We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Vista Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Vista Bahia
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for two weeks this August and had a lovely time. Ok the hotel needs a little update and the food is a little repetitive but you will always find something to eat!! Lau at the pool bar is the loveliest man ever even though he is over worked massively, he is there everyday from 11am till 6pm without a break!!! I don't see why people put it down for being dirty that is the people that don't tidy up after themselves that make it that way, all staff are friendly and helpful! The views are amazing you must watch the sunset from the dining area it's beautiful.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday portinatx is a lovely place and only a 10/15 min walk from the hotel with some nice bars and restaurants.
The hotel is really not that bad! A holiday is what you make it at the end of the day and we had a fab time here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    214
    214
    137
    127
See reviews for
283
290
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week from 17th August 2013 after reading previous reviews about it and most of them were pretty accurate but I thought I would also share my experience.

The location of this hotel by far is the best thing about it- it truly has some amazing views and it’s a perfect location to watch the sunset. There is a lovely beach just a 10 minute walk as well. The rooms are a suitable size and are always clean and tidy. Out of 7 nights we had room service for 6 of them so wasn’t bad at all- although the beds weren’t changed the whole time we were there- the towels were though. There was air con which was quiet and worked well and kept us nice and cool at night.

In peak times be prepared to have to set an alarm early to get a sun bed otherwise you have no chance as it’s that dreaded towel left on sun bed situation and if you like umbrellas I would advise you to bring one along as there are about 10 for the entire hotel and half of them are broken.

There are no staff visible throughout the day (only reception) so no one is there checking everything is ok and this tends to leads to problems such as the communal toilets in the bar area flooding (due to people putting toilet paper down there when they shouldn’t be) which lead to some people slipping over (including myself and it wasn’t alcohol induced!!) so be careful.

There was only ever ONE member of staff serving the entire hotel throughout the day food and drink and unfortunately this continues in the evening so be prepared to queue.. Just the hotels way of slowing people down with their all inclusive food and drinks in my opinion. The day staff (Lau) worked extremely hard though and was very friendly and a total credit to the hotel. Some of the evening staff are pretty pervy to anything female but they also work hard.

The food is pretty basis but there was always something I could eat and there are there beautiful sights from where you sit and eat which kind of makes up for it. This is the only place where you don’t have to queue to get a drink as you can help yourself.

The evening entertainment is very repetitive (the children’s entertainment) but again the staff work their socks out and do the best they can with the minimal and budget entertainment they provide.

They do provide a late check out where they provide a room for 30 mins for free which is a nice touch.

In conclusion I would definitely go back to this area of Spain but wouldn’t go back to this particular hotel- I do appreciate this is a 3 star hotel and was a good price but there were a few little things I would have expected for this money and have received in previous 3 star hotels- i would say this is more of a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vickster80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portinatx hotels

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

we have stayed here before and it was worse this time,

first of all the location is fantastic great views across the bay, great sunsets, good snorkeling from the hotel grounds even though its a bit hazadous getting in and out no beech just rockey cost line. 3 swimming pools water seemed, looked and tasted very clean.LOL.
air conditioning was free and our room 102 had the best views we have ever had.

now the hotel itself.

the restaurent, on the 4 days we were there the food was ok nothing special but you could always find somthing to eat, BUT THE SERVICE WAS VERY POOR many times every lunch and dinner people including me had to wait for plates, knifes,forks,cups we had coffee in polystyrene cups one morning, they were slow to refill food trys and even ran out of white wine for over a day in the restaurent.

the snack bar. poor lau(the barman) he worked his socks off, but with this being the only bar serving drinks and snacks from 11am till 6pm it really needed 2 people to serve there was always a queue of 10ish people waiting to get served. also no ketchup for 3 days

the main bar, really the same only one barman most of the night again 10 deep in the queue.

the coffee machine in the main bar was out of milk and chocolate the whole time .

A BIG PLUS if you have kids, you can just help yourself to the ice creams all day and night.

THIS IS FOR THE HOTEL IF THEY BOTHER TO READ IT.
we had a corridoor/walkway to our room, when we walk to and from it we dont want to be walking past dirty cups and plates (some broken) and dirty laundry from other rooms for days on end, please remove them the same day.

TO SUM UP
its always been a great location, but the service is an issue, you get what you pay for. if your happy to queue and wait for a drink then book.

we still had a good holiday but with better service we could have had a great holiday.

Room Tip: this is a resort is on a hill, not good for pushchairs or people with walking difficulties, lots of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank le16explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

In total a group of 27 of us have just returned from ten days at Club Vista Bahia. We are a group of family and extended family. Of the 27 of us ages ranged between 6 months and 60. Let me start off by reassuring the people that are visiting the hotel in the coming days/weeks not to read too much into the recent over critical reviews posted on here by people that clearly that they should get a 5 star hotel for 3 star money. Don't get me wrong, this wasn't the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but it certainly wasn't the worst. I will try to describe our experiences without referring too much to the reviews below and will be as impartial as possible.

I will begin with the positives. Portinatx itself is a stunning place, and the hotel couldn't be better located. Boasting stunning views overlooking the hotels private beach. I will come onto the food but the view from the restaurant is second to none.

For €15 (deposit) you can rent the hotels kayaks and row out into the med. There are 3 pools situated on 3 different levels. The bottom pool is the 'kids' pool - particularly useful for the young ones with little swimming experience, the top two pools are of normal depth. Although the pools generally speaking were usually busy, they weren't overcrowded and there was plenty of room at all times.

As well as its own beach, Portinatx has two beautiful bays. This is also where most of the nightlife is and is around a 10 - 15 minute walk - mostly downhill on your way into Portinatx, naturally uphill on the return journey.

There is one pool bar which is open between 11am and 6pm which serves drinks and snacks. Snacks are mainly toasties, hot dogs and chips. Like a few of the reviews below have mentioned, there is only one member of staff on this bar at any one time however contrary to some reviews, we never waited beyond 20 minutes for a drink when the queue was at its longest. At certain times during the day there was absolutely no queue whatsoever i.e when lunch had opened in the restaurant. A positive aspect on the drinks side is that there is pretty much no limit to how many drinks you can request on one visit to the bar. Generally in all inclusive hotels it is a maximum of two drinks per person however here you can pretty much ask for any number of drinks (to a certain extent). Beers also come in what I think were 3/4 pint glass rather than the 1/2 glasses usually used in hotels.

The food isn't great. The choice is very limited and often monotonous. Typically a meat, fish, rice, chips, salad etc, none of which are particularly flavoursome, but edible.

Probably the most annoying factor however isn't the food itself, it is the seemingly distinct lack of cutlery. Quite often you see people stood around as there are no plates available. If there are plates then usually there are no knives or forks. They either need to purchase some more or just wash the existing ones quicker!

Every cloud has a silver lining and as a result of the poor food quality we ate out 3 nights of the 10 and found two very nice restaurants in Portinatx. The first of which was the Zulu restaurant. They offer a range of dishes which includes a 'Mexican' section. I can strongly recommend the fajitas especially if you are partial to the odd bit of fiery food. Secondly we went to the Restaurant La Ciguena which is situated above the Bar Ciguena. 8 of us went here and we all absolutely loved our meals and the view over the bay from the table put the metaphorical icing on the cake.

The maids aren't particularly great. I was sharing a room with my girlfriend and we were often left with one towel between two. I think they just pick and choose when to leave you fresh towels and when not to - bit of a lottery really it seems. They also don’t seem too keen on replenishing your supply of toilet roll – we had to go to reception 3 times to ask for more as the maids had not left us with any.

Another incident that I should mention is that unfortunately a member of our party was the victim of an attempted mugging. He was walking alone down to the first bay in Portinatx to meet the rest of us in a bar after walking his step-daughter back up to the hotel. It was around 10.30pm and he was approached by 3 people, one of which was a lady holding an (empty) pram and two males, one in his teens and another in his forties. He was asked if he had a lighter, and then the time. When he went to look at his watch they were in his pockets and demanding money, of which he had none on him. There was a bit of a scuffle and he got away with only cuts and bruises. Before we left to go back to the hotel that night we warned another lone drinker in the bar to be careful after what had happened, he explained that he couldn’t believe what had happened as he had been coming to Portinatx for 6 years and had never experienced any trouble whatsoever. So hopefully this was just an isolated incident, but a tip just to be vigilant.

Another tip is that the ‘high chairs’ in the restaurant have no restraints so you will need to take a belt of some sort to keep the little ones in tow.

Finally, and I think this is a good way to conclude; we spoke with one of the members of staff regarding the hotel in general things and he explained that the company that leases the hotel is in it’s fourth and final year of the lease and as yet there are no signs that the lease will be renewed or that there is a new ‘landlord’ in the pipeline to take over the hotel. This would support the view of another guest we spoke with who advised that he visited the hotel around 12 months ago, and it was significantly better than it is now and couldn’t believe how downhill it had gone; suggesting that maybe the current landlord is just waiting for the lease to come to an end.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daniel_voiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Got back today. good and bad at this hotel. I never read reviews so always go open minded.
positives are fantastic location, beautiful views, can watch the sun go down above the sea and snorkelling next to the hotel amazin. Portinax beaches are 5 star, absolutely amazing. Eating out is fabulous lovely sea front bars. Meet lovely people on holiday at this hotel, good atmosphere. kids disco was good.
negatives - room robbed first day, no forced entry. I put do not disturb on door and I seen cleaners go in from balcony were I was eating dinner, got back, watch and duty free stolen, had no evidence so I can only assume. They do not clean the rooms and spoke to lots of other guests. They are very dirty. Pool guys are good and with 3 pools lots of sunbeds, a lot are broken but you can always find one. Staff are unfriendly in general (especially cleaners) and only 1 member of poolside bar staff, permanent queue (a long queue). You do not get any clean towels or toilet roll for your whole stay. Toilets do not flush and are bathroom stunk of the sewers and made me retch.All the public toilets are the same. Food ok very limited choice, 1 meat, 1 fish, usually the same for lunch and dinner although cooked ok. you do need to eat out after a few days. Had no running water for a day unsure if this is the norm. Drinks watered down but they usually are in 3 star, they were still ok and drinkable. it does need a lick of paint but who cares on that point. I would definately go back to portinax amazin but not to this hotel. I go to lots of all inclusive hotels usually 3 stars. If they sorted the room cleanliness and toilets out it would be so much better and could be 5 star due to the location. I made the best of it and really enjoyed it as we meet a great crowd, delboys is worth a visit at night time. If you have already booked enjoy it, but watch your valuables and take some extra cash to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Hotel was clean and tidy, but it needs coat of newness. Food was superb and plentiful, go early then go back later for more. Snack bar attendant worked hard from 10 till 16 00 not once did we see him wash his hands, water in the sea was clearer than water in middle pool, they only tidy up round the pool at the end of the day shame people could not tidy up after themselves, staff great receptionists bit grumpy. Need to be up early to be in with a chance of reserving a sun lounger with a towel, sometimes you could see the lifeguard hiding in the shade by the pool. The beach they say is 10mins away must be by taxi all in all I enjoyed my stay there and I would go back .

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised that they offered food and drink in the restaurant even though we arrived at around 3 in the morning.

Quite a lot of steps. Positioned on a hill.

We stayed in room 217:
Electrics did not work. Only 2 light switches seemed to work. Dodgy electric points. No outside light.
Shabby room, smelt damp. Later realised that the bathroom ceiling leaked everytime upstairs had a shower. Thought our air con was broken but was shown you have to close patio door for it to work. When it did work not very powerful at all even on the highest setting. There was a ceiling fan in the bedroom which made it more bearable. Squashed mosquitos on the walls. Broken handle to bedroom window.
Room positioned on the bottom front row so annoyingly everytime someone walked past the room they would look in. So no privacy. We seemed to be on the main rat run everyone took to go and come back from the restaurant.
Maid service was poor. Didn't seem to get to our room until around 4 pm. Bed sheets were never changed. Fresh towels were forgotten on one day so had to ask reception for them. Only reason they were took away was because we placed them in the bath. Didn't regularly replace them. Stained curtains to the patio window. Bed settee had cushions missing. Broken and dirty grout in floor tiles.
We complained several times about the room. The switches got fixed and the window lock but the leaking bathroom ceiling did not.
When you sat on the toilet you got dripped on!!

Both pools were noisy and crowded during the day. Sun beds old and uncomfortable. General pool areas seemed dirty and shabby. Cigarette butts, litter.
Didn't seem to be enough staff to keep up with clearing up after guests. Though only rarely saw staff actually clean up.
Typically not a lot of staff so three staff they do have do work hard.
Probably don't get paid a lot to do their job either.

The hotel does have a fantastic position. You can go down to the sea front which is rocks not beach but there is quieter sun beds down there. You can swim in the sea off the rocks.

When dining in the restaurant this has an amazing view of the sunset at night if your lucky to get one. Tacky white plastic chairs and tables outside though.
Restaurant was unbearable with the other guests not being patient, children left to their own devices and they all semmed to act like they had never eaten before even though there was plenty to go around. Jumping ques and general rudeness.

Good position like I said but the hotel overall was shabby and dirty.

Food was standard. Breakfast possibly the best out of all. Choices at lunch and dinner as a non red meat eater was not good, I pretty much ended up eating pasta, rice and chips every day.
Pool bar served drinks and food in the day. Constants ques again, only one man serving. Everyone seemed to gorge on the burgers and toaties served.

Location of the hotel is quite remote. Portinax village was a fair walk away but luckily we had hired a car and could get out and about.
Other residents of the hotel did do the walk.
We went out every evening to different places instead of staying in the hotel. Did not like the thought of staying in the hotel every evening. Most of the guests seemed to gorge on the free alcohol which you had to que at the bar for every time. So quite a lot of loudness and drunkenness.There was entertainment. They had Spanish dancers one night but didn't stay round for long to find out any other nights.
Mix of French, Spanish, German and English guests.

Last day we wanted to extend the room as we did not fly until 2am the next day. This was not an option. There was also no room to freshen up in later. Only positive thing was we could still use the facilities and eat and drink until we left.

Would not choose to go to this hotel again. If it was modernised, refitted and smartened up then maybe yes but would not give this hotel a 3 star at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jostring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portinatx
0.5 mi away
Sandos El Greco Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Barcelo Portinatx - Adults only
0.6 mi away
Apartments Del Rey
Apartments Del Rey
#7 of 9 in Portinatx
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#5 of 12 in Sant Joan de Labritja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
Hotel Ole Galeon Ibiza
#1 of 9 in Port de Sant Miguel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Ciguena
La Ciguena
#5 of 9 in Portinatx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Vista Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Vista Bahia

Property: Club Vista Bahia
Address: Carretera Portinatx s/n | Cala Xarraca, 07810 Portinatx, Sant Joan de Labritja, Ibiza, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Ibiza > Sant Joan de Labritja > Portinatx
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Portinatx
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Vista Bahia 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club vista Bahia is the ideal hotel to enjoy pleasant and relaxing holidays. We underline its location by the sea on the beautiful steep. This environment allows guests to enjoy the sounds of nature, impressive sunsent and pleasant walking. Located in the beach Cala Xarraca de Portinatx at 29 km from Ibiza city centre, the ideal place to enjoy the tranquility of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Club Vista Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Vista Bahia Hotel Portinatx
Hotel Vista Bahia
Vista Bahia Hotel
Club Vista Bahia Ibiza
Club Vista Bahia Portinatx, Ibiza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing