We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view very convenient”
Review of Es Grop Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Es Grop Apartments
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked to stay a few days at the top of the island for a relax before heading off to I Ida rocks in San Antonio. The views are the key selling point if this place but there are many other great points about Es Grop. The location is so convenient you can access the rest of the north of the island, providing you have a car. The little beaches are clean And very close by with lovely little bars and restaraunts along the edges of the beach. We have recommended this place to our parents age range averaging around 50. We are late 20's and this place did exactly what we needed but would not recommend a long stay for younger people or those who like nightlife as only one bar was pumping the tunes out past 01:00am. Another note re; appartmentz is that every kitchen appliance you could need is provided, a first in my self catering g experience. Gorgeous appartmentz would go again x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bowbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Es Grop Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed for a week in a one bed apartment (1A) overlooking the small beach in Portinatx. The view was fantastic and it was wonderful sitting on the large terrace eating breakfast and enjoying the changing view down below.
The front block is a bit dated but prices are reasonable, you are in the heart of the town and close to the beach, restaurants and bars.
Juan was very helpful and brought us an extra fan (free) as it was warm on the first few days of our week. There is free wif-fi and pretty much everything you need for a simple holiday.
On our last day we checked out at 12 and then enjoyed the afternoon up at the pool attached to the more modern block which sits behind the sea-view block.
We ate at Zulu lounge a couple of times (excellent mojitos), the chinese once (standard chinese fare but fine) and ventured to Cafe Giri in Sant Joan and La Luna Nell'Orto in Sant Miquel (both excellent meals and worth the drive)
All in all we had a great time at Es Grop and would happily go back and hopefully stay in one of the apartments overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the bay. Room 1A was good
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serviceace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I stayed in one of the nice apartments overlooking the bay (3B), the view is stunning and having drinks or breakfast on the terrace is brilliant. The bed was hard but I like hard beds so that was fine, the bathroom worked, the kitchen is functional and there was a couple of fans and a TV with a few international channels and loads of Spanish channels but as iwas digital you could switch the language to English for most movies and tv shows.
Portinatxis full of budget all inclusive tourist hotels so we used the apartment as a base and rented a car to drive to the wonderful beached around the island. You don't really want to stay in Portinatx as it gets noisy from 6 PM with all the mini discos and enternainment blaring through the PA's from the surrounding hotels. But there are so many amazing beaches and restaurants around the island and with 15-20 minutes drive so you have the choice.
In a nutshell, Juan the owner was very helpfull, the flats are clean and at 65 EUR a night in September, unblievable value. So you can use you hard earned cash on great meals in wonderful restaurants

Room Tip: 1a,1,b,2a,2,b,3a,3b
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrugnoloGentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

As other posters have commented, if you are fortunate enough to get an apartment overlooking the bay, the view from your large terrace is fantastic. We were upgraded for free from a studio apartment to a one bed apartment (1B) and the wonderful views made for a perfect weekend. Yes the apartment was a little dated in part, but it was clean, the bathroom was spotless and overall the apartment was perfectly well equipped for our needs and very competitively priced.

Certainly we intend to return to Portinatx and when we do we will definitely stay here again and specifically ask for Apartment 1B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavel-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in these clean and attractive apartments. Being on a bit of a budget we had a one bed apartment, but this slept 5 of us fine, two on sofa/sofabeds in the spacious living area and then the owners put a camp bed in the bedroom for us (which also had a double bed).

The apartment is well presented, modern, with a functional kitchen, gorgeous big terrace, small but fine pool, and is 5 minutes up from the beach! Those who have criticised it on here seem to have expected it to be a hotel - it's not, it's nice simple mediterranean apartments, so obviuosly no room service etc. The owner is pleasant and helpful.

NB These were es grop apartments, rather than es grop playa.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gsbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Me, my husband and seven year old daughter have just returned from Portinatx. The Es Grop Apartments are set on the cliff top overlooking the pretty beach. We were shown to the apartment on the "Playa" part of the complex. The apartment was verys seventie, lots of dark pine furniture, falling to bits, lights hanging off the walls, and instructions on how to use a gas cooker, when the cooker was in fact electric!! The beds were rock hard, but the apartment itself was very clean. The shower in the bathroom was a trickle, but we could always rely on the temperature to be as we needed. The bar area was lovely, with a small splash pool, and the staff were friendly and helpful. In all, this place was adequate, but if it hadnt been for the location, I wouldnt have stayed there. It needs updating to bring it into the noughties, but for the money its okay.

Room Tip: OKay if you dont mind basic - No air-con!!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

If you have booked Es Grop Apartments make sure you get Es Grop and not Es Grop Playa - the manager tried to put us into Playa apartments which are close by but the view there is not a patch on the real thing!

Fantastic view, excellent huge terrace/balcony with sun all day (Studios 4 & 5). We carefully examined all the properties in Portinatx and decided that Es Grop wins hands down on position. Lighting in the three piece bathroom excellent, water pressure very good with endless hot water, coat hanger numbers amazing! Swimming pool clean, lift always worked. Despite many "not likes to follow it is a good place to stay at a very reasonable price. Highly recommend the top floor studios other levels did not have such good balconies.

Now the downs. Room was not touched in the whole week - no change of towels or sheets and one loo roll for the week! A couple of sun beds on our terrace would have been good as the swimming pool area taken over by the Chinese restaurant - we had to move tables to place our own beds from stack. Trip switch kept tripping with no rhyme or reason. Some of the web site photos of the studios must be from the larger flats. No microwave just a small oven/grill and the safety deposit box did not seem to be available (would have to telephone somebody and we would have to pay 5e a day). Most reviewers complain about the tannoy from the next door Brit occupied hotel but it was not continual and we quite enjoyed getting nearly all the quiz questions wrong.

The beach was pleasant - sun beds 5 euros a day. We decided to "do" the beach one day but having watched a couple of British fathers fishing with nets on sticks for a while we suddenly realised that they were catching jelly fish by the dozen so we rapidly exited before the bed man came to collect and repared to the apartment swimming pool. Whether this is a regular invasion or the first two days of not very good weather had brought them in I do not know - just beware.

Not having been to Spain for a while we were quite surprised how expensive eating out has become even taking into account the exchange rate we were still taken aback. The Jardin le Mer is worth a visit for the wonderful setting right on the water.
We found JJ in Rincon Vert cafe/restaurant right on the front (with the roads either side being the main centre of Portinatx) an absolute gem with reasonably priced food (loved the seafood pizza) and with answers to all our questions about Portinatx. He recommended a "where the Spanish eat restaurant". We had our excellent paella experience there - apparently the owners son is a fisherman so fresh fish guaranteed. Can't remember the name properly but think it was something "Pinos"

Boozy Buys - last shop on left in main area - prices cheaper than the airport for everything and they seemed to have many brands of cigarettes and they take credit card. Two not huge supermarkets one on the beach and other in centre.

Development of Portinatx has been carefully controlled and the many trees retained in the area really make it a pretty place for a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.1 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sant Joan de Labritja
1,239 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Ciguena
La Ciguena
#5 of 9 in Portinatx
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos SARENAL
Apartamentos SARENAL
#6 of 9 in Portinatx
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Es Grop Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Es Grop Apartments

Address: S'arenal Petit, s/n, 07820 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Portinatx
Price Range: £40 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Es Grop Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Es Grop Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Es Grop Apartments Hotel Portinatx
Es Grop Apartments Portinatx, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing