it ,were none existent except for a cold drinks machine.If you havent parted with your hard earned cash yet, please dont go here!

Room Tip: Dont go , A tent in a field would be better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank britesparkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinatx hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Es Grop is in the lovely quiet resort of Portinatx. The benefit of the location is that there are no roads between you and the beach. The resort is surrounded by quiet pine forest and the sandy beaches are clean and slope gently, making perfect paddling, swimming and snorkelling.

The whole atmosphere of Portinatx is laid back and friendly. You can wander about at ease. Good bus links to the rest of Ibiza, during the day.

If you can't manage steps don't go here! It is a steep climb up from the beach to your accommodation and Es Grop is no exception. 50 - 100 steps from the sea to your room! We are in our 50s and unfit, but we were fine.

Rooms very basic but clean. Management is casual but they get the job done, with maid service, etc. pretty good.

One sad thing is that the 3 big hotels in Portinatx have gone over to all-inclusive, so the bars and restaurants along the front are empty!

Lovely peaceful holiday - don't expect much nightlife!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Likepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 8 in Port de Sant Miguel
923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos SARENAL
Apartamentos SARENAL
#6 of 9 in Portinatx
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sensimar Ibiza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Grop Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Grop Apartments

Property: Es Grop Apartments
Address: S'arenal Petit, s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Portinatx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Es Grop Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Es Grop Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Grop Apartments Hotel Portinatx
Es Grop Apartments Portinatx, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing