We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple huts, just outside Leksand”
Review of Hotel Moskogen

Hotel Moskogen
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Moskogen
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leksand
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple huts, just outside Leksand”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Moskogen consists of several dozens small huts, scattered in a bright forresty area just outside Leksand, about 15 minutes walk into the centre.

Our hut had a nice size sleeping room with two individual beds, small table with two chairs and a lounge chair. A pantry is available, very small and a bit dated, probably more suitable to heat something up than to prepare a full meal. Small bathroom with shower, again a bit outdated with industrial style soap dispensers and fairly thin towels. There was also a small patio with two plastic chairs and table. Everything was clean.

Parking is good as you can pull up with the car directly to your hut.

Wifi was free, but weak signal that broke frequently, only suitable for casual surfing, not for work.

Breakfast was in the main building which houses the restaurant. Average selection of bread, jam, two types of cheese and a few cold cuts, joghurt and muesli, bacon and eggs. Although we ate quite early and the place was not busy, some items ran out and where only replenished eventually.

We had a good stay, but wouldn't pay SEK 1.450 per night again - for this kind of money it was too mediocre.

Visited June 2014

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

My cousin and I enjoyed a lunch buffet on July 15, 2013. The food was generous and delicious, and with many choices available, the 90 Skr per person (including beverage) cost was a good value. Additionally, the setting and atmosphere is wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkW55803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Located in a residential/industrial area, the location is irrelevant when you have a car, otherwise, I would estimate a 30 minutes or longer walk into town itself as there is really nothing much around the motel.

Motel room is good size with two single beds, we just pushed the beds together to be sleeping next to each other (we expected a double bed but was told there's none). The bed was so so, reminds me of camp beds. The kitchen has all amenities but didn't use it. The heating is very good, there is a heater in the room, kitchen, and bathroom.

Best thing about this property is the breakfast, the selection is very good, probably the best I've seen. It has the hot stuff like bacon, scramble egg, hard boiled egg, etc, best thing is that the bacon is not dried up but moist and tasty, same goes for the scramble egg. The Continental stuff like really good muesli, yoghurt, bread, fruits, cold cuts, etc. Juice, tea selections, and coffee were adequately supplied.

Check out time is 11am but we managed to secure a late check out at 1pm, which was a nice gesture from the motel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_ostow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leksand
0.9 mi away
Hotel Leksand
Hotel Leksand
#3 of 3 in Leksand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
6.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Dalecarlia
1.6 mi away
Korstappans Herrgard
Korstappans Herrgard
#1 of 3 in Leksand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Insjons Hotel
Insjons Hotel
#1 of 1 in Insjon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
7.0 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tallberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Hotell Lerdalshoejden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moskogen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moskogen

Property: Hotel Moskogen
Address: 50 Insjoevaegen, Leksand 793 33, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Dalarna County > Leksand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leksand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moskogen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Moskogen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing